Cocoa's BG 90...new start

Status
Not open for further replies.
She's sitting in the front room next to Dad....I tried to give her some treats...no go.But she did drink some more water...
 
I am so sorry that Cocoa isn't feeling well, breaks your heart doesn't it? Keep us posted. If she doesn't eat much today, or can't keep it down, you may want to skip tonight's shot no matter what number you get. I would still try to get in a couple of tests today if you can to see how her levels are doing. If she is still sick tomorrow, I would call the vet.

Kathie
 
She is now laying up next to me...yes, it hurts because they are like toddlers that can only show you that they are sick, they can't tell you where it hurts...I'll do another BG around noon...give her some time to sleep. Thank you so much for answering my posts. You know in your head what to do, but it helps to have another opinion!!! Especially with diabetic kitties...it's all new....
~Patti and Cocoa
 
Yes, I have ketone strips...that's a good idea. I just need to catch her at the right time. She's thrown up 3 more times since last post. I'm wondering if the ham I gave her for her "treat" was bad and is making her sick. Do cats get food poisoning? I'm such a rotten mom!!! Poor baby....she keeps drinking water, so that's good right?
AUGH!!!
 
The ham could've upset her tummy or it could be something else. Monitor her but to be on the safe side, I'd call around so you know what area vets are open today, how late, and where the nearest emergency clinic is - just in case - so you're not searching for this information when time may matter. You can try offering some wet food or some meat-y baby food simply to get her to eat something and see if it will at least stay down.

Good luck! Hope she's feeling better.
 
Thank you I will try baby food meat...my grand daughter is here so that is fortuitous. She is up and walking around a little (Cocoa, not the baby!) but she is still avoiding food. Little water...but hasn't thrown up in over 3 hours...knock on wood!!!
 
Make sure the baby food has NO onions or garlic added. Just meat and broth.

I know it may sound gross, but you may want to put the litter box in the middle of the room you're in, so you can catch her in the box. That's what I do, sometimes, when I really need a pee test to rule out ketones.

You don't want her to go too long without eating.

Have you tried warming up the food to mouse tempurature?
 
Mouse temperature? ok Dyana,that's a new one on me and I've never taken the temp of a mouse so now what??? (only joking, I know what you meant!) She is eating again, but her BG at 6am was 168...I don't understand why for the last two days her BG is so low...compared to what it has been. But she is looking okay. Good idea on the litter box, I did that as soon as I read that...I have the ketone stick ready and now I'll just sit like a vulture...thank you for all the support and ideas!!!!
~Patti and Cocoa bcatrun_gif
 
How is Cocoa acting? Is she still throwing up? And, is she eating her normal amount, now?
If you only have one cat, you can also cover the litter with plastic wrap and push some of it down into small indentations like the size of a man's fist, and when she goes, you can just dip the test strip in the collected pee.
I just a cleaned out Fancy Feast Appetizer container or other small plastic container to put under J.D.'s tail when he's going. I wait until he starts to go, and then put the container under his tail. Other people use soup ladles, but I think those are kind of big. Good luck.

If she's still throwing up or inappetant, then I think she needs a visit to the vet.
 
Re: Cocoa's BG 90...NEW new start

Hi Dyana!
Cocoa is eating FF Classic KITTEN food. I took her ketones and it was negative. Her BG this am was 168 so no shot again...so I think we are out of the woods. YEA!!! Crisis is over !!! (knock on wood) :RAHCAT
~Patti and Cocoa
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top