Confused by our First Curve- Help needed!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy

Member Since 2011
Hi,
Today is the first time that my husband and I are doing a curve on our Annie. I thought when the shot of insulin is given that her level should be dropping. I have been charting it all day today. Can someone please explain to me what is happening. Any information or suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Annie ate a can of fancy feast shrimp and tuna and also a can of wellness chicken. She likes to graze!! We only give her hard food when we test, but it's like 6 to 8 little pieces which are the EVO hard food until I can find a more healthy soft treat that she likes.
Judy and Annie
 
I can't help with the curve - I suspect its the dry food especially if that many pieces of kibble are given after every test. Some kitties are extremely sensitive to carbs.

For a carb free treat - most of us give our kitties Pure Bites Freeze Dried Chicken. We get it in the dog section - bigger bags that cost less. Its just pure chicken - but for kitties it is like Kitty crack. Maverick purrs for his tests now.

Welcome to Lantus Land.
 
Hi Judy,

To me it looks like you may have caught Annie in a "bounce." Looking at your SS, even with the little data that is there, I see she had already started to shift into lower numbers.

Without any nighttime numbers it is hard to really say, but I suspect she may have had some blue numbers overnight.

When our kitties first start getting lower BG numbers sometimes the liver panics and dumps more glucose and hormones into the blood. It appears to me this may have been what happened last night for Annie and you just caught the bounce for your curve.

What is lacking is a spot check for last night to have some idea how low she went.

Can you attempt to get some spot checks, even tonight? I would hold the dose and attempt to do a curve again in a few days.
 
Blue said:
Hi Judy,

To me it looks like you may have caught Annie in a "bounce." Looking at your SS, even with the little data that is there, I see she had already started to shift into lower numbers.

Without any nighttime numbers it is hard to really say, but I suspect she may have had some blue numbers overnight.
blue's right on target. annie is going lower than you know on this dose and what you're seeing is a bounce from numbers lower than what her body is used to. you'll need to start getting spot checks to see how low this dose is taking her. i'd also suggest getting a before bed spot check every night...
 
Hi Ladies,
Is it okay to test her like we are right now every 3 hours before we go to bed?? The next test will be in 1 hour which would be the AMPS +12. After she eats then we give her the shot. So we will give her the shot and then start testing every 2 hours until we go to bed and I can post her number on the board for more help. Yes we can do another curve in a day or so.
Thank you for your help and the suggestion on the treats I will see if we can find them at Petsmart or Petco, if not I will look on the internet.
Judy and Annie
 
You can test as much as you like! Well, or as much as Annie will let you. I tend to be a bit of a testaholic. Look at Gabby's SS. You can see how I will track er BG level since Gabby has a tendency to drop quickly into low numbers.

AMPS +12 should be your PMPS test.

If you can think about your schedule -- can you get a test before you leave in the AM and when you get home (if it's not right at shot time)? Like Jill suggested, a before bed test is also important.

I would dispense with the crunchy treats, if you can. If Annie likes cooked (or raw) chicken, that is a popular treat in these parts as is freeze dried chicken (or salmon or anything else that is a freeze dried, protein only option). Wellness and other companies make jerky style treats that are low carb.
 
Totally agree with Sienne.....the determining factor in getting Jezebel to OTJ status was eliminating ALL hard food. She eats only very lo carb wet and her treats are ONLY PureBites chicken!

Debie & a most wonderful Jezebel!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top