Confused... need help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

sheryl1032

Member Since 2012
I am wondering if I should lower Madison's dose to 1.5 or keep it at 1.75? She is responding to the 1.75 but are her numbers mid cycle to low? Her SS is is below.
Thanks for any advise.
 
Hi Sheryl,

Yes, I think you're bordering on "too low". At least when she's got preshot numbers in the 200s. What you might try is lowering it to 1.5 or 1.25 if you see a number under 250. I think you're okay with the 1.75 if she is above 300.

Maybe something like this

200-250 1.25
250-300 1.5
above 300 1.75

Sometimes a "sliding scale" like that works for some cats. That's the way I dosed Bob. You're doing a great job getting data!

Carl
 
You're welcome!

Don't put too much stock in what the 1u dose did today. It doesn't look like it did much, but it's just one cycle. The 1.25 unit dose on this evening's cycle looks like it did a lot. Did you test again after that +3? If you see a drop that big (50% in 3 hours), good idea to check again at +4 to see if it's still going down. We might have to revise your scale if things keep going this well!

Carl
 
Yes, I did test 2 more times last night. I have updated her SS. This morning she was under 200 so I only gave her 1 unit again.

Sheryl
 
Carl

I just tested her and she was 57. This is 3 hours and 40 minutes since her shot. Little scary so I am going to give her a small amount of food. Do you think I gave her to much this morning?

Sheryl
 
Hi Sheryl,

She is really responding to the insulin and keeping you on your toes. I would get another number in 30 minutes. When did she eat? do you have some high carb food in the house?
 
She is definitely keeping me on top of things Sue and I am happy she is responding so well. With 3 finicky cats I have a variety of low and high carb food. I ended up giving her some Friskies after the low 57 number. Her test now at 5 hours out was 71.
 
Please let us know how she is doing, Sheryl.

We are interested in whether she continues down or starts up. If she continues down and gets into the 40 range, I would get some of the gravy from the higher carb food and give her some of that. If she continues down, please post on Health with a 911 and ask for help. I will only be around for another hour.

If she is moving up, that will be great. Let's see what Carl thinks, but I would think she needs a little less insulin. Maybe the scale needs a little tweaking. Any time you get a number under 200 (until you have more data and know how she will probably react) retest without feeding. You want to make sure she is headed up, not down and that the number is nearer 200.

Frightening for Mom, but really good news. She is doing very well, going down in dose and down in numbers.
 
everything okay? Haven't heard anything in a while & wanted to check. Unfortunately I can't open your ss on my phone.
 
I tested Madison this evening at +11 1/2 out and she was 128. She did eat about an oz of FF food but then I decided maybe I should wait to feed her. Tested her again half hour later and she was 170. Then I fed her the rest of her food and gave her a skinny 1u. Just wondering if this dose was to much?

Sheryl
 
Hard to tell. It looks like the 170 was largely due to food on board, but you're shot 1u on numbers that low before, too. I'd check about +4 to see how quickly she's dropping, and then at +6 for a nadir. Post here so we can help you keep an eye out.
 
I tested her at +2 and she was 138 and again at +4 and she was 81. I think I will test again in an hour or two.
Thanks!
Sheryl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top