CONFUSED!Lily- insulin lasting longer than twelve hours

Status
Not open for further replies.

lesean1977

Member Since 2012
We have been doing insulin and home testing since March. Lily has done well with the exception of a couple incidents of ketones. Her numbers were starting to come down with an increase of 1u 2x daily to 1.5u. That seemed to work even better. Her Amps #s were in the low 300s instead of upper 4. Every morning it has been a little better. Her pmps # have been about the same maybe a bit less than am #s. But the past three days for her pmps I have been getting super low #s at least lower than Im used to. Two nights ago when I should have given her a shot it was in the low 90s. So I didnt shoot. I checked her several times through the night but didnt give her anything until the next morning at her usual 8am time. It was only in the mid 200s by that point. Last night same thing. I did a curve yesterday albeit its a little wonky I have a sick child Im dealing with also. Im still figuring out the spreadsheet thing so Im just posting the numbers here.
Amps 272 +2.5 353, +4.5 235, +7.5 151, +13 156, +15 84 I did not give anything as I did notice she wasnt acting herself her eating was just a bit off. I also gave sq fluids and tried to catch urine for ketones check but never did. Her numbers have done this same curve the past three days, with her lowest point being some three to four hours after her sceduled time for insulin. This amps was 269 so gave her the 1.5u she seems perkier today ate readily for me so Im going to curve again and see what happens. She has ended up not getting her pm dose three nights in row because of low numbers. After all this I guess what Im asking is why are her numbers doing this could it be she isnt eating enough? What would cause her #s to go that low so late? Do I need to reduce? The 1u just wasnt doing a whole lot for her and we were on that for a month or so. We went up about two weeks ago and I noticed a big difference. Im just at a loss and am hoping someone can give me some guidence. Thanks so much for being here to help us who have no clue. I dont think I could have done all of this if it hadnt been for the wealth of knowldge on this board!

Kirstie
 
Hi Kristie,

Sorry no one has answered you yet, I've not been here much as I was dealing with a very sick little girl (unfortunately she passed yesterday evening) so I'm kind of playing catch up on posts tonight...if 1u wasn't looking like enough although without a spreadsheet it is hard to see what 1u was doing for us, and obviously 1.5u is too muchsince you are having to skip shots you may want to try fine tuning her dose a little by giving 1.25u.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: CONFUSED! Lily- insulin lasting longer than twelve hours

When you find you are repeatedly skipping a dose, it can suggest that the dose is too high. I second Mel's suggestion to slightly back off to 1.25 at the next injection.

There are some secondary monitoring tools in my signature link - please check out the one on urine testing for ketones. Ketones can develop when the insulin is too low and glucose can't be used, OR when not enough food is provided or eaten, so fat gets broken down for calories and this generates ketones.

If she isn't eating in a stable manner, this also can play h*ll with the glucose levels. If she is breaking down fat for calories, this can trigger hepatic lipidosis, where the liver can't handle the fat sent its way. Pancreatitis is a common reason for not eating. Will she let you rub her belly? If she is showing some discomfort when you do that, you may want to consider a vet visit.
 
Thank you those who responded. I think in the end it was the not eating that was doing it. Lily has decided she is not crazy about FF so I brough home some other brands and she is eating like a champ again. Her numbers are back to normal, without the low dips. So blame it on a picky eater.
Thanks again!
 
Re: CONFUSED! Lily- insulin lasting longer than twelve hours

BJM said:
Pancreatitis is a common reason for not eating. Will she let you rub her belly? If she is showing some discomfort when you do that, you may want to consider a vet visit.


BJM, I just wanted to let you know that, due to your wonderful secondary monitoring tools, every time I carry Pumbaa to the table for testing, I rub his belly while walking, just to test for sensitivity. It's now a habit. Thank you!

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top