Confused when to give insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

NadjaAndSam

Member Since 2012
I'm very confused when to give insulin and when not too. Sam is on Prozinc 1 unit 2 x a day.
He tested 135 this morning (2/18) and I didn't give his shot but at 2pm Mountain Time he was at 291 and I eyeballed 1/2 unit (my syringe is 20 units).
He started taking insulin 2 days ago and I'm very confused, not sure if I'm ding anything right :(
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

What insulin are you using? With the milder, longer lasting insulins like Lantus, Levemir and ProZinc we usually test the blood glucose levels, feed and shoot the insulin. We always shot while Oliver was eating and he never seemed to notice. If you are using a harsher insulin like Humulin, you want to feed and be sure he has eaten before you shoot.

Some people feed 2 meals daily at the shot times. Lots of us divide the amount we were planning to feed into several small meals during the day and night, hoping to support the pancreas. We freeze the canned food and leave it out to thaw or use an automatic feeder.

What kind of insulin? What dose are you starting with? We advocate feeding wet low carb food once you are testing at home.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

I changed my cat's diet to wet food and his insulin needs dropped immediately.

Regarding frequency, later I started feeding my cat six times a day and that changed his insulin needs again, like sue described, his pancreas seems to respond to frequent small meals and currently he is off insulin. Perhaps this will work for your cat.

But IMPORTANTLY, if you are already giving him insulin, then don't change his food till you have started home testing. If his insulin need drops, and you don't know it and give insulin, he could hypo which is dangerous.
http://gorbzilla.com/diet_tips.htm

Question to more experienced people: if melancia hasn't started with insulin yet, and she has the right food, and the cat has no ketones, she could try a day or two on several feeds a day of low carb wet food, right?

If you are in the US or Canada, you might find cat foods that you recognise on these lists
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html
Look at the "carbs" column, (fourth from left). You are looking for under 7 % calories from Carbs, so a number under 7 in that column.

if you are Australian, look for Whiskas Loafstyle (must be loafstyle, not the others), or any NaturesGift, or FancyFeast Royale Roast Chicken. The brands are different in the different countries so only follow those names if you are Australian. If you are in the US or Canada, look at Binky's lists.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

I have and continue to free feed my cats. We started with dry food and learned about how bad it is to feed, so when I got everyone to eat canned food, I continued with the free feeding.

What I do, is add a lot of water to the canned food - I use one can of water to one can of food. Most people when they add water, they will add 1/2 - 1/3 can of water. (I just give a lot more).

Anyway, the added water, will help keep the food moist longer and also ensure that your cat(s) are getting enough in their bodies, without having to hover at the water bowl.

I typically put out fresh food twice a day. However, when Maui was on insulin, she could eat 2 1/2 cans of Fancy Feast at one time, so the amount of food to put out, really depends on the cat and the frequency of when to put again depends on the cat.

If you want an alternative to actually feeding meals or creating meal times, free feeding is a good way to go. And if you are using lantus, levimer or prozinc, free feeding will work well those insulins.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

If your kitty is recently diagnosed diabetic it is extremely important that he eats, whenever he wants. I am concerned because you say he barely eats. Newly diagnosed diabetic cats who aren't eating could develop a life-threatening condition called diabetic ketoacidosis. It can happen to cats who've been diabetic a long time too, but in the beginning stages they may have an underlying infection and if they aren't eating and not receiving insulin or even not enough insulin, that is a recipe for trouble.

You can purchase ketone test strips at any pharmacy. You can then test his urine at home. At this point, I think testing for ketones is just as important, if not more so, than testing blood glucose.

We can give you tips on foods he might eat better, how to collect urine and how to test BG. Please let us know more details, such as insulin type and food type so we can help you further.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

I just started giving him insulin today. he is taking ProZinc 1 unit 2 x a day. He is been eating nature's variety wet food but I'm looking into making his food myself using the recipe from catinfo.org but I know it will take me few days of a week to get all this figured out. I am not sure if it's a good idea to change him diet since I just started on the insulin today.
I would love additional tips for his diet since my vet was a bit inconsistent. I think i will feed him 3 x a day for now because he is eating like a bird. I will look into the ketone test tonight too!
I purchased Relion glucose meter. although my vet was very supportive to home testing he discouraged me from using human meters. He said cat's blood is different from human's and I won't get an accurate result. He talked me into getting a pet specific meter and he he will order it on Saturday but I was wondering if I should just cancel this order since it seems like everyone uses regular human glucose meter!!

Thank you so much for all your help I really appreciate it. My cat means the world to me!!
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

ProZinc is a mild longlasting insulin which should work well, and one unit twice daily is a good starting dose.

Lots of people here use the ReliOn; many have taken it to their vet and compared readings on the same sample and it is close enough to work. (we base doses more on trends and patterns so a difference of 30-40 points even is not a problem.) Yes, the AlphaTrak is nice, but both the meter and strips are expensive. The other issue is that they are not available at your nearest drug store like human meters, when you suddenly need to increase testing and run out.

So, can we help with testing? You might get him used to it first. Pick a place where you plan to test. A blanket or towel or on the couch or bed. Take him there and play with his ears awhile and then give him a treat. Then add heating the ear. Then clicking the lancet and heating the ear. Each time with a treat. Practice on yourself with the meter so you are comfortable with how it works.

We all have tips that helped us. We needed to get his ear very warm and we needed lancets that made a big enough hole. (human diabetics usually use 30 gauge. You want a larger gauge like 25-28)

Here is a huge document with everything you wanted to know about ProZinc. Too big to read in one setting but lots of good info.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

I used a Relion meter, so do a lot of people on the forum. Some do have a pet meter.

Good luck! I, too, also use the recipe to make my own food which my Sneakers loves... currently (it changes with her moods).

I have condensed the recipe into a one page format if you would like it to review. But reading the whole thing helps to get the reason you do the stuff (like scrambling the whites) is the best to understand it.

And Sneakers free feeds, kind of, through out the day. Morning she gets fed, currently around 3 oz, I leave one or two frozen cubes (the chicken recipe frozen into ice cube trays 1 cube=1 oz) out for her while I am at work, and then when I get home I'll feed another 2 oz, her shot is 2 hrs later and I feed one more oz, and bed time gets another oz.

And we do Prozinc as well :-D .

Heather
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Hey, and Welcome!

Hershey was diagnosed Nov, 2011 and started on ProZinc in Jan. We feed Wellness canned <6% carbs and feed 4 times a day (shot times and +6). We have an automatic feeder, but I'm almost always here at feeding time. We started with the iPet glucometer because my husband wanted to go with a pet specific meter, but the strips about broke the bank! We recently switched to the Relion Confirm; you can see Hershey's SS to see how it compared for us.

You're off to a great start!

Take care -

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Hillary & Maui said:
I have and continue to free feed my cats. [...]What I do, is add a lot of water to the canned food - I use one can of water to one can of food. Most people when they add water, they will add 1/2 - 1/3 can of water. (I just give a lot more).

I add a lot of water (not quite that much) and it makes a stinky soup which they then flick about the place while they drink it... I've started putting a teatowel down as a table cloth because it gets pretty gruesome! Gah! Cats! I'm a big fan of adding water though, (1) they like it (2) water is good for cats and (3) because as you say, it will keep his food fresh once I've got an automatic pet feeder sorted out for the night feeds.

I'd love to free-feed but Akbah is a puker: he'd happily gobble down all the food I put out in one hit, and then puke it up about 5 minute later. So I dole it out for him.

PS I use a human meter, AccuChek. Avoid the ones called FreestyleLite, they test too low, like, 150 or so too low? Which means you could think your cat was alright when in fact it is not. I used a FreestyleLite for awhile and learnt that lesson the hard way. :-| I was VERY annoyed about that.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Gosh I had typed a long reply but I don’t know where it went.

As far as home testing goes, I’m having a hard time finding the right spot on his year to get blood, when I finally got some I put it on the wrong spot of the strip. I also changed the gauge size from 30 to 26. I’ve been rubbing his years too :/
I wanted to wait on the insulin until I figured out how to test him but my vet said we needed to get him started on prozinc today but I’m a bit nervous. Since I just gave him 1 shot today should I not give his second one tonight until I’m able to test him or should I just give his 2nd shot tonight and keep trying to get a blood sample?

About the ketone test I have another cat too so how would I go about testing him?
Sue and Oliver thank you and I will read over the link you sent me.

Hmjohnston yes I would love the condensed recipe you have. Would it be possible to email it to nadjabs@yahoo.com please?

Thanks everyone your suggestions are greatly appreciated!
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Thanks sue and olvier!
I was able to test him but the result is 21 mg/dl which doesn't make sense to me I thought it would be much higer than that.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Oh, I add water to Hershey's food, too, but only about 3 T, just enough to mash it good. He likes it that way. I've read that you should heat the food to room temperature, but he doesn't want to hear all of that - just wants it straight from the fridge!

Ketones - we started testing a few weeks ago...I guess it was about two since we've tested three times now...okay, DOUG has tested three times. ;-) We decided we'd test on Tuesday or Wednesday, cleaned his box and waited for him to go...and waited...and waited...and, you get the picture. So, Thursday evening Doug went out the back door (of course, Hershey was following to see where he was going) and he says when the cold air hit Hershey - he hit the box! I wish I could've video'd that moment when Doug came falling all over himself - muttering - trying to get a strip to catch him before he finished! (We have two cats, also.) It was much like the Bill Cosby routine where they're so excited that the newborn made a poo and call the grandparents, etc. :lol: So, that's how we do it. We try to catch him mid-stream, about once a week, and he doesn't even seem to notice.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

melancia said:
Thanks sue and olvier!
I was able to test him but the result is 21 mg/dl which doesn't make sense to me I thought it would be much higer than that.

Congratulations on getting a test!

but that is a very low number.
Test again now, as he might be in danger of hypos. Don't panic, but read this
http://felinediabetes.com/hypo-emergency.htm

Test again, if you still get a low number, (1) give him some carbs (I use a bit of honey mixed with water and some wet catfood)
(2) make a new thread here, click on 911 at the top and say there is a hypo, you will get help quickly that way.
(3) Follow the isntructions on the sheet (link I gave) till his numbers are coming up and you think you are past the 'nadir' of the insulin.

how long ago did you shoot?
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Test again to make sure it is an accurate number. Sometimes if you don't have enough blood, it won't give you a good reading.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

He's not been eating, you commented, and you've put him on wet food, so maybe he didn't need much insulin.
If he really is that low, in the long run this might be a good sign that your cat might be able to be regulated with diet.
But in the short term hypos are dangerous.

Hope you are there, reading posts, and can retest. I wonder if it was a wrong reading?
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

I'm having a hard time testing him again. I poked him a million times but the problem was getting enough blood on that little tiny hole of the test strip, he wasn't cooperating either. I gave him insulin this morning at 9am and need to give him another one in 1 hr.
Should I not give his second insulin jsut in case?
Maybe it was just a bad reading. man this is harder than what I thought it was going to be!
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

I would think it was a bad reading. That number would be dangerously low, and very unusual for ProZinc 12 hours after the shot. He is acting normally, right?

I would skip the shot. You will get so you are able to consistently get blood, but it does take practice.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

yes his acting just fine. I gave him 2 pieces of treats so he is a little happier with me. Yes I will skip the shot tonight then and keep poking him until I get better with this thing. I'm finding it hard for the blood to drip into the hole beacuse of his fur. he is black too.
Today is my birthday and i wonder if I should go out tonight with hubs or if I should keep my eye on Sam even though he seems to be fine :/
Thanks everyone!
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

ProZinc, I'm not familiar with, but I think probably you can go out, if you don't give another shot.

Testing is really hard at first, for lots of us. I had a horrible time till Akbah and I worked out our routine.
Have you rewarded all that poking with some kind of treat (a really good brushing, or a bit of meat/chicken... every cat has something they will forgive you for)

Regarding tests (when you have the fortitude for another go, maybe a bit later)... the things that helped me/us were:
1. long time spent warming the ear: 60 seconds, with the ear warmer on the ear and the cat being scratched on the other ear / stroked down the spine. I think this part of the test is kind of Akbah's almost favorite part. But for me, the warm ear just bled more. Lots more. I was surprised.
2. after a week or so of testing, the ears have more capillaries and they bleed easier. So it gets easier for a physical reason as well as for emotional ones.
3. Finding the sweet spots. Akbah's right ear bleeds better than his left, and I get blood anywhere north of that notch, even up around the tip of the ear can be good
4. Also I discovered that blood comes after a pause, rather than necessarily straight away. I run my finger along the ear towards the prick spot, and that helps for blood to come out.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

If he really is that low, he is already hypo and he should be given syrup or gravy to raise his blood sugar.

Can you keep trying on the blood tests to try to get another reading before you go out? I would not leave a kitty at 21 home alone.

The more you warm the ear, the more likely you are to get blood. Keep poking until you get something. To be sure to get some blood, you can take the tip off the lancet and poke the ear directly with the little needle, right at the vein. I wouldn't do this every time, but since it's kind of an emergency...

You can also test your own blood sugar to get used to the machine and see if the results make sense. Normal human BG is 65-99 mg/dL (fasting) and < 140 two hours after a meal.

Keep us posted!

Lori
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

And for black ears, I use a torch held in my teeth. Apologies to my dentist. It means I can see what I'm doing, and I can see the blood when it comes.
PRobably I need to set up a lamp to shine on the testing couch, soon.
Some people put a bit of vaseline on the spot to keep blood from hiding in long fur, if your creature is of a fluffy variety.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

You can poke on the inside of his ear so it is easier to see.

I would feel fine about leaving if I was sure he wasn't that low. It isn't too likely, but I can't say for sure.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Lori&Scout said:
If he really is that low, he is already hypo and he should be given syrup or gravy to raise his blood sugar. Can you keep trying on the blood tests to try to get another reading before you go out? I would not leave a kitty at 21 home alone.

Mmm and when Akbah was low, (the lowest he ever got was 34.2) he never showed any signs of hypo, except hunger. And a bit of sleepiness.
It would be great if you get another reading which is higher than 21.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

melancia said:
man this is harder than what I thought it was going to be!

Calm down - it is difficult getting used to this whole new routine, but you WILL get it! Hershey is black, too (3 out of 3 cats we've had are black :smile: ) and sometimes I'm better at the poking than other times. But, try to stay calm - they know when we're getting stressed and it stresses them, too. When we first started, Doug had to do all of the testing and I would sit quietly with my eyes shut tight, wincing! So, I promise you - it DOES get better!

It does sound like the result was off, so keep breathing (I know, sometimes that's easier said than done!) and keep trying to get another reading. As Sue said, it would be unusual for a really low reading that far into a ProZinc cycle. Try to get another reading (to set your mind at ease), plan to skip the shot and (If you get a better reading) go out and enjoy an evening with your husband. Happy Birthday!
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

I am just stopping by to say Hi & welcome.

All of FD is hard in the beginning. Once you get into a routine it becomes easier.....Promise!

Are you using a rice sock to heat the ear? I always heat Baxters ear first. It was hard in the beginning to get his little ear to bleed & I always felt so bad making him bleed. With time it became easier.

I want to invite you over to the ProZinc forum. If you have any questions about dosing or any other questions about ProZinc all of the ProZinc users will be able to help you.

Jenn & Baxter
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

So I tried to poke myself as suggested so I get used to see the reading but I tried it 4 times and didn't get enough blood, I used 26g and also 30 g lancets/ My husband is starting to think I have no soul!!
I wonder if I really suck at it or if it's a lancet issue.. (relion) I will continue to practice and try again on Sam.
I appreciate the suggestions and will try them side of the year, torch, vaseline and all that :D

As usual I will keep you posted :D
Thanks!
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Relion lance pens don't work! If that's the only one you have you might have to try without the top. I'm sorry. It's easier to see what you're doing but easy to go too deep so be gentle. Hold it up close to the ear until ready then give a quick light poke.

I feed Racci 3x, once after each test, and she free feeds at night or for that matter, in between. She just switched to wet food & is not thrilled with it at all so I coax her to eat by bringing it to the test spot and making it special. She gets to eat it on the ottoman and drink out of a littlle glass desert dish and get told how yummy it is and how good she is and if its shot time I do it while she's eating usually. This works for her and might work for your furbaby too to get him eating again. Eating and drinking is very important for a c at on insulin. They do best usually with a lot of small meals.

One thing I find that I do when I don't get blood is not press hard enough from the back. Remember when you poke that you have to keep firm pressure with a folded couple of tissues or paper towel behind the ear. I use vaseline after warming and I get the ear really warm. Also, Racci has one ear that just won't bleed so try both ears.

Good Luck and Happy Birthday!

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

MommaofMuse was able to get hers to work with a different brand lancet. do you have any other lancets? I couldn't get mine to though. I'm surprised you got even one test done with that. Try and find a Freestyle Lite lance pen (not the meter). Their pens are really good but there's a problem with their strips.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Have you tried freehanding the lancet, without using the pen device at all? That's what worked for me; i could see exactly where the needle was going. Just hold the little lancet firmly between your thumb and index finger. The quicker you go, the less painful it is. I have never gotten the hang of using the pen, so I just always use the lancet by itself, and it works much better. Try it on yourself, on a fingertip; most likely you will get blood. You can also test on the paw pads.

In a situation where you get a low number and need to get blood, you can aim to nick the big vein on the ear. It will bleed a LOT, so make sure you have a cotton ball or paper towel handy to put pressure on it after you test as it can bruise easily, but when you are low, getting blood is more important as a hypo can go south very fast. If you get a big blob of blood, you may want to get a little on your fingernail and test from there as sometimes too much blood can cause a meter error. But too much blood is better than no blood in an emergency situation. I would not automatically assume that a 21 is a meter error; it's a critically low number if it is accurate, and if you see that again, you will want to be testing often.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Thank you I will try to use the lancet without the pen. It sounds scary but I totally can see the point. I can't see where the lancet is going to poke him with the pen..!
Melanie and Racci will the freestyle lite strips work with the relion confirm meter? What problems did you have with the freestyle strips?

Sam ate all his food for the first time but someone metioned hunger being a bad sign...!
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

No. Strips only work with the meter they go to. Freestyle strips are no good. They're lance pens are really good. Their lancets might work in the Relion Pen though.

Melanie & Racci


Edit:
didn't answer your other question. A lot of people had readings that were 100 points or so off from other meters with them so you don't want to use them.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

I started with a freestyle lite meter and that's the lancet i use, with the top off, poking free hand, it is good and useful
But I am grumpy with the meter itself, somethign about the strips means that it measures low, so when your cat is in the 400s it will say 250 or so, which means you don't worry when in fact you need to.
I now use an AccuChek for the strips and the meter, but poke with the FreestyleLite lancet. You could poke with any lancet, in fact you could poke with anything that works - as all you need is blood from your cat, which you then put onto your 'good' meter (relion, in your case?).

Is it not a strange world you find yourself in, looking for ways to get blood from your beloved cat? There was once a thread here with the subject line: (something like) the mysterious case of the bloodless ear.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Sorry to run off. It was time for Racci's shot and test and tonight was her night for the bloodless ears! Poor girl, I am just not good at not having a pen top. Trying to use pens I'm not familiar with and that stink is horrible. I finally got some but felt so bad for her. I still have to bother her again for her miralax & special powder for her bottom.

Melancia, what I was thinking was using the pen without the top and freehanding it that way, not just the lancet. I don't know if that's what you understood but if it's easier to just use a lancet for you, that's fine too as long as you do it fast and don't scrape him. Just in and out. :smile:

BTW, it is a good sign that he's eating again. You definitely want him to eat when he's on insulin or he could overdose or get sick or get hypos. Even healthy cats should not go more than 2 days without eating anything. Their organs can start shutting down. It's important to coax them or even force them if need be after they don't eat for a while before the next shot. Offer their favorites-chicken, cheese, baby food, tuna, whatever they really like that doesn't have sugar or high carbs preferably.


Melanie & Racci
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

I am very frustrated this morning, I finally got good blood bu using the pen but not with the top but the relion meter said it wasnt enough blood where there was blood. I tried 3 times!! I will buy AccuChek this morning. So I shouldn't give him any insulin until I am able to test him right? last time I gave him prozin was yestarday at 9am.
Well I am running to the drug store right now!!
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

There isn't a good choice here. it isn't good for him to go without insulin, but shooting blind is dangerous too.

You can "milk" the ear when you get a drop that's too small. And remember, you can put it on your fingernail if you need it.

Sometimes it is just a matter of being too cautious. You want to poke with confidence. And poke again in the same spot.

You'll get it. :-D
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

I went to the farmacy and the AccuChek strips are so expensive!! just a bit cheaper than the alphatrak strips :/
Sue and Oliver I actually got a lot of blood this time by not using the lacent pen but error messages were appearing in the monitors e-7 and e-6. I wonder if there was too much bllod? gosh I can't win :(
I ended up not buying the AccuChek. I wonder if I get a pet insurance through metlife if they will cover it? I have a preventive care with banfield...
I think i will give him insule and keep trying to use this stupid relion meter :/
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Getting the blood is the biggest part of the battle. What do the directions say about those error messages?

If you decide to go with a brand name meter, you can buy the strips through eBay. (senior citizens sell their excess diabetic supplies). Just be sure the expiration date works for you.
And that the seller has a good reputation.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

It sounds like you may have a defective meter. I would suggest returning/exchanging the meter for another one - tell them it's not working properly - by the way, have you attempted to test it on yourself, just to be sure that it might be defective and not your technique?

Also, I recommend getting a bayer contour meter - it requires a tiny amount of blood and is very easy to use.

Try putting petroleum jelly on his ear and then poking - the blood will bead up on the jelly and you can easily sip it from there - this will prevent the blood soaking back into fur. And for dark/black ears - I suggest using a flashlight - it really does help to see what you are doing.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

thank you, the direction said that these codes coud be either not enough blood or too much blood.
I tried to test it on myself last night but I didn't get enough blood.
I will try to exchange the meter to another one, we'll see if walmart lets me because I tried to exhcange the lancets from 30 g to 26g and they didn't let me, the box wasn't even opened or anything!!
are the strips for the bayer brand affordable?
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

They are more than relion. I don't know how much they actually cost. I'm sure you can find them online at a reasonable price.

The important thing for the immediate - is that you get a working meter and strips and start testing, so you can see what's going on. And then look for reasonably priced strips.

that's just my opinion
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

thanks H & M. After doing some neglected homework I'll look into bayer or see if I can exchange mine.
Until I get this all figured out, hopefully today, should I give him insulin? I don't know what will happen if I don't give him any :?
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

melancia said:
I went to the farmacy and the AccuChek strips are so expensive!! just a bit cheaper than the alphatrak strips :/
Sue and Oliver I actually got a lot of blood this time by not using the lacent pen but error messages were appearing in the monitors e-7 and e-6. I wonder if there was too much bllod? gosh I can't win :(
I ended up not buying the AccuChek. I wonder if I get a pet insurance through metlife if they will cover it? I have a preventive care with banfield...
I think i will give him insule and keep trying to use this stupid relion meter :/


I get my accuchek strips on amazon or ebay--they're way cheaper than in the store.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

I buy my strips at Hocks.com. They're cheap. Also you can put cheap diabetes test strips in google and see what you get. I'm afraid of ebay. I've been screwed too many times there. I would give him his insulin even without the test. He needs it and it's only 1u. He hasn't had it for 24 hours.

Melanie & Racci

edit: as long as he is still eating!
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

I would call Walmart and see if they will take it back & exchange. Tell them it's defective. If not ask for the supervisor there, then the phone # for corporate and talk to them. All they will do is replace it if you tell them it's for you. Then I would buy the Bayer Contour and strips. See who is cheapest on strips. I think it is Hocks. I know they weren't outrageous. See if you can find a freestyle lite pen lancet and get that (put it in google) or wait for me to do so because I need one too. ;-)

I would not keep skipping his insulin as long as he is acting fine and eating well. I would make sure he has a meal before his insulin but after his test. He should have insulin as close to 12 hours apart as possible. Perhaps you can get the supply situation settled today or by tomorrow at the latest. I have shot Racci without testing but its a little different because I know Racci's likelihood of hypos is very small & I know when she is high and low. Just make sure he's feeling well when you shoot and has eaten.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Just an FYI...you can't return anything to do with blood testing to the store, even if it's unopened. They won't take the chance with bloodborne pathogens. It may even be a legal thing.

With the Relion...are you waiting until it beeps and tells you it's ready to test before getting the blood on the strip? If you get the blood before it's ready, it will give an error. When the meter is ready for the blood, it will beep, and a picture of a drop appears on the screen. Another newbie kept getting error messages and this turned out to be the cause. i push the strip in before I pick up the cat, so it's ready by the time I have a sample. When you first turn it on, it will give the last reading, then the code from the test strips, then it tells you it's ready...it takes a few seconds. I don't think any brand takes a smaller sample. I got a test this morning on a drop the size of a pinhead.

I find if, immediately after you poke the ear, you take the edges of the hole and pull apart gently and then squeeze back together, it makes the blood flow a bit easier. Also, try using the pads of the paws to test; many people have better luck there, and there are plenty to rotate between so the feeties don't get sore.
 
Re: How often to feed a cat?

Hi Melancia,
melancia said:
After doing some neglected homework I'll look into bayer or see if I can exchange mine.

I bought a Bayer Contour meter ($20.99) and strips ($67.99 for 50) at Rite Aid (California) just a few days ago. Expensive... would never do this if I were not about run out of ReliOn strips! This will now become my back up meter. Delivery of my relion strips was delayed...be aware of that possibility when shopping online. I'm now a satisfied possessor of some 250 relion trips! Make sure you check expiration dates of strips you plan to purchase online and even in a store.
Best wishes,
Sophie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top