Color coding on spreadsheet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Buddy & Sue

Member Since 2021
Can someone explain to me what the colour coded ranges mean on the SS. I know they are the BG ranges. I just switched from AlphaTrak to a human meter. So what does being in the black, red, pink, yellow, blue, green, bright green actually mean?
 
The colors correspond to certain blood glucose levels. Black is over 500, red is 400-499, pink is 300-399, yellow is 200-299, blue is 100-199, dark green and lime green are the only ones that are different depending on the type of meter.

On the AlphaTrak, dark green is 68-99....anything under 68 is lime green and your "time to act". That's getting too low so you want to get his number up.

On a human meter, dark green is 50-99...anything under 50 is lime green and again, the "time to act" to do something to get the blood glucose back up to a safer place
 
Yes, I understand that. But what is the significance of the other colours? If there is no significance why are there ranges?
 
There's really no intrinsic significance of the color coding. Whoever originally set up the spreadsheet template color coded the ranges. For those of us to always look at a cat's spreadsheet, seeing the colors is a lot easer than looking at each individual number in order to see trends. You'll even read references to a cat being in the greens (or blues, yellows, etc.) which gives us a common language for referring to the numbers. If someone reformats the colors, it really does make it difficult for everyone else since this is our common "language.".
 
Many of our dosing methods are based on whether the nadirs are below or above 100, 200, or 300, so we can see those at a glance with colour coding.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top