? Cocoa Blood Sugar fall AMPS 365, +3 198, +3.5 170, +4.0 162, Treat, +4.5 182, +5 197.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cocoa12

Member Since 2018
Ok so this morning I gave my cat 2.0 units and his blood sugar started to drop like a rock so I gave him a few treats to slow it down so he doesn't bounce. The readings are as follows:

AMPS 365, +3 198, +3.5 170, +4.0 162, Treat, +4.5 182, +5 197.

Was this the correct thing to do?

His blood sugar was falling at 1 mg/dL per min there for a bit and that freaked me out.
 
Ok so this morning I gave my cat 2.0 units and his blood sugar started to drop like a rock so I gave him a few treats to slow it down so he doesn't bounce. The readings are as follows:

AMPS 365, +3 198, +3.5 170, +4.0 162, Treat, +4.5 182, +5 197.

Was this the correct thing to do?

His blood sugar was falling at 1 mg/dL per min there for a bit and that freaked me out.
Hiya! Saw fb post, glad you didn't follow vet advice and jump to 3u!:eek: steering is fine, including when it's for your own peace of mind. Just remember the more time Cocoa's in lower numbers, the better, and the more healing opportunity. Also dose changes are not just safer in .25u increments, but allow you to see the proper dose that works for Cocoa (and not skip over it). The earlier in the cycle you steer, the better - later, Cocoa will be rising anyway. You're doing fine!!!:bighug:
dont-be-nervous-you-got-this.jpg
 
Hiya! Saw fb post, glad you didn't follow vet advice and jump to 3u!:eek: steering is fine, including when it's for your own peace of mind. Just remember the more time Cocoa's in lower numbers, the better, and the more healing opportunity. Also dose changes are not just safer in .25u increments, but allow you to see the proper dose that works for Cocoa (and not skip over it). The earlier in the cycle you steer, the better - later, Cocoa will be rising anyway. You're doing fine!!!:bighug:
View attachment 34559

I love the picture lol!

Thank you very much for the advice I am still trying to get the hang of this and keep my cat safe. I want him in the lower numbers for sure I just don't want him dropping like a rock! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top