Confused about glucose readings.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue484

Member Since 2015
Hi. Frankie had a low blood score (for him!!) yesterday PMPS of 11.6 (208). As I was home and could test regularly I fed him and gave him the full 5 units of Glargine. I tested +1, +2, +4 and +8 and each time it went up. It reached 32 (576) at +8. Then AMPS this morning he was 23.8 (428). He is on "diabetic" food at the moment until I do his curve on Saturday and then from Sunday I will start the transition to low carb wet food. My question is, is this mormal to have surch a long time before you see a drop or is he bouncing again? I will get his spreadsheet up and running over the long weekend here (fingers crossed) so you can all see his curve and figures, then hopefully advise about reducing the dose.
 
I can't remember offhand as I'm at work. I think +1 was 16 ((288) and +2 23 ((414) but got no idea of the others as I was half asleep. He has been on 3 units and 4 units and thay weren't enough. His nadir on 4 units was 23 (414)
 
yesterday PMPS of 11.6 (208). As I was home and could test regularly I fed him and gave him the full 5 units of Glargine. I tested +1, +2, +4 and +8 and each time it went up. It reached 32 (576) at +8.
Sue, it's quite possible that Frankie had dropped lower than that 11.6 (208) during the cycle, and had reached a number that triggered a bounce. That could account for the fast rise in numbers and for his not responding to the shot you gave later.
I agree with Larry and suspect that the current dose is too high...

Do you know at what point (how many hours after the shot) Frankie usually has his lowest number of the cycle?
.
 
He doesn't have a "low" point. He is usually up and down each time I take it. But I think the lowest was about 6 hours as I reviewed my notes this morning and that was still 23!! That was on 4 units. I am still to do my first curve on 5 units as he only started this dose Friday evenng. Plus since Friday, I am doing a food experiment as instructed by the RVC. He is only being fed twice a day before his shots, and he's not keen on eating a lot as he's a grazer, so he is not eating as much as usual, but enough to give him his shot. That's why I want to change his diet asap. Food is really the only thing left as all the other 4 reasons for insulin not working have been discounted.
 
I have tried the spreadsheet. I can't do it from work as it's blocked and my ipad won't do it, so I will charge my laptop over the weekend and try it on that. Otherwise I'll just post the numbers here when I have them to hand.
 
When I click on the link a message comes up from McAfee saying Access Denied. Work are funny about accessing certain sites due to security issues so a lot are blocked and you need a business case to get sites that you need for work unblocked.
 
Why do they only want you to feed twice a day? Feeding only twice a day isn't the way to go for diabetic kitties as its harder on the pancreas. Vyktor was always free fed before diabetes so we continued that after diagnosis with the exception of removing food at +10 so I knew his PS tests weren't food influenced. This also ensured he was hungry for shot time. Others feed several small meals in the early part of the cycle.

Increasing lantus by a unit at a time is too much. Are you doing it in whole units because you have a pen? You can get u100 insulin syringes and draw the dose from the pen cartridge. Adjustments are usually made in .25 unit increments with some circumstances allowing changes by .50 units

Are Frankie and his sibling litter mates? They're a cute pair :)
 
Aww thanks. Yes that's his littermate Teddy behind him. He was the runt of the litter believe it or not!! It's just an experiment the RVC are doing on Frankie at the moment as he has been over a year unregulated and now has really bad neuropathy. He seems to be very carb sensitive. He is naturally a grazer which is what I will put him back to once I change his food. This has only been since Friday, he was fed whenever he wanted previously. The RVC are giving me dosing instructions but seem to be getting nowhere fast so I am now going to take control of the situation. I use the syringes, don't think we can get the pens here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top