Hello, my 12 year old cat, Leo, was diagnosed a little over two years ago and it took about six months to get him regulated (highest BG numbers in the 200 range, dropping to ~90 at lowest point). He was on 3 units of Lantus 2x a day at the time.
Over the following year I tested regularly and began tapering the insulin down as his BG values improved. I got him down to 1 1/2 units 2x a day. I also put him on a diet and he lost about 3-4 pounds (originally weighed 16 pounds).
I noticed he was getting a little too skinny so I began upping his food (he is on canned low/no carb food 2x a day and gets low carb dry food at night as a treat).
His BG started to go up which I attributed to the increase in food so I changed insulin slowly until he was at 2 1/2 units 2x day. This kept him in the range of ~200 high point, ~80 low point.
Everything was fine for about 4 months then suddenly he had what the vet assumed was a hypoglycemic episode - his BG was at 60 when I took him to the emergency vet. They had me drop his insulin down to 1 unit.
Ever since then his BG is in the 400s at the high point and I've never gotten it below 250 at the low point (i.e. six hours after giving insulin). I test his urine with glucose strips regularly and they are always negative. I have had one recently that was trace.
I upped his insulin about a month ago to 1 1/2 and have seen no improvement. He does seem to be drinking a bit more but again, his urine tests show no glucose.
The insulin itself is "fresh" - about a month old at this point.
So after that incredibly long story, my questions are:
*Any idea why his numbers don't seem to reflect the increase in insulin?
*The vet seemed unconcerned with the higher numbers (I did a curve a couple weeks after the ED visit). I thought I needed to shoot for numbers closer to 200s at high point, 100 at low point?
*With his numbers being higher, why am I not seeing positive urine glucose strip results?
*Is it safe for his values to be so consistently high? I'm worried that long term damage is happening that is going to end up taking years off his life.
Any insight would be appreciated. I gave him 2 units this morning to see what would happen (he tested around 378 at 5am and three hours later was only down to 357). I am going to test again shortly but I guess I would have expected to see a more dramatic drop.
Thank you!
Sandy
Over the following year I tested regularly and began tapering the insulin down as his BG values improved. I got him down to 1 1/2 units 2x a day. I also put him on a diet and he lost about 3-4 pounds (originally weighed 16 pounds).
I noticed he was getting a little too skinny so I began upping his food (he is on canned low/no carb food 2x a day and gets low carb dry food at night as a treat).
His BG started to go up which I attributed to the increase in food so I changed insulin slowly until he was at 2 1/2 units 2x day. This kept him in the range of ~200 high point, ~80 low point.
Everything was fine for about 4 months then suddenly he had what the vet assumed was a hypoglycemic episode - his BG was at 60 when I took him to the emergency vet. They had me drop his insulin down to 1 unit.
Ever since then his BG is in the 400s at the high point and I've never gotten it below 250 at the low point (i.e. six hours after giving insulin). I test his urine with glucose strips regularly and they are always negative. I have had one recently that was trace.
I upped his insulin about a month ago to 1 1/2 and have seen no improvement. He does seem to be drinking a bit more but again, his urine tests show no glucose.
The insulin itself is "fresh" - about a month old at this point.
So after that incredibly long story, my questions are:
*Any idea why his numbers don't seem to reflect the increase in insulin?
*The vet seemed unconcerned with the higher numbers (I did a curve a couple weeks after the ED visit). I thought I needed to shoot for numbers closer to 200s at high point, 100 at low point?
*With his numbers being higher, why am I not seeing positive urine glucose strip results?
*Is it safe for his values to be so consistently high? I'm worried that long term damage is happening that is going to end up taking years off his life.
Any insight would be appreciated. I gave him 2 units this morning to see what would happen (he tested around 378 at 5am and three hours later was only down to 357). I am going to test again shortly but I guess I would have expected to see a more dramatic drop.
Thank you!
Sandy
Last edited:

