Clyde pmps 335 on Lantus 1unit x2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Richie & Clyde

Member Since 2011
Checked Clydes BG PMPS,was 335. Going to try for a couple more PM tests. I'll see how he fares. He has a Vet visit tomorrow morning 10:30am. Will bring my spread sheet w/me. I'm sure he will not be happy I did not follow his prescripe of 2 units. Oh well, I have a whole message board behind me, right guys?
 
Re: Clyde pmps +4 305, day 2 1/2 on Lantus 1unit

Just as an FYI, we open one condo (aka thread) per cat per day.

You can change the subject line on your AM condo by going to your first post and clicking on the "edit" button at the top right side of the text box. Edit your subject line and then click on "submit."

Lantus Land is big so we keep it to one condo. We also link our condos from the previous day in the current thread. That way, if we need to go back to track down information, it's easy to do so.

Did you get a PMPS test?
 
Re: Clyde pmps +4 305, day 2 1/2 on Lantus 1unit

I have a question, will you be home during the day at all this weekend? I'd like to see some more mid-cycle tests. If Clyde is staying high and flat, then we should consider increasing his dose soon. We want to bring those numbers down as quickly as we can safely do so.
 
Re: Clyde pmps +4 305, day 2 1/2 on Lantus 1unit

Hi Richie & Clyde,

Welcome to Lantus Land (LL)!! I know that testing is a struggle at first, but it does get easier.

When I first started testing Casey, there were times that it took 2 people to test her. Now she usually comes over to get tested when I call her or shake the bottle of test strips; when she is real hungry she comes to get me to test her. :lol: She still does the "ear dance" when I go to prike her ear, but purrs through out the process. :-D
 
Re: Clyde pmps +4 305, day 2 1/2 on Lantus 1unit

Great suggestion that Libby gave you. Good luck with the increase! That PMPS +4 is a good #, though. :-D Remember, it does take time for you kitty to get used to the insulin, and he'll respond in his own way. He may bounce from the increases, so be prepared for them, but go along with it. They'll settle down in about a day or 2.

What food are you feeding him?
 
Re: Clyde pmps +4 305, day 2 1/2 on Lantus 1unit

I was thinking that if you can get some daytime tests tomorrow, then I would like to see those before increasing. If you can't, then I would hold the dose and maybe increase either tomorrow evening or Saturday, whenever you can monitor.
 
Re: Clyde pmps +4 305, day 2 1/2 on Lantus 1unit

First & foremost, sorry if I'm over posting, like the home testing, I'm learning something new every day. Libby, I'm am home all weekend & I'm was going to try & get his daytime numbers. He has an appointment w/ the vet at 10:30am Saturday[which would put him at +6 amps]. What times should I test him? This is going to be a challenge, but I know it has to be done. Oh, by the way, Clyde & his brother Casper, & sister Cleopatra, all are on a wet diet[Friskies classic patte, or Fancy Feast classic]. It's been about 3 months now that their diet has changed. They used to eat Purina pro plan dry only. Since I read Dr.Piersons article on dry food, that's when I made the switch. Clyde & Casper where 20+ lbs, they've since lost weigh[2lbs] & are looking great. My friends have definitely noticed the difference. Cleo has always been a tiny little princess, but she is the more active one of the bunch.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top