Tuxedo Mom
Member Since 2014
Tuxie has been on Lantus for 2 weeks....he started with 1 unit twice daily. I had a human glucometer but was having trouble getting readings.
His before starting treatment BG was 22 (400) After his first dose I got a reading at +3 of 8 (145). The next day I did another reading at +3 18 (325) but really stressed him out and I think hurt him so I don't know how reliable the reading was. I was out of strips and not comfortable with the human glucometer so I did not do readings at home until yesterday. He did seem to be improving at least to look at him. A bit less water and peeing and a bit more energy.
2 days ago he went to the vet for an all day glucose curve. He does stress easily so I wasn't sure how well it would go. After 4 readings the vet said it never went lower than his starting point of 22 (400) so I picked him up. I bought an AlphaTrak, which is working fine for both Tuxie and me. The vet wanted him to go to 2 units twice daily. He was sick that evening...I am thinking from the stress and all so I only upped it to 1.5 unit for the night dose.
Yesterday I used 1.5 units twice. His morning pre shot BG was 28.9 (over 500) his +6 hr was 24.7 (440) and his evening +2.5hr was 23.1(414).
Today I started the 2 units twice a day the vet suggested. His morning pre-shot BG was 20.4 (370) and his +5.5 was 21.9 (385).
I am very confused. He started off with a good reaction after his very first shot. His 12 day glucose curve was not good and even with having increased the dose..50% yesterday and one shot at double, the levels are still far too high. Is this normal to have a good start with only one shot then level down a bit then go up and stay high even with an increase? How many days should I wait before trying another increase? I am confused and I don;t want to do anything to hurt Tuxie, but I want to get his levels in a much better range. One other thought..since this is a vet filled vial (1ml) is there any chance that it could have lost its effectiveness..it is only 2 weeks old and I have been super cautious with it. It is only out of the fridge (I have a thermometer in the fridge to watch the cold level) for as long as it takes to fill the dose then I put it away before actually giving the dose.
Any input would be appreciated. Thanks
His before starting treatment BG was 22 (400) After his first dose I got a reading at +3 of 8 (145). The next day I did another reading at +3 18 (325) but really stressed him out and I think hurt him so I don't know how reliable the reading was. I was out of strips and not comfortable with the human glucometer so I did not do readings at home until yesterday. He did seem to be improving at least to look at him. A bit less water and peeing and a bit more energy.
2 days ago he went to the vet for an all day glucose curve. He does stress easily so I wasn't sure how well it would go. After 4 readings the vet said it never went lower than his starting point of 22 (400) so I picked him up. I bought an AlphaTrak, which is working fine for both Tuxie and me. The vet wanted him to go to 2 units twice daily. He was sick that evening...I am thinking from the stress and all so I only upped it to 1.5 unit for the night dose.
Yesterday I used 1.5 units twice. His morning pre shot BG was 28.9 (over 500) his +6 hr was 24.7 (440) and his evening +2.5hr was 23.1(414).
Today I started the 2 units twice a day the vet suggested. His morning pre-shot BG was 20.4 (370) and his +5.5 was 21.9 (385).
I am very confused. He started off with a good reaction after his very first shot. His 12 day glucose curve was not good and even with having increased the dose..50% yesterday and one shot at double, the levels are still far too high. Is this normal to have a good start with only one shot then level down a bit then go up and stay high even with an increase? How many days should I wait before trying another increase? I am confused and I don;t want to do anything to hurt Tuxie, but I want to get his levels in a much better range. One other thought..since this is a vet filled vial (1ml) is there any chance that it could have lost its effectiveness..it is only 2 weeks old and I have been super cautious with it. It is only out of the fridge (I have a thermometer in the fridge to watch the cold level) for as long as it takes to fill the dose then I put it away before actually giving the dose.
Any input would be appreciated. Thanks