Cinco Ophthalmologist Visit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
Condo from earlier today

Well, I got some answers, and none of them are good. Cinco is blind, "likely permanently". He has severe glaucoma (the pressure in is eyes is more than twice the high end of the normal pressure). Both eyes are very inflamed, and he has the beginnings of cataracts. The OV believe the optic nerves are irreparably damaged. He tested him for toxoplasma and bartonella, thinking one of these is likely what caused the inflamation, and the diabetes allowed whichever to flourish. It will take at least a week, probably longer to get results, as the tests go out of state (one to CO and one to NJ), and weather is probably an issue. Meanwhile, we have drops to try to reduce the inflammation and the pressure. We go back for a recheck on the 14th. If we can't get the pressure and inflammation reduced, he may have to remove the eyes. He said Cinco is not in pain, but he is probably uncomfortable, as the pressure is so high. My head is still reeling with everything he said. Luckily he gave me a very detailed printout of all his conclusions, etc., so I don't have to do this from memory. Needless to say, I'm devastated. I feel horrible that I didn't press harder for the vet to check his eyes sooner, although apparently all this isn't really visible without dilating the eyes and doing the pressure reading.

I have to close now, as tonight is bowling and we need to get kitties fed, Cinco tested, injected and eye dropped. I'll be back on later tonight when we get home. Hoping everyone else had a better day!
 
Tricia --

I'm so sorry. While the news is far from what you wanted, thee are so many kitties that have lost their vision and do so incredibly well. There is a Facebook page for one such kitty -- Pretzel, who was born with some major deformities which resulted in the amputation of a hind leg and was born blind. There's no way you would ever know she was blind. There have been other members whose cats lost their vision or had to have an eye removed and they have done remarkably well. (Just don't move the furniture!)

I'm also going to see if I can track down Hillary. Maui went blind later in life and Hillary may be able to offer some good information.
 
I'm sorry for the news...but remember how resilient kitties are! Cinco is still the same sweetie he was before you knew this. Prayers that the drops help him be more comfortable!
 
(((Tricia)))

So sorry to hear bad news, but at least you know what's going on now. Don't blame yourself..None of us can know everything or know what we should be pressuring the doctors for in advance. I'm sure if you could have somehow known in advance, you would have gotten Cinco in sooner.

Cats are remarkable creatures that do wonderfully even without sight. Cinco has already memorized where everything is, and has been doing OK at home even though you didn't know he was blind at the time. Knowing he's blind now just means you don't rearrange things since he knows where everything is right now.

Sending lots of prayers for Cinco's eyes to heal as much as possible with the current treatment so no surgery is needed
 
((((Tricia)))))
I'm sorry for the ugly news. Prayers for you while you sort it out in your head.
Cinco will still love you and adapt... as kitties do. There are many amazing stories out there.
I hope the treatment helps and he doesn't have to go thru surgery.
 
i'm sorry also - no one wants to hear that. i know punkin's vision was compromised from the acro tumor pressing on his optic nerves, although he could see some. the vet who talked to me about it reminded me that cats don't need to read the newspaper - and that actually helped me quite a bit to feel better. Cinco will get along fine - and you should not feel guilty for one second. who would ever have thought to check further.

In fact, Cinco is so lucky to have you. Too many other beans would've gone with euthanasia with the diabetes diagnosis. Instead he has had a lot of extra good time with you and he's already adjusted to having lost his sight.

:YMHUG:
 
Hi Tricia,

I was alerted to your post and wanted to see if I could help you in any way. Maui went blind from a degenerative disease called PRA - Progressive Retinal Atrophy - while this is not the same issues you are facing with Cinco, the end result is the same, blindness.

Cats are really amazing as how easily they adapt. Maui's progression to blindness was gradual according to the ophthalmologist, so she learned to adapt to sight loss over time and by the time I realized something was wrong and took her in, the vet approximated that she was blind for a good 6 months to a year at least. It was I that needed to get used to the idea and adapt.

I used to joke that I couldn't move the furniture or put things on the floor cause she would walk into it and get hurt. Honestly, she did bump into things - mostly walls, I swear she counted her steps and knew exactly where to turn to get into the bathroom, where her food was, bed, etc.

In order to help her, I talked more, so she would know where I was and get her perception. The only accommodation I needed to make was when I saw that she started to have trouble calculating the height of the bed and would jump and miss.

I got her steps so she no longer had to jump and miss. When I set the steps up, I placed them next to a part of the bed that I wouldn't trip over them. I then taught her that the steps were there and how to use them. I did this by putting her on floor in front of the steps, and taking her paws and literally walking her up the steps to the bed. Once on the bed, I walked her down the steps. I only had to do this a few times, until she learned.

I did notice that when she was in bed and wanted to get down, she sometimes went to the wrong side and she was putting her paw out feeling for the step. I would again use verbal commands telling her to move around and I would tap the steps with my hand, hairbrush or tv clicker that was on the bed and keep tapping and talking until she found them.

Maui also loved to sit in her chair outside in the summer. Again being blind, I was concerned about this and thought maybe it best to not let her go out (just for reference - I learned to trust Maui on the porch that she would not go off it or run away or anything like that). When summer came she wanted to go out as usual, and walked outside and would have kept going, had I not stopped her.

Again, I taught her how far it was from the door to her chair and put her paws on the chair seat so she could feel it, judge the height and jump into it. SHe quickly learned and would walk out on the porch count her steps (Yes I swear she was counting) put her paw up to feel the towel and chair edge and jump up on it. When she wanted to go in, she knew the correct direction and what I thought was really cute was she would sometimes miscount and her front paws would be feeling the air for the step into the house.

I did make sure that I kept the food station in the same place she remembered to make it easier for her to continue to find. Of course she was Maui The Magnificent and did get served her meals in bed - only because she demanded it and I was her humble servant.

What else can I share with? what questions do you have? If you would like to talk further, please let me know, I'm here and happy to help you cope with your new normal.
 
(((Tricia)))

I'm so very sorry to hear of this news. I also have heard of and seen many cats who were blind for one reason or another and adapted very, very well. The biggest thing is that Cinco has you and I know you will do all you can for him. I know that doesn't make it any easier if he wants to hide in his little hidey spot but maybe when they are able to alleviate his discomfort from the pressure, he will start moving around more.

Sending many prayers his way.
 
Tricia,
I also had a blind kitty, Winkie. He was blind from birth, which I suppose was fortunate in a way, because he never knew anything different. Blind was normal for him. But he lived a long and happy life, and other than occasionally running into things, you wouldn't have known he was blind. And he was the only kitty I've ever had that could snatch a fly out of mid-air....it was like he had radar.:-) When Bob and Lilly were kittens, he was their playmate and mentor. And he ran around the house just as well and as fast as they did.
In Bob's tribute video, there's a pic of Bob and Lilly as kittens, laying on my back. The kitty who is "grooming Dad" in the pic is Winkie.

I'd be happy to share anything that you might find helpful.

Carl
 
Thank you, everyone for the kind words. You really are the best support group anyone could ask for. Yes, I do feel guilt, and I probably will for a while. My head tells me that I've done the best I could, but my heart hurts. It's really more about how much this poor kitty has been through in his short life. He is really the sweetest cat, and does not deserve such tribulations. The OV even commented on what a good, cooperative cat he was (all the vets I've taken him to have said the same thing). The thing that worries me the most is Harvey, my male Abyssinian. He is very aggressive and keeps Cinco pretty much confined to one room. Even then, if they cross paths, Harvey may hiss and even take a swipe at him. Cinco learned quickly to avoid him, but now he can't see him coming and I've seen Harvey surprise him once already. I don't think Harvey would ever really seriously injure him, but I just hate to see Cinco live in fear of what's out there. I am the type of person who dwells on stuff like that. Silly, I know. If I see a kitty trying to cross the road, I worry for the next 20 minutes about whether he made it safely or not! I think I have a little OCD.

Anyway, now we're going to focus on getting that pressure relieved and the inflammation down. The OV was surprised that I have never seen Cinco rub at this eyes. I was rubbing Cinco's head a little bit ago, and he turned his head until my fingers were rubbing his closed eyes. It was obvious that this felt good to him. So I guess he is uncomfortable, and I want to at least get that taken care of! The OV said once the discomfort was relieved he would probably stop hiding all the time and be more active. That would be great.

All the upheaval he went through today showed in his PMPS - 352! However, when we got home from bowling and I tested him at +5.5, he was down to 170. Hopefully, once the pressure and inflammation are gone, his numbers will be lower all the time. I'm sure that's been one of the reasons he's been going up lately.

I, too, have seen blind cats before. My cousin had a kitten that had been blind since birth, and it was amazing to see her run around and play. She had no fear and would run and leap on the furniture, and she always was able to find her toys when she tossed them. It was amazing. Of course, she had never known any other way. I've watched Cinco move around, and he's so funny - he takes the same wrong turn every time he goes from the kitchen to the living room! He goes past the living room in the entry hall, all the way to the front door, then turns around and walks back, turning right into the living room! I guess I should be glad he's getting that little bit of extra exercise.

Sienne, thank you for contacting Hillary, and Hillary, thank you for your insight. I may ask you questions as we go along, if I'm not sure about something. I've already been doing some of the things you suggest, like talking to Cinco when I'm in the room, so he knows I'm there and where I am. When I see him looking for his feeder after he hears it turn, I'll tap on it to help him find it. Since Cinco was an outdoor cat for so long, he loves to sniff the outside air, so after his dinner in the evening I noisily open the blinds and the sliding door and call him, so he knows he can come sit and sniff. Fortunately, he only stays a few minutes, as it's a little chilly out there!

Again, I thank each of you from the bottom of my heart. Please keep sending those prayers and healing vines - the vet said it was likely that the blindness was permanent, not definite, so there' always that little sliver of hope!

Hugs to all of you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
I wanted to add a thought about Harvey.
I have experience with the other pets picking on the frailest one in the household. It's the natural thing to do but you don't have to follow those rules if you don't want to.

You can help Cinco by scolding Harvey for being aggressive. Just the words no and bad help and rewarding the nice behaviours with treats can make a difference.
Most of us don't think of butting in for who's dominant, we tend to let them establish their own pecking order.
But I have with Shadow and with previous pets.
We added two young puppies to our household and of course they wanted to play with Shadow and run roughshot over her. We taught them to give her room when she walks
in and made her the alpha. :smile:
 
Cinco is a very lucky kitty to have you for his bean. No matter what you and Cinco will do just fine. I'll be praying for "the sliver of hope". You are def in good hands here. :YMHUG:
 
I'm sorry the report wasn't better :sad: Cinco is lucky, to have such a wonderful bean! :-D I hope the eye drops really help, and that they are very wrong about the "likely" part! You have LL behind you, with all their knowledge and support. Cats are very resiliant, and Cinco is smart :-D Sending many, many hugs to you, and to Cinco, Tricia. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Tricia --

I may help to remember that with cats, sight is not always their primary form of sensory input. They rely on smell and their hearing, as well. If you concentrate on helping to "remind" Cinco to use the senses that are operating well, he will adjust more quickly.

As for Harvey, I agree with Rhiannon. Reward good behavior -- a lot. People tend to think that it's only dogs that respond to rewards. That's not true. If you look at how well most of our kitties have adjusted to getting ear pokes and shots because we give them a positive reward (e.g., food, attention, treats), they will do things that would amaze most people who are a bit clueless about cats. One of our members was having difficulty with one of her cats being very aggressive at meal times. She was able to train the civvie to prevent the aggressive behaviors. The hard part is to not punish the "bad" behaviors. Punishment is rarely effective over the long haul. Positive reinforcement works far better. Use food or something Harvey really likes when he behaves appropriately. At times that he is being aggressive, distract him with a toy.
 
Hi guys .. I'm so sorry to hear about Cinco's eye sight .. I can totally relate to worry about the little things like you mentioned, I'm the same way! ((hugs)) I think that Cinco is in the best home ever!
 
Thank you, Rhiannon and Sienne for the suggestions. Actually, I've been doing those things with Harvey all along. Years ago, we took him to the animal psychologist at UC Davis. They told me a lot of those things, and more. If I catch him in the act, I call his name sharply, and that usually stops him in his tracks. When I see a situation developing, I make sure to give Harvey lots of attention, so he'll associate being around Cinco and NOT acting out with love and affection. When I see him do the right thing, he gets lots of praise and scritches. I think this is why his attacks have lessened and occur less frequently, but they do still happen. I've had to do the same with Harvey and Minka, who was once so intimidated by him that she peed every time he went after her (that was why we took him to UCD). When they are all in the same vicinity, except at mealtime, I try to give them all treats so they associate each other with that. He also wears one of those calming collars, and I have a diffuser placed strategically in the area he most frequents. All these things have helped, but not eliminated the problem. He's actually a very sweet, loving cat - he just doesn't like other cats. It think it's an Abyssinian thing, because my female hisses at all the other cats, too grr_red - she just doesn't attack them. I'll keep at it, though! cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top