Good steering with the food last night. See you lowered the dose this morning. Please, still do a curve this weekend. Want to see how Diesel is doing. Either Sat or Sun is fine, whichever fits better into your "life with toddler and full time job" schedule.
Aggressiveness could very well have been Diesel telling you he felt his BG going low. "MOM, my BG is LOW. Need some food STAT." If only they could talk. Good thing you are learning to interpret Diesel's body language.
"Know Thy Cat". Another member here says her cat meows for food every time her cat goes lower with the blood glucose.
That first low number can be scary. Don't know if you have a printer, but printing out these 3 documents could help you next time. The old boy scout motto "Be Prepared".
How to treat HYPOS - THEY CAN KILL! Print this Out!!
jojo and bunny's HYPO TOOL BOX
New? Seeing Low Numbers? How You Can Help Us Help You
Just in case the power goes out, or your cell phone doesn't have a charge, or you get those lows and ask yourself "Now what was I supposed to do if I get low numbers?" Or you can't sign on to the message board for some reason.
Remember, you can always change the title on your post if you would like some guidance when you get those first low numbers. I'm not up that late at night, but there is often someone on the board later. Not always, but often enough. And people do scan the boards for people in more immediate need. You could also post over in the Lantus forum, since there are often more people hanging out over there later at night (and during the day too). Simply a fact of more people using lantus.
Write something like… “BG level xxx, 1st low number <100 (5.5), please HELP” to alert people to your situation. If you don't get a response, reply to your own post with the word 'BUMP', to move your post to the top of the list. Posts are all in order by the most recent timestamp on the post, so your post may have fallen farther down in the list but needs more attention sooner than others.
If you get a BG under 30 mg/dL (1.6 mmol/L) on a human meter, change the prefix icon on your post to 911. That really gets people's attention. "
Using the 911 prefix. The 911 prefix in the subject line should only be used for encies such as symptomatic hypos, very low numbers (below 30 on a human meter), and /or a very sick cat potentially needing ER care."
It's like calling your police, fire, medical emergency number for help for humans. It will get our hearts racing and coming to you and your cats rescue.
People will stay up all night with you if they need to, hand off to someone else if they have to go to work or can't stay with you to guide you. We call it a "pajama party", because we are all up late wearing our PJ's.