Confused about BG readings

Lilla Ross

Member
I've only been doing this a couple of months. My kitty was diagnosed in Dec. He started at 2u PZ and is now up to 3u... His BG numbers have been high 400-500 but have come down on 3u.. but this week they are really low -- like under 100. I'm attaching the sheet. His numbers have been coming down ever since he got sick all day last week. He was vomiting all day, and was off his food for a couple of days. But he's back to normal eating. I' not sure I should give him insulin when his numbers are this low.

I can't upload ... so today's numbers so far

244 at 7 a.m.
96 at 9 a.m.
60 at 11 a.m.
 
I've only been doing this a couple of months. My kitty was diagnosed in Dec. He started at 2u PZ and is now up to 3u... His BG numbers have been high 400-500 but have come down on 3u.. but this week they are really low -- like under 100. I'm attaching the sheet. His numbers have been coming down ever since he got sick all day last week. He was vomiting all day, and was off his food for a couple of days. But he's back to normal eating. I' not sure I should give him insulin when his numbers are this low.

I can't upload ... so today's numbers so far

244 at 7 a.m.
96 at 9 a.m.
60 at 11 a.m.
What kind of a meter are you using? Human or a pet meter?
 
Looks like snacks would have been helpful between shot time and +2. What is your feeding schedule and what is your kitty’s diet?
 
@Lilla Ross
Hi can you please set up what we call our signature, it's at the end of everyone's post , information we need about your kitty
Hi if you are having trouble setting up your this might make it easier for you
signature
click on your name up top above where it says search and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom.
 
Thanks @Diane Tyler's Mom
And @Lilla Ross it will keep us from asking you the same questions over and over :-) if we can see things in your signature. Please reply when you can. I know it is really overwhelming. Have you read through the dosing methods in the sticky notes on this ProZinc forum? The advice I was giving regarding the reduction is based on the Start Low Go Slow method. Since I cannot see your spreadsheet yet, I am not sure how he got from 2 to 3 units (if it was a whole unit increase, which is not recommended) or if you got there more gradually.
 
Back
Top