Cocoa's not used to those pretty blues of last night. Hold the dose at least a couple more cycles. That means stay at 1.25 units for now.
Lowering the dose is the wrong thing. There is a myth about there about Symogyi for some reason, and it says you lower the dose in response. There was a study done by someone called Symogyi years ago, on just a few humans and with fast acting insulin. Someone started teh myth based on that study and said it is the same for cats on long lasting insulin. Not true. Here is a link to a research paper than debunks it, especially for kitties on Lantus that have had their dose carefully increased, as you have been doing. What we call bounces here is a different mechanism, and is a temporary rise in numbers (up to 6 cycles) that is s response to lower numbers than they are used to, or fast drops in blood sugar.
To answer your question in your post from yesterday, (link included here for continuity http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-1-cocoa-amps-443-382-pmps-398-2-300-4-169-5-166-worried.190564/#post-2124203 ) we figure out how to dose Lantus by how low it takes the cat. Right now this 1.25 unit dose is taking him to the mod blues. A cat earns a dose reduction (which means taking the dose down 0.25 units), if they go below a reduction number. With SLGS that number is 90 and with TR that number is 50 on a human meter ad 68 on the AT.
Cocoa's not used to those pretty blues of last night. Hold the dose at least a couple more cycles. That means stay at 1.25 units for now.
Lowering the dose is the wrong thing. There is a myth about there about Symogyi for some reason, and it says you lower the dose in response. There was a study done by someone called Symogyi years ago, on just a few humans and with fast acting insulin. Someone started teh myth based on that study and said it is the same for cats on long lasting insulin. Not true. Here is a link to a research paper than debunks it, especially for kitties on Lantus that have had their dose carefully increased, as you have been doing. What we call bounces here is a different mechanism, and is a temporary rise in numbers (up to 6 cycles) that is s response to lower numbers than they are used to, or fast drops in blood sugar.
To answer your question in your post from yesterday, (link included here for continuity http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-1-cocoa-amps-443-382-pmps-398-2-300-4-169-5-166-worried.190564/#post-2124203 ) we figure out how to dose Lantus by how low it takes the cat. Right now this 1.25 unit dose is taking him to the mod blues. A cat earns a dose reduction (which means taking the dose down 0.25 units), if they go below a reduction number. With SLGS that number is 90 and with TR that number is 50 on a human meter ad 68 on the AT.
12hrsVery interesting paper. Is a cycle 12 or 24 hours?
12hrs