Yes. Down to 3.5 u tonight.Last thread was a few short time tests to make sure he's ok.
I just got his additional hour and it's 88 so it's coming back up now. I think that's good for the time being?
Will do. Thanks as always.Yes. Down to 3.5 u tonight.
Dangit, I know he got into the kibble. i'm expecting a high number. Still stick to 3.5?Yes. Down to 3.5 u tonight.
Yes. I'm basing that on the low greens today. Ignore the kibble factor even though your PMPS might be elevated.Dangit, I know he got into the kibble. i'm expecting a high number. Still stick to 3.5?
Also i'm going to get some +4 and more tonight. i forgot to put in his PMPS but it was high. 354 but again, I know he snuck in.Yes. I'm basing that on the low greens today. Ignore the kibble factor even though your PMPS might be elevated.
If your cat insists on kibble please switch to young again zero. Www.youngagainpetfood.com. Ask them for a free sample. Also only keep temptations in case of hypo.... It's like feeding a diabetic person marshmallows.Also i'm going to get some +4 and more tonight. i forgot to put in his PMPS but it was high. 354 but again, I know he snuck in.
Previously I put the kibble up 2hrs prior just to be sure. then forgot to put it backbut I'm going to have to start doing it every time.
no temptations today though! milestone reached
i can safely say every time it's been high he either had temptations, or snuck into the Hills food (kibble).If that pink PS is influenced by kibble I suggest you note it on your SS. We're trying to find out if 3.5 u is a good dose and if the PSs without kibble come up pink too often it might not be.
Yes - enormous strides in a short time!i can safely say every time it's been high he either had temptations, or snuck into the Hills food (kibble).
After watching him so closely I am confident if I can keep him off those two items he'd be right in line. Actually I think he could rest at 3.25 or even 3.
But it's baby steps for me. We've already come a really long way in a month, so while I still have a ways to go, i'm actually pleased with the progress.
heck just the fact I can test him. in 30 days i've gotten upwards of 70 tests. Now we've even got him leveling off, and it's going to be close to the same number we started at 6 years ago!
The last step is these dang sneaks and the treats. but i'll get there
I'm gving him a break today a little because I've been reall testing him the last couple days but i'll get one at around +6 today
also the reason I didn't note it was because I didn't see it. I'm just guessing. but it makes sense.
sorry, meant to reply to you.If your cat insists on kibble please switch to young again zero. Www.youngagainpetfood.com. Ask them for a free sample. Also only keep temptations in case of hypo.... It's like feeding a diabetic person marshmallows.
that's what I figured. It's not a problem. Unless he's down in the mid-greens when I do a +4, +5 or +6 i'll likely just test him once mid cycle so he can relax and his little poke holes can healNice mid cycle number! As you've seen response to a pretty good dose can be somewhat variable - greens one day, blues on another day. You might have to spend a day or two longer at a dose as you tinker with it.
I have to tell you, i'm starting to think maybe he wasn't stealing kibble. Remember I said am assuming, I dind't see him? Well this is pretty consistent. and he slept on my legs last night so i know he wasn't up and moving around the last 6 hoursAny kibble associated with those pink pre shots? Not criticizing, just trying to assess dose. If no kibble it's possible the 3.5 u is a little too low.
We’ll keep an eye on the numbers. Go with 3.5 u today.I have to tell you, i'm starting to think maybe he wasn't stealing kibble. Remember I said am assuming, I dind't see him? Well this is pretty consistent. and he slept on my legs last night so i know he wasn't up and moving around the last 6 hours
yeah thats what i did.We’ll keep an eye on the numbers. Go with 3.5 u today.
What I figured I'd do is just stay the course unless I see you mention changes. I have a feeling we're just about where we need to be. those blues looked good to me today. i wanted to get a later test today just to mix it up and I was pleased at the resultMy thoughts:
- those blues today are just about ideal for Vetsulin - low enough but still a little cushion at nadir
- the AMPS was almost yellow so not really that bad
- it's worth keeping the 3.5 u for a day or two more OR you can try what we'd call a "fat" 3.5 u by drawing up insulin so it's almost at the 3.5 u mark but a hair short of it on the plus side.
That's why I suggested staying at 3.5 u for now. It should show if pink PSs are the new normal. You can also try the fat 3.5 u as an experiment. Your choice. He's doing well though.What I figured I'd do is just stay the course unless I see you mention changes. I have a feeling we're just about where we need to be. those blues looked good to me today. i wanted to get a later test today just to mix it up and I was pleased at the result
I'm still a bit confused about the AMPS/PMPS highs lately. just doesn't make sense, but i believe I can order the low carb good now.
Welp I guess I was wrong, I come asking for recommendations.That's why I suggested staying at 3.5 u for now. It should show if pink PSs are the new normal. You can also try the fat 3.5 u as an experiment. Your choice. He's doing well though.
Why not give him a lower dose, say, 2 u instead of throwing your schedule way off. Test again at +2.To add: his +1 is 201. I have not dosed him yet.
If I don't see a reply from anyone, I'll likely just keep checking him, and once he gets to 250 I'll give him the normal 3.5
Based on what i'm seeing if I could this monster out of the kibble he'd be great at 3.5
That makes sense. OK will do. he's already just a smidge over 200 now. so i'll do 2.Why not give him a lower dose, say, 2 u instead of throwing your schedule way off. Test again at +2.
Well, I knew it would make a difference, but I really didn't think it would be quite that drastic!The food effect is huge, isn’t it?
I just ate a huge dinnerYou should weigh him as you work on the feeding/dosing project.
ok +2 = 240Why not give him a lower dose, say, 2 u instead of throwing your schedule way off. Test again at +2.
Well, that was a really nice PS given the smaller dose last night. It'll be interesting to see if he gives you a low PMPS today. If so, a dose reduction might be in the cards.
You must be really surprised at how well he's doing.Man you're fast. lol I was just coming here to post that
Based on the past readings I wouldn't be surprised to see green numbers during the day

honestly, no i'm not. you've been working with me over a month now. who wouldn't have control by now with that much help? that's why i'm so thankfulYou must be really surprised at how well he's doing.![]()
I really like seeing kitties and owners make progress - very satisfying. I was thinking more of how confused and worried you were when you came back here a month ago after all those scary seizure episodes, etc.honestly, no i'm not. you've been working with me over a month now. who wouldn't have control by now with that much help? that's why i'm so thankful
no doubt. It still leaves a huge question mark as to why they were happening. but whatever the case i think he's in good shape now. problem is, that means he had 6 years uncontrolled diabetes. I thought I was taking care of him. he's 10 now. so he probably doesn't have that much time left don't you think?I really like seeing kitties and owners make progress - very satisfying. I was thinking more of how confused and worried you were when you came back here a month ago after all those scary seizure episodes, etc.
No predicting any of that so don't dwell on it. You're getting his BG under better control and his weight WILL come down slowly if he eats low carb (preferably wet) food. A senior cat blood panel when you can afford it is a good idea, along with a good dental assessment. It's like older cars - good maintenance = good longevity.no doubt. It still leaves a huge question mark as to why they were happening. but whatever the case i think he's in good shape now. problem is, that means he had 6 years uncontrolled diabetes. I thought I was taking care of him. he's 10 now. so he probably doesn't have that much time left don't you think?
Not being pessimistic, just thinkin in reality
i'll feel better when he starts losing weight. Some dropped off right away but i've been withdrawing the temptations slowly anyway. I ramped it up recently.No predicting any of that so don't dwell on it. You're getting his BG under better control and his weight WILL come down slowly if he eats low carb (preferably wet) food. A senior cat blood panel when you can afford it is a good idea, along with a good dental assessment. It's like older cars - good maintenance = good longevity.
Safest weight loss for kitties is a very slow loss. Think a year, not weeks or even months. You don't have to impose severe food restriction if the food is low carb.i'll feel better when he starts losing weight. Some dropped off right away but i've been withdrawing the temptations slowly anyway. I ramped it up recently.
I'm really not dwelling on it. I just have to face facts. I have 3 cats, all are 10 years old. so it's going to come. Then again i'm caring for my mother who is 75, all my aunts and uncles are over 72 so the next 20 years are going to be pretty bummy.
I just enjoy the time I do have. not much else to do
right. but I think more than anything it's wilbur's volume. he begs for food every hour. if I could replace everything he's snacking on with the low carb stuff I bet his sugar and weight would fall right in lineSafest weight loss for kitties is a very slow loss. Think a year, not weeks or even months. You don't have to impose severe food restriction if the food is low carb.
that's bizarre. i gave him 3.5 i must have written it wrong.I see you're experimenting with a 3 u dose.
Yes.that's bizarre. i gave him 3.5 i must have written it wrong.
isn't that supposed to be what i'm at? 3.5
He's at 228 PMPS should I give him the full 3.5?Yes.
Yes.
Easiest thing is to skip the dose and give him his next shot at the usual time. We all mess up from time to time. Think of it as a fur shot ...Great. I fell asleep and didn't wake up until what should have been +4. I checked his blood and it wsa 270. I hadn't given him his PM shot, i did the test, he was at 228.
How should I handle this? i would like to move him back to the previous schedule but I'm not sure how to do it. This change would mean his shots would be at noon and midnight and that would create chaos.
How should I handle his morning shot?
Can't believe this, in 6 years of treatment I never missed a dose.
OK. so since I gave him his shot at midnight, I should just skip his 8am shot then give it to him at 8pm? even if his sugar gets really high?Easiest thing is to skip the dose and give him his next shot at the usual time. We all mess up from time to time. Think of it as a fur shot ...![]()
Yes. A spike to a high number this one time won't hurt him. Have you done any urine ketone testing on him? I don't recall if that's been discussed.OK. so since I gave him his shot at midnight, I should just skip his 8am shot then give it to him at 8pm? even if his sugar gets really high?
and I can't believe I missed it. i'm very diligent about that stuff