Concerned # too low?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Siami is on 1.5 units 2x a day. I gave her injection @ 7 and just tested her and she is 77. Is she alright do I need to do anything?
 
Since it isn't 7 here yet, I'm guessing we are in different time zones. Can you tell how many hours between the insulin shot and your test? Also, are you using an AlphaTrak, or a human meter? 77 is okay for now, but having that information will help people on here advise you about next steps.
 
In that case, yes, the number is getting pretty low. Hopefully one of the more experienced people will find this thread pretty soon, but for now here are a few more questions:
Have you done a curve before? Do you know Siamis' usual nadir? I'm wondering when your kitty usually hits the lowest number.
Do you have any high-carb food at home? Or corn syrup or honey? They may be needed if the numbers drop too low.
Do you have a spreadsheet? I'm going to go try to find an AT2 spreadsheet so that I can be sure on the right ranges since I use a human meter. I'll be right back.
 
I'm new to testing have problems trying stick her. I just got it on Friday and this is only the second time I have been successful.
 
It looks like hypo is at 69 on an AT2. Which means you're about to get really good at testing. ;)

Okay, I'm still keeping my fingers crossed that one of the people I tagged above will chime in, but I'm going to stay here until they do.
So going back to the questions: Do you have some high-carb food, honey, or corn syrup at home?
Did Siami eat at shot time?
 
Don't give her any more food right now. If she keeps dropping you're going to need to get her to eat some Karo so you don't want her to be too full. Do you think you could try another test? It looks like it's been about 30 minutes since you posted, so it would be good to see how she's doing. Take your time, warm up her ear first, and remember that the calmer you are, the better it will go so make sure you relax and breathe.
 
That's great! (and HUGE CONGRATULATIONS on getting another test!!!) You're going to be a professional vampire in no time! Rising is better than falling when you're getting closer to the hypo-line.

How many hours until you go to sleep? I'm thinking it would be a good idea to keep monitoring for another test or two if you can stay awake. Just to make sure that the numbers keep going in the right direction.
 
By the way, when I first started testing it would take way longer than 7 minutes! You're already doing better than I was the first week!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi, Djamila. When was the last time you tested BG? How many minutes ago? (Sorry I was MIA - was stuck on phone; mom's 17-yr-old Yorkie just had to be put down today.)
 
I will stay awake. How often should I test? Every 30 minutes? Every hour? Thank you so much for your words of encouragement! She gives me LIFE- I will stay awake however long I need to
 
Sorry, I know - was typing too fast & caught my error after I posted. @ Siami's Momma - That number @ 83 is good, but I would recheck in about a half-hr. or so after that test at 83, just to make sure the rise in BG continues.
 
Also, what was Siami's preshot BG# before you gave the injection?
And when you say you gave the dose at 7 pm, which time zone is that?
 
Ok. In about 15 more minutes, I want you to test Siami's BG again (I'm estimating this will make it about 35 minutes from your test that showed 83.)
Then please report back to me with that BG#, ok?
 
Not bad momma! You're doing great! It's tough at the beginning for all of us, but you're monitoring her now and you're doing what she needs to be healthy and safe.
 
Not bad momma! You're doing great! It's tough at the beginning for all of us, but you're monitoring her now and you're doing what she needs to be healthy and safe.
Yes, Djamila is right: You're doing just fine right now.
I will test and report back
Great! Will await that result.

In the meantime, let's do a quick review of what to do as you near AMPS test time tomorrow:
1) Avoid feeding in the two-hour window before your pre-shot BG test.
2) Test BG#: Do NOT shoot if that # is below 200; instead, withhold food for another 15-20 minutes, then test BG again. (As anticipating a meal can raise cat's BG # all by itself. We call this process stalling ...)
3) If still below 200 (say, it's around 170 to 180), continue to withhold food for another 15 minutes and test yet again.
4) If BG# still hasn't risen to 200 - and you can't wait around to keep this up, or don't want to get too far off your usual schedule, you will likely just skip that dose.

But feel free to consult on the forum if you have ANY question at all! (Is not a bad idea to post on the Main Health forum, too, if you have a question re: whether or not to dose insulin, as you will get more eyes on your post that way.) As 7 am your time is 4 am my time (!), I will tag @Rachel and @Bobbie And Bubba to keep an eye out for you in the morning, as I believe they are both in the Eastern time zone.
 
Ok, sounds like you're good to stop testing for the rest of the cycle. Great job! :)Proud of you for getting all these tests in ... and now you'll be like an old pro for AMPS time in the morning!:bighug: (Did you have time to see my previous post - quick review re: what to do tomorrow?)
 
Ok, sounds like you're good to stop testing for the rest of the cycle.
But if you have any concerns, it's perfectly ok to give Siami a tiny snack of low-carb food right before you go to bed. (Like about 0.75 oz. of canned Fancy Feast or whatever.)
 
Yes I will make sure I test tomorrow before injection. She has a little bit of food left from her pm feeding. Should I take it away?
 
You're so welcome, ______! (insert your first name here;) - I still don't know it.) And you get a gold star from me for your good work tonight!:D
 
Great job tonight! I hope you're able to get some sleep. You've more than doubled your number of successful tests! Make sure you give Siami a healthy treat and some good snuggles!
 
@Djamila - You did great at the start of this thread, btw - you asked all the right questions, too!:)
@Djamila , @Siamis Momma - Sorry about being so late to hop on tonight; I was stuck on the phone with family - my elderly Mom's Yorkie (age 17 yrs) had to be put down today. Sad stuff.
 
Nice to meet you Eve! Be sure to post in the morning and let us know how Siami is doing! Don't be alarmed if she has a high number -- that sometimes happens after going low. But hopefully her little pancreas is healing and she'll keep going with the low numbers!

@Robin&BB I'm so sorry to hear about your mom's puppy! Hugs and comfort to you all!
 
Thanks, @Djamila - It was time, though. The poor little gal was suffering; in a lot of pain. So even though I know it was hard for my mom to let her go, it was best to let her travel gently across the rainbow bridge.
 
Sorry - I just signed on tonight. Looks all is well. Great job Eve and Great job Djamila for going through the proper process until Robin got online.
 
Hi Eve! You did great last night! I'm generally in bed pretty early, so I tend to be around more in the AM before anyone else...I'm Central Time Zone too, so you know...makes it easier. If you need anything, let me kow!

@Djamila so glad you were around last night! You did great helping and guiding and also finding other folks to help!

@Robin&BB glad you were here too! :)
 
Hi there, Eve! I hope you awoke refreshed ... and that all has been going well for you and beautiful Siami today!:)
 
Hey y'all! Yes all is well! Thank y'all again for your help last night. Siami had a good sleep - I however slept with one eye open- it's almost like having a baby in the house. I do have a question- I started her yesterday on Zobalene. I called the company before I gave it to her to see if it was ok fine to give if she was also on insulin. He said yes but to start her on 2 a day- to saturate her system- what do you think?
 
I started her yesterday on Zobalene. I called the company before I gave it to her to see if it was ok fine to give if she was also on insulin. He said yes but to start her on 2 a day- to saturate her system- what do you think?
Will have to leave this one to one of the folk here @ FDMB who use Zobaline; you might want to do a thread on the Main Forum titled something like "Question about Zobaline dose."
 
Zobaline (B12) is water soluble which means if there is too much, the body just flushes it out. So no need to be concern if you give too much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top