Coco - 8/20 - AMBG - 105 (NS); +.5 - 101; +3.5 - 111/130; +9 - 267

Michele and Coco Chanel

Member Since 2021
This morning Coco's AMBG was 105, a number she has never come close to. I tested myself and actually had the exact same number. I figured what are the odds. It has to be a meter malfunction. I tried testing my other cat. After 4 pokes, no blood, and a total meltdown by my cat, I let her go.

I didn't have a back-up meter (now I have two) so I had to go to WalMart. They didn't have the Relion Prime I've been using, so I got the Relion Premium.

At +3.5, I took a reading with both meters. The Prime was 111 and the Premium was 130. That's a potentially huge difference and scared me!

As of +9, the reading is 267/273, so the two meters are very close. If I use both meters every time I test, I'll go crazy. I'm already going crazy.

I've reread the sticky for SLGS many times, which is why I didn't give a shot since she was below 150. I've seen about reducing the dose partially and giving another shot later, but I still would not be sure what to do with the PM reading in terms of how much of a shot to give.

For today, the number at +3.5 was still too low for a shot. What is the sort of cut-off for when you would give an additional reduced dose after an initial reduced dose? Does that make sense, or am I misunderstanding?

Let's say the beginning number was 200, and I gave a reduced dose of 1/2. Then 3 hours later, it's at 350. Would I give the other 1/2 of the dose? But then wouldn't that throw off the night shot?

Since this is all relatively new and I don't know my cat, should I just stick with the every 12 hours regardless; if necessary give a reduced dose at the regular time and just wait until the 12 hours for the next shot?

I have totally confused myself. I'm really sorry. Like many of you, I'm dealing with so much right now beyond my cat, and my brain is mush. I just don't want to do something that's going to hurt my cat.

Previous thread, https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-16-coco-12-hour-bg-curve-dosing.251588/

Thank you
 
Meters are allowed to be off by 20% so your original numbers were within meter variance. We have all (or most of us) gone through the same experience. Pick one meter and use it. Keep the other as backup. The only time to test with both us if a test seems like way off and doesn’t fit with the rest of the cycle.

Why did you increase to 1.5? Actually why did you even increase to 1.25? You should have held 1.0 because nadirs are between 90-149. You aren’t following SLGS as written. Not even TR which is more aggressive has you increase after just one dose.
 
Meters are allowed to be off by 20% so your original numbers were within meter variance. We have all (or most of us) gone through the same experience. Pick one meter and use it. Keep the other as backup. The only time to test with both us if a test seems like way off and doesn’t fit with the rest of the cycle.

Why did you increase to 1.5? Actually why did you even increase to 1.25? You should have held 1.0 because nadirs are between 90-149. You aren’t following SLGS as written. Not even TR which is more aggressive has you increase after just one dose.

There was a recommendation on the previous thread to go to 1.25. I tried to gauge the best I could with the markings. A link to calipers was given, and that's just beyond me right now. The .25 seemed like there was no way to measure consistency. My vet wanted me to start at 2 units 2x a day. I started at 1 2x day, much lower.

We've been dealing with whether or not my 87-year-old mom is going into the hospital. If I could find somebody to do Coco's shots when I can't be here, I figured .5 increase was reasonable and would be easier for that person and still below what my vet recommended. I'm just doing the best I can here. :-(

I'll go down to 1 unit. Thank you for your help
 
Last edited:
Sorry you have a lot going on :bighug: Hang in there :bighug:Just wanted to chime in on these two things -
Would I give the other 1/2 of the dose? But then wouldn't that throw off the night shot?
No you wouldn't. Lantus is dosed 12 hours apart and is not used to shoot down numbers in between (there are other shorter-acting insulins that can be used but I personally have zero experience with them). So if you give a token dose, you won't shoot again until 12 hours later.

should I just stick with the every 12 hours regardless; if necessary give a reduced dose at the regular time and just wait until the 12 hours for the next shot?
Yes, this! If you ever need to move your shot time for some reason (life! delays! etc.), you should check out this post - Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule

And on SLGS, with data and experience, you can shoot anything 90 and higher. One thing to note about token doses is that often the first part of the cycle is influenced by the depot.

Hope that helps a little bit :cat:
 
Sorry about your mom. My mom was in and out of the hospital when Max was diagnosed and while he was with me several times. I was the only one that could test, feed, and shoot. It’s very stressful. One time I forgot where I had parked my car after being g at the hospital all night and reported it stolen. I found it with the help of friends on a street over. Better to give too little than too much insulin right now. :bighug:
 
Sorry you have a lot going on :bighug: Hang in there :bighug:Just wanted to chime in on these two things -
No you wouldn't. Lantus is dosed 12 hours apart and is not used to shoot down numbers in between (there are other shorter-acting insulins that can be used but I personally have zero experience with them). So if you give a token dose, you won't shoot again until 12 hours later.


Yes, this! If you ever need to move your shot time for some reason (life! delays! etc.), you should check out this post - Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule

And on SLGS, with data and experience, you can shoot anything 90 and higher. One thing to note about token doses is that often the first part of the cycle is influenced by the depot.

Hope that helps a little bit :cat:

Thank you for this. I've done so much reading, I can't remember it all or where I saw it to go back and find it. Hopefully I'll get better in searching for what I need rather than having to post all the time. Thank you for the Getting back on a 12/12 link. I appreciate it!!
 
Sorry about your mom. My mom was in and out of the hospital when Max was diagnosed and while he was with me several times. I was the only one that could test, feed, and shoot. It’s very stressful. One time I forgot where I had parked my car after being g at the hospital all night and reported it stolen. I found it with the help of friends on a street over. Better to give too little than too much insulin right now. :bighug:

Wow. Now that's a bummer about your car. Yeah, I kinda feel like if my head wasn't attached, I'd be looking for it. Thanks for the support!
 
Back
Top