Cinco AMPS 164 Insulin Before Surgery?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
Hi Friends:

Cinco is doing fairly well lately - think he's a lifer on insulin, but we seem to have gotten him somewhat consistent with a small dose - .5 to.75. He is having minor surgery tomorrow. He has a small growth on his right hip that the vet wants to remove, and while he's under they are going to clean his teeth (something he's long needed but they've been reluctant to do). My question: his usual shot is around 6:30 am and I am dropping him at the vet between 7:30 and 8:30 (closer to 8:30 if I know me). He'll have had no food since Midnight. Should we give him his morning dose or not? I haven't asked the vet, as they are of the opinion he doesn't need insulin unless he's way over 200 - we disagree with that! I'd appreciate advice from anyone who has had a similar experience. Thanks!
 
When Gabby has had a dental, I usually skip her shot. Anesthesia can lower BG numbers so it's safest to not shoot -- or at least that's what my vet recommends. You may want to check with your vet for his/her preference.
 
Thank you, Sienne and Tara. That was my inclination, but I just wanted reinforcement. As I said, my vet would tell us not to shoot just because she doesn't think we should give insulin unless the pre-shot BG is well over 200. I'm pretty sure this is his first ever dental, as the vet said he has very few teeth left, and I don't know how long he had been homeless when he came to me. I know someone cared at some point, as he had been neutered and obviously had lived in a home before. Hopefully this will all go smoothly. I appreciate the good thoughts, too. :smile:
 
Tricia -

Hoping all goes well for Cinco tomorrow!
nemismom said:
they are of the opinion he doesn't need insulin unless he's way over 200 - we disagree with that!
I heard the same thing from my vet. :roll:

Have a great night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Thank you all for the support. I will post tomorrow after the procedures are complete. I'm also going to talk to the vet about his vision. We've long suspected he doesn't see well, but in the last few weeks it seems to be getting worse. I know humans can have damage to their optic nerve from diabetes, and I'm wondering if that's what's happening to Cinco. Will let you all know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top