Cinco AMPS 243 +3.5 222 Dosecrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111009 ( I don't know how to attach it any other way and welcome instruction!)

12/31 Recap:
.75s units 2x a day
AMPS: 235
AM+3: 173
AM+6: 139
PMPS: 260
PM+ 7.5: 194

Cinco seems to have taken a dislike to green. I thought at first his higher numbers were due to the upheaval of our being gone for a week, and his being boarded for a couple of days, but things have been back to normal for three days now and he's still running higher BGs than before. I'm wondering if we should take away the "s" and shoot a full .75? I'm also wondering if the the higher numbers are caused by his vision issues. He is so sensitive to stress, and how stressful is it to lose your sight? Considering taking away the +9 meal again, too. I know, I probably shouldn't have restarted it, but he was so unhappy without it, and it didn't seem to change his numbers when I took it away, so I caved. There is absolutely nothing wrong with his appetite.

After the vet tech said our meter didn't work (the cat sitter had no problem with it, and neither did we), we decided to double check him with a second meter that I had received for free sometime last year. We used it at his PMPS reading last night, using the same blood drop as the old meter. Results: Old meter: 260, New meter: 280. Not sure what to make of that. Still using old meter.

We went out last night and celebrated with friends, so didn't get any readings until +7.5. Hope everyone had a fun, safe New Years Eve.

Sending healing vines to all who need them, hugs to Rhiannon for the loss of her mother, and Happy New Year to all! :-D
 
I would take the "skinny" off and go back to shooting a full 0.75u. The bottom line is if you don't like where the nadir is, increase the dose.

Most cats will do OK with a gradual loss in vision provided you don't move the furniture.
 
looks like you've got 12 cycles at the skinny 0.75u. After the first 6 cycles back at 0.75s, the nadirs range from 101 to the mid 100's. I think you could increase it by 0.25u rather than just taking the skinny off. Sometimes it seems to help to give the full adjustments rather than fats and skinnys, but of course, it's up to you.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

eta - the reason i said "after the first 6 cycles back" is because of refilling the shed and settling in for those first few cycles after the reduced vetty dose. and I wonder if the vet tech said that about the meter because they're using the equivalent of an Alpha Trak there at the vet's office. Most do. I'd just stick with your regular meter and not worry about the variances.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top