confused over glucometer readings

Status
Not open for further replies.
Put away the wrong food somewhere that can only be used for emergencies and not get confused with normal food.

At these numbers I almost would be inclined trying to reduce the dose to 1/4 unit for a few days. Heres how it looks

025unit-1.jpg


Wendy
 
I keep all my higher carb cat food shut away in a separate drawer, in another room, far away from the regular low carb foods. I've also labeled each can of high carb (HC) food with a black magic marker, listing the carb percent right on the lid of the can. The low carb foods aren't labeled. If I pull out a can, and it has something written on the top, I know it's one of my high carb foods. That's how I keep from mixing up the foods.
 
Hi All,
just updated the SS, have had 3 PM shots skipped the last 3 nites, any ideas, should I start lowering the AM dose, or
continue as is?
 
boy do I feel dumb, I have this board bookmarked, and haven't seen the two new replies which is on a new page, until
now when I posted and the page refreshes... :(

yes, I have put the high carb food away now, I had stayed up almost all nite, to get the PM post shot numbers,
and my girl friend got up early, and let me sleep, so by accident she grabbed one of the wrong cans....my fault
I should have had those cans in a different place.
 
We need to find a dose you can give every 12 hours, so I'd suggest you try the .25 unit like the picture above here shows and see how Trouble does.

Trouble "earned a decrease" on the AM cycle on the 15th, so you should have dropped back to .25 then.

If you're unsure if you should shoot, you should post here and we'll be happy to help you decide what to do
 
Give the new dose 3 days unless he drops below 50. Same 0.25 dose both a.m and p.m.

Also you know you can "subscribe" to a topic by clicking the link in the blue bar below? The board should then send you emails when you get a reply to your post. Doesn't always work that well though so you should still bookmark.
 
yes, I just bought 100 test strips, yesterday, have high carb food, very high carb food, and karo syrup.
BUT, his pattern seems to be +6 hours, when he is at the low, so that would put the time around 6 AM....
I could do a +1, and +2 tonite, but not sure about any more...
maybe I should skip to be safe and start the new 1/4 unit tomorrow with the AM shot, ?
 
You hold the syringe. If you'd be more comfortable skipping, then that's what you should do.

What I see on your SS is that when you have skipped the PM dose before, he's been bouncing up during those cycles, but we'll never tell you to shoot if it makes you uncomfortable or you can't for any reason be around in case you need to wake up in the middle of the night to grab a test.

(I'll be up at 3am myself doing just that...LOL)
 
Hi Chris,

I see what you mentioned about bouncing up when skipped, but am really not comfortable shooting this low, and if I would not be able to do something if he went low, I would never forgive myself...

If this was the AM cycle, I might try it....

but I will start the 1/4 unit in the AM, yes?

thanks
 
Yes...give .25 whenever you want in the morning. Since you're skipping, now would be the time to change your schedule if you wanted to.

I started at 11/11, since I'm not a "morning" person, but then had to be up too many nights to get tests, so worked our way back to 6am/6pm.....I can wake up long enough to test/shoot/feed at 6, and go back to snooze for a few hours....then I'm up all day to test if I need to, and PMPS at 6pm means most nights I can get a midnight test in and as long as she's got a good number, can go to bed feeling pretty secure she'll be fine the rest of the night

Will look forward to seeing the numbers you get on the reduced dose tomorrow!

Give Trouble some ear scritches and call it a night :-D
 
Tomorrow, why don't you go ahead and come over to the Lantus Tight Regulation board

You're less likely to get "lost" there and it'll probably be easier for us to help you as well as you'll learn a lot just reading how others are doing.

Each day, you post once..we call them "condos"...The subject would read 9/19 Trouble AMPS ###.......(you might want to add "new to board" too)....then in the body of the message, you'd give the Whole Cat Report (WCR)...how he's feeling, how good is his appetite, are the 5 P's in place (Purring, playing, pooping, peeing and preening) as well as any other questions you might have.

Then during the day, you can go back to your first post and add the numbers you get when you test to the subject line..so maybe it'd say 9/19 Trouble, AMPS 189, +2 178, +5 96

If you have a question to ask, add the ? icon from above the subject line, and if it's a medical emergency, add the 911
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top