? Cocoa new Dose 2.0

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cocoa12

Member Since 2018
Hi all my cats blood sugar is still not under control the vet recommended taking him from 1.5 to 2.0 units. He has been on 2.0 units for two days and tonight after his PM shot his blood sugar has been going up. It did the same thing last night.

PMPS 383, +2 473, +4 476.

Is this normal?

Also its been almost two months is it normal for it to be this hard to get the blood sugar under control?
 
Last edited:
Did you only give 1.5U this morning? Or is that a type on your spreadsheet?

Unfortunately, it can be quite normal for it to be several months before you see much in the way of improvement in the numbers.....that being said, how is Cocoa feeling? Our kitties are more than just their numbers, so we have to take that into consideration too.

You actually test often enough that you might want to consider going to Tight Regulation instead of SLGS....that way you can increase the dose as often as every 3 days instead of letting him continue to be in those high numbers for a week at a time.
 
Did you only give 1.5U this morning? Or is that a type on your spreadsheet?

Unfortunately, it can be quite normal for it to be several months before you see much in the way of improvement in the numbers.....that being said, how is Cocoa feeling? Our kitties are more than just their numbers, so we have to take that into consideration too.

You actually test often enough that you might want to consider going to Tight Regulation instead of SLGS....that way you can increase the dose as often as every 3 days instead of letting him continue to be in those high numbers for a week at a time.

Yes I only gave him 1.5 units this morning I totally forgot I upped his does as of the night before. By the time I remembered it was too late.

He seems more tired than usual and is drinking and peeing a good bit. Nothing to out of the ordinary.
 
is drinking and peeing a good bit.

yeah, until you get those numbers down, he's going to drink and pee more.....they drink more water to try to "dilute" the excess glucose out of their bloodstream, which leads to more peeing.

How do you feel about trying TR instead of SLGS? I'd like to see you increasing every 6 cycles at least until you start to get into lower yellows
 
yeah, until you get those numbers down, he's going to drink and pee more.....they drink more water to try to "dilute" the excess glucose out of their bloodstream, which leads to more peeing.

How do you feel about trying TR instead of SLGS? I'd like to see you increasing every 6 cycles at least until you start to get into lower yellows

Yeah I read some stuff on how they drink more to dilute the glucose and flush it out of the body wild stuff.

I would like to do TR but I am worried about doing it since he is alone during the day when I am at work. I fear I might miss a large drop in his blood sugar and something "bad" might happen.
 
On the 24th your SS says you only gave 1/2 units and and BG after shot was lower than you stated dPS and drop for 2 units. When you increase and get a flat curve or even an increase after the shot indicates that the dose (2 units this case) is too high
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top