Confused on Numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

nam1026

Member Since 2013
Suki's numbers have been so high lately even after I got a brand new Lantus pen, I don't know what to make of them. I think tonight's shot went right thru the tent. I think now that she has gained weight I have less loose skin to grab and its been harder and her fur makes it hard to see. I'm concerned especially with the numbers the last 2 days. They aren't even coming down throughout the day. She was doing better a month ago. Ever since I traveled for the holiday her numbers have been high.
 
Wrote a nice long reply and it got deleted! Rats, Charlie Brown. Hope the 2nd times the charm

Would you be able to test consistently, regularly at night. With so few night time tests, you are missing half your data. That 'one last test before you go to bed test' is a good test to get.

For example, on 1/10, she was really low at AMPS. It's possible she dropped much lower overnight. That is my suspicion. Dropping lower at night and bouncing.

Any chance of residual infection/inflammation from whatever caused the diarrhea (see she was on metronidazole for a bit) ?

Are the Wellness foods the grain free ones?

Sometimes, you just have to keep upping the dose, to break through those high numbers.
 
I will try and take 1 reading before bed, it will only be +3 though. I have a hard time sleeping and am not a night owl so getting later than that isn't possible except on weekends.

I wonder if I should do the rest of the antibiotics. Her diarrhea is gone.

Yes the wellness are the grain free ones in the 12.5 oz cans.
 
nam1026 said:
...I wonder if I should do the rest of the antibiotics. Her diarrhea is gone.


Always finish antibiotics. Otherwise, any bacteria which survive are then more resistant to the antibiotic used.
 
If that doesn't work maybe go up again. Still not seeing great numbers. although there isn't a lot of night data so perhaps could be dropping then.
 
My petsitter had a hard time giving the antibiotics while away so that is why they weren't finished. Well past 2 days no 300's so I guess that is good. I actually switched to scruff area and haven't had a problem with it going thru tent so we will see how that does. I know it is supposed to absorb better around abdomen but if it goes thru tent its not helping at all.
 
I know it is supposed to absorb better around abdomen but if it goes thru tent its not helping at all.
You're right. It's better to know you are definitely getting the insulin into your cat, so if the scruff works better for you, go for it! ;-) Some people here always shoot in the scruff.
 
That is good to know! there are a lot of webpages which show it going into scruff so I figure I would try it for a while. she has had some numbers in 300's past 2 days but this am was 217 PS. Hopefully this weekend I can get some +6-+10 numbers.
 
There hasn't been much improvement in Suki's numbers. I'm so disappointed. I was optimistic when I first upped to 2 units but they are back in 300s and high 200s. I just upped to 2.25 yesterday.

Is it possible Lantus isn't the right insulin for her?
 
It's possible that:

1. You haven't found the right dose yet
2. Suki has built up a little bit of insulin resistance. We usually don't consider this until you get above 4 to 5U.
3. Levimir may work better for her. It does for some kitties.
4. She may be carb sensitive. Maybe try a food test to check this. You could try concentrating on the foods that are <6% carbs. Like Halo Spot's Pate Chicken, Wellness Grain free Chicken, Wellness Grain free Turkey, Authority Chicken. These are some of the foods you feed and according to Dr. Pierson's food chart, these are all under 6%.
5. You did mention on your SS on 1/4/14 that the Lantus insulin was cloudy. We don't know how long that was the case, but it does mean the insulin had gone bad and had lost it's effectiveness and you needed to start new insulin like you did on 1/6/14.

Is she picky in what she eats? Or will she eat the same thing meal after meal?
 
Those are all the foods I feed her exactly. So food shouldn't be the problem.

I was getting numbers in the 100s early on so I guess that is why I'm so disappointed. I feel like we are going backwards
 
Those are all the foods I feed her exactly. So food shouldn't be the problem.
There were a lot of other foods that you list on your SS. I went through, and checked them against the catinfo.org food chart to find the ones that were the lowest carb. If you can try to concentrate on feeding just those I listed, we may find out if it makes a difference in Suki's numbers, feeding only these limited foods.

What I was saying, was to limit the particular foods you feed to only a select few. So for now, no Authority Salmon or Whitefish, no Newman's Turkey, no Hi Tor Neo, no Halo Salmon, none of the others I did not list as the <= 6% carbs. Some of the foods you feed were at the higher end of the <10% carb limit, up around 7% and I thought some of them were even up around 13% carbs.

So try to feed only the Halo Spot's Pate Chicken, Wellness Grain free Chicken, Wellness Grain free Turkey, Authority Chicken. This will let us test for some carb sensitivity and see if it makes a difference in Suki's numbers.

Believe it or not, it can make a difference in some cats, to lower the carb percent even a few points.
 
Ok-I will limit to all the ones <6% like you said. Today her AMPS was her lowest number-its only gone up from there. I just don't get it.
 
Remember there are a few factors at play here

- food .. higher carb foods can sit in her system up to 24 hours
- meter variance. Meter vary by 20% for each reading so 200 could be 160 or 240
- bounces - if they drop low then they can sit high as result for 72 hours. Many cats drop low at night - spot check night tests are critical.

I would change food as Deb said but I also suspect her dose is too low. Get a few tests later in the PM cycle and if you don't see a blue I would increase her 0.25 every 3-5 days till you do see a blue or green.... as per the protocol : http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581.

Wendy
 
Well I stuck to the food you all suggested for the past 5 days and her dose is at 2.5 u now. Still high numbers. So frustrating.
 
nam1026 said:
Well I stuck to the food you all suggested for the past 5 days and her dose is at 2.5 u now. Still high numbers. So frustrating.
This is a process, not an event and you need to be patient and follow the protocol for dose increases. We go slowly so we don't miss the best dose for the cat.

If nadir tests are still above 150 mg/dL on a human glucometer, you may increase 0.25 units.

Pre-shots almost always are higher than mid-cycle. This is normal.

And all yellows mid-cycle is better than lots of magenta, so there is some improvement
 
it was weird today-preshot was lowest of day. Ok I will go up to 2.75 starting with dose tonight.

Thank you.
 
Sounds good. as I mentioned before I just don't think you have reached a good dose yet and if I was you I would be following the protocol more closely.. especially since the window for remission is tight 6 months and you are at the three month stage now?

You don't want to hold a dose that isn't working too long.
 
Ok well I felt like I was being reminded not to increase too quickly! Plus I can only do curves on the weekends so can't really know for sure if dose is working until I can do a curve correct?
 
Not at all - 3-4 tests a day will give a lot of insight


I usually recommend 3-4 tests a day

- always before the shot - this is mandatory as you don't want to shoot when too low. As a newbie this too low number is 200 but is reduced over time once you have the data to know if its safe.
- mid cycle - 5-7 hours after morning shot depending on your schedule. This is to see how low the cat’s blood sugar is going. The low point "nadir" is what you base dose changes on since you don't want the cat dropping too low (under 50).
- before bed (2-3hours after Pm shot) to get an idea of what the cat's overnight plans are. If this number is less than the pre shot test number you may want to set the alarm for a test a few hours later as this implies an active cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top