Confused newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Case

Member Since 2017
Hello everyone! My name is Casondra and my cat is Sookie, just diagnosed a couple of weeks ago. Firstly thank you all so much for the wealth of info on here I've learned so much already, it's almost overwhelming. I was heartbroken about all of this but the support here is amazing. So as the title suggests I'm a little confused about when to shoot. My vet told me to only shoot over 200 which so far has always been the case. I've had a few furshots already and we're working on our technique hoping it gets easier. I have 2 other cats and noticed this morning they ripped into a bag of treats and of course ate them all! When I tested Sookie's BG she was higher than she's ever been in the morning at 386. I'm thinking she may have been part of the treat crew. I fed them as normal and as I was getting ready to give Sookie her insulin, (2u Prozinc) she vomited all of her food. I tried to get her to eat a little more but she wouldn't. I was told by my vet to absolutely not give insulin if she doesn't eat or if she vomits to try to give more food before shooting. I didn't know what to do considering I was already late for work and I thought that since I couldn't be home to monitor I should skip the shot. I was researching a bit and saw a previous post that basically said I probably should've given the shot at a reduced dose. Here's the post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/some-bad-advice-for-newbies.9070/#post-161746

I'm feeling guilty and scared that I messed up. I'm not sure what the right thing to do was so if anyone could give advice for the future if this happens again, I'd be really grateful. Sorry long post!
 
Welcome Casondra and Sookie!
Great job having Signature and SS ready to go! :woot:
Sounds like the when is referring to BG rather than time :), so as your Vet suggested and as a newer member, we also recommend not shooting if BG is under 200. It's possible the "contraband" treats upset her tummy, like a kid eating a bunch of candy :smuggrin:. Since you were unable to monitor her, she should be OK with a missed shot but don't be surprised if her PMPS is a little higher :bighug: It's always scary when we're trying to get a routine and they throw a wrench in things when we have to leave. Are you testing urine for ketones? You can buy test strips online or any store with diabetic supplies for a few bucks. I also noticed Sookie had a bladder infection and is on AB's for 10 days, this is day 8? When is her follow up?

Don't be too hard on yourself, this is a lot to take in and getting the routine down without surprises :bighug:. If she gives a usual PS, most seem to be over 275, you could give a tiny dose of 0.25U so she gets a little insulin. If you would be home to check her later, might suggest more. For now, aiming for safety so you're not zoned out worrying about her at work :cat:. Wasn't a long post at all! Feel free to start your own thread on Prozinc for Sookie ;)
 
Hi Yong, thanks for the reply. I'm still so new to all of this, I should've mentioned she was tested for ketones at the vet last week and was negative. I will pick up the strips, how often should I be testing?

You're right 386 was her BG, not time, I see how I worded that funny. Today is day 8 of 10 of her AB (can't wait for that to be over!). Right now we don't have a follow up for the infection, the vet seems more concerned about her numbers. Starting tomorrow we will be upping her dose to 2.5 units when I will be home to watch her. I'm still so uncomfortable with all of this that I won't make any changes unless I know I can be there. I'm so paranoid about her and am prone to be a bit of a worrier. She's the first kitty that is truly mine and that I solely care for so she's my baby! :cat:
 
As long as Sookie has never had ketones or DKA, then skipping a shot is not a problem. If there is a history of ketones/DKA, then skipping shots is not always/usually the best advise but even then safety against BG going too low trumps all especially when you are on your way out the door for an extended period of time. Since Sookie has been negative for ketones, she will be no worse for the skipped shot other than perhaps an elevated pre-shot tonight. Knowing what kitty does without their insulin is just another little tidbit of data that might at some future point in time, come in handy. ;)
 
Thank you MrWorfMen's Mom that makes sense and makes me feel relieved! I can deal with a slightly higher number over going too low, especially when I'm not home.
 
It's a marathon. One missed shot isn't a big deal. :). Definitely a good idea to do dose increases when you can monitor. Welcome to fdmb
 
It's a marathon. One missed shot isn't a big deal. :). Definitely a good idea to do dose increases when you can monitor. Welcome to fdmb


Thanks, I think I needed to be reminded of that. Somewhere in the back of my mind I think this diagnosis will go away as quickly as it came on. I need to be (much) more patient. ;)
 
Complimentary patience pants available! :D. If no history of ketones, I was recommended to test weekly :). Any chance you could make next dose 2.25U? It's much easier with half unit markings on U-40 s yringes (and U-100s if you convert later). If not, make sure you will be around for the increase. Not to add more things to your request list but might want to try for a mini curve on next dose. So AMPS, then +3, +6, +9. ;). Let us know your thoughts on anything I've mentioned :bighug:
 
I have the U-40 syringes that only have the whole unit markings so I'm not sure if I'd be accurate at .25, but I can try and see how it goes. I will definitely be around all day for the increase to see how it affects her. I can also do the mini curve, I think that's a great idea. I wish I was home more throughout the day so I could get some mid day numbers, but I'll do it whenever I can. Thank you so much for the ideas Yong, it's very helpful!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top