Cinco AMPS 241; AM+3 123 PS Still Climbing - Why?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
12/12 Recap:
.75s units 2x a day
AMPS: 200
AM+3: 93
PMPS: 215
PM+2: 114
PM+4: 58
PM+6: 105

Sending healing vines to all who need them. Thinking of Josie and Ripley today. :sad:

Well, Cinco's pre-shot numbers are still going up. Yet, he comes down afterwards. Per Julie's suggestion yesterday, I eliminated his +9 snacks, but so far that hasn't helped (of course, it's only been one cycle). I was very surprised when he hit 58 last night - gave him a tablespoon or so of Friskies shredded ocean whitefish and tuna (couldn't find it's carb count on the lists and the calculator came out at 3%, which surprised me). He continues to have a very good appetite. In fact, two of my other kitties were off their food this morning, and he was more than willing to make up the difference!

I'm not sure if I should be concerned about these rising pre-shot numbers, and if so, what should I do? There is nothing going on around here that would account for this change (he is very sensitive to unusual activity or noises, service people, etc.). His health seems to be fine - mouth looked good and ears cleaned out. No change in litter box use or water consumption. I'm so confused. Any more ideas would be gratefully accepted. Thanks.
 
The 58 may have been low enough to cause a minor bounce? You may have to fatten the dose if the trend continues.
The ocean whitefish and tuna is listed under "savory shreds" at 14%. The pate style says 9%.
 
Thanks, Carl. You really are a helpful, informative guy.

My only concern with fattening the dose is the low post-shot numbers I've been getting. I don't want him to get too low. I think he knows we are going away for a week at Christmas and is just stressing me out. Our catsitter is a bit of a rookie in dealing with diabetics and I'm going to really worry if he doesn't settle down before we go.

BTW, I love that you named your cat Bob. :-D
 
One thing that can work, if the goal is to avoid low numbers, is to increase the carb level of the normal food while keeping the dose the same. It is definitely an ECID thing, depending on how a cat responds to carbs. But it might keep the numbers between shots a bit higher without necessarily raising the preshot numbers. As a short term thing, or like on a cycle where you know you can't be around to test, it might be an option.

Bob's formal name was "Roberto" but that was just to make it sound fancy:-) He had no tail, just a stubby little puff of fur instead.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top