Coco AMPS 14.1 +8 13.3 PMPS 13.7 Flat Numbers

RhondaL.

Member Since 2019
First time poster. Coco was diagnosed in late June, 2019. After a reset to 1 unit of Lantus from an original vet prescribed dose of 2 units, I gradually raised her dose and she had good results at 1.50 units. When she started having low numbers at night, and a concerning drop at +2, I reset her again to 1 unit and again started a .25 unit gradual increase. Since then, her numbers have continued to rise with each dose increase, and she has little to no dip during mid cycle. She is now up to 2.50 units with no improvement. Could this be a case of too much insulin looking like not enough'?
 
Hi Rhonda. Can you copy and paste your question in the Lantus forum? You may get more eyes on it there. For the title, use the little arrows so you can put the ? icon in front and that will draw people's attention to your question.

I can't give dosing advise but Freckles has been flat yellows for a very long time. Many members kept encouraging me that Freckles just hadn't found the dose that she needed yet. We are getting closer, but not there yet.

If you are feeding kibble, (I'm not sure what the Purina Pro Plan is), the kibble may be keeping Coco higher too. You've been at 2.5 u for a very long time, so I'll be interested what experienced members suggest.

BTW Coco is gorgeous!!
 
Hello and welcome.

A few observations. First, your spreadsheet is missing the US tab. Probably the majority of people here are from the US, and will need to see those numbers before they can offer dosing suggestions. I suspect you got your spreadsheet template from somewhere else? It doesn't look exactly like ours.

Next, as Judy mentioned, you have been holding the doses quite long. With SLGS, you evaluate the dose every week. If nadirs (plural) are between 90 and 149, you hold the dose. You haven't seen anything under 150 for over a week. Also, I don't know why you are skinnying and fattening the dose. That technique is only good for when you are fine tuning a dose that is already pretty good, which is not where Coco is now. I would stick with 0.25 unit changes for now. By not going up the full 0.25 units, Coco is lingering longer in higher numbers, allowing glucose toxicity to set in. The names sounds worse than it is. Basically her body gets used to higher numbers and you need to increase to get over it.

Looking back, you should have held the 2.75 unit dose for a week, then increased if numbers weren't good enough. A cat needs however much insulin they need. Don't worry about the dose size. Keep following the SLGS guidelines and you will get there. It's not uncommon for a cat to go up then down, then up, then down in dose.
 
Welcome!!! I’m going to add to Wendy’s suggestions that you will need to have the SS that we use here. The one you are using was actually pirated from us from a FB group and the info regarding normal numbers relating to the AT and also hypos is incorrect. In addition, for many of us, when opening those SS from a phone or tablet, they shut down. If they shut down, we can’t see the BGs to help you.

Here is our post on making a spreadsheet for FDMB although I always offer to all the members from the FB group coming here to make our SS for them and transfer all their data from their current SS. I’m happy to do that for you as well and I will send you a private message so please check your inbox :)

Finally, here is an excellent post to help you get started in our forum. Again, welcome, and let us know your questions.
 
Welcome to the LB&L Forum! I took a look at your SS and was so glad to see the above posters have mentioned that it's not the correct one. I hope you'll get it updated soon...it was challenging for me...but it does look like you're holding the dose too long (as per Wendy's comment above).

It looks to me like she needs more insulin - there really isn't a 'too much insulin looking like too much' thing...not enough insulin looks like those higher numbers...we keep going up until kitty starts to display a response in the form of lower numbers - by .25 increments.

Looking forward to seeing your revised SS soon :)
 
Back
Top