Confused by Gryffs #'s

Status
Not open for further replies.

LindyKindy

Member Since 2015
HomeConversations>
Confused by Gryffs #'s
Edit ConversationMark as UnreadStar ConversationLeave Conversation

  1. LindyKindy
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    The vet told me to give him 2 units of Lantus 2x a day. His # was 405 at the vets. He (Gryff) was soooo stressed to be there, so # was high.

    10 days ago I started the 2 units 2x a day. Then I found this wonderful forum of caring/knowledgable people to help with my anxiety about all of this. So I got a Bayer monitor to test Gryff at home.

    8/21/15 - 8/25/15 -2 units 2x a day
    8/25 -BG267 - 11:50 pm- 1 1/2 hour no food pre shot -1.75 units
    8/26- BG174 - 9:45 am -1.5 units -12:47pm - BG 251@ 5pm -PMPS 326 - 2 units 1am
    8/27- 2 units - 2 units
    8/28- 2 units -PMPS 122 11:42 pm held off until 3 am to give 1 unit
    8/29- 119 @ 1:50pm - 1.5 units@ 5pm
    8/30- AMPS 150 @ 4:30 am - 1.25 units @9:30am -PMPS 216 @ 9 pm
    8/31- 1.75 units @ 10am - PMPS 110 @ 9pm -I'm AFRAID to give him his shot :( 1u @ 2 am
    9/1- AMPS 142 -2:20pm - BG 131 @5:30pm
  2. 9/2- PMPS 153 12:20am - 1 unit 1AM

  3. I know this is a mess. I got off track/schedule because I was afraid to shoot when his numbers were low. His PMPS # tonight is 110... I'm afraid to give him meds.

    Gryff takes 2 units Lantus.
 
Last edited:
He eats FF or Frisky pate and a lil sprinkle of Hills M/D. I'll wean him off of the Hills. I don't know the Nadir # yet. i'll try to get more BG readings between shots and download the spreadsheet.
 
I can't get a BG # right now. I've just tried and poked his lil ears all up. I don't know if I should give him a shot or not. I feel like I have his life in my hands and I'm so scared.

Just gave 1 unit at 2 am. I hope it's ok....:'(
 
Last edited:
Sorry you didn't get an answer sooner Lindy

You did the best thing you could considering the circumstances, so hopefully the smaller dose will be fine for him.

Yes, please get the spreadsheet up as soon as possible because it really helps us to be able to help you!!!

One thing to remember though....as long as you're able to test, you're able to keep him safe.....if he starts to drop too low (under 50) you just give a little high carb food to bring him back up to a safer number, so although everyone warns of "hypos", the reason we are so crazy about home testing is it really does shift the power over to the caretaker
 
Thank you Chris & China. I keep getting up to check on him. He usually sleeps with me, but not tonight. This is still relatively new to us and I think we are both exhausted by all these new changes and the stress. I'm trying to learn from you all and read up on protocols. I understand that Lantus is dosed on the nadir. I don't know what Gryffs is yet. I was at a loss a few hours ago.

Thank you again so much for responding.
 
If your normal shoot time is 2pm and 2am, and you are around to check, I would give the 1unit. You gave 1 unit last night at 110 and he did fine. BTW, the AMPS and PMPS should be just before the shot. That may be when you are doing it, but from the numbers, I'm not sure.

Additionally, you really need to be giving the shots 12 hours apart. If you need to adjust occasionally that is fine, just adjust the subsequent shots gradually to get back on track.
 
Thank you Rhonda& Shiloh. Yes, I'm taking the AMPS &PMPS before the food and shots. I'll get a handle on all of this soon, hopefully. It's just nice to have reassurance on this forum. It means so much to me to see other people going through this and understanding what is going on.
 
Lindy, trust me, I know what you mean. I was just where you are 3 months ago. But with the help of this forum, Shiloh is now in remission. No insulin for 26 days!

And if you need help with setting up the spreadsheet we use, just let me know!
 
Rhonda that is wonderful news! Congrats to Shiloh. :) What a relief you both must feel.

I read that it's not good to shoot if under 150 if you don't know what the nadir is. So, I'm always afraid that I am going to harm him, instead of helping him. I'm still in this gray area. I tested him mid cycle at 5:30 tonight and he is 131. I haven't given him a shot since 2 am.
 
Last edited:
Can we get you started using our grid to record your glucose tests? It will help us give you better feedback. Instructions are here.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning, pre-shot, test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening, pre-shot, test)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

The nadir is the lowest glucose between shots. There is a general period when it will happen which is specific to the insulin being used and testing then helps make sure your cat doesn't go too low.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top