Cinco AMPS 151 Day 14 Remission?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
This is actually Cinco's 14th day on his OTJ trial, but I am really not sure if it has been successful or not. He hasn't gone over 170, but most of his numbers, especially "preshot", are blue. We've tried giving snacks at +9, every six hours, even every four hours. He gets a small snack (freeze dried salmon) with every test (otherwise he would not let me poke his ear). He eats only the high protein pates of Friskies and Fancy Feast. His vet feels his numbers are just fine but according to tight regulation protocol, he's high. I'm not sure what to do at this point. Any suggestions would be welcome.
 
Lets bump you up ... it's been an odd day with the board getting fixed so you may want to ask again tomorrow... when the am cycle starts and everyone feels more normal...

If this were me, I would be wanting to get in the 120 - 50 range ( human glucometer)
I don't know which meter you are using...

Most vets are only shooting for regulation, not remission.
If you want a really strong remission with the best chance for your cat to stay that way... for as long as possible...
I'd be going a little longer ... ( my opinion)
 
I think he needs to still be on insulin. Can you shoot just a drop? If not, I'd try .1u again...it's been a while since he was on it but a drop might just do the trick.

I don't think he's ready to be OTJ. He needs to be below 120.
 
Thank you all for your advice and support. Rhiannon, I have a human glucometer - a Contour. Marje, you and the others just confirmed what I was thinking. We will start him back at .1 tomorrow morning. I didn't really think he was ready, but he had a reading in the 30s, so I figured we needed to reduce, and we just couldn't do less than .1, so.... We appreciate all advice and support. This site truly is a life saver. We currently have another kitty that is very ill with a liver problem. He's on a feeding tube and I'm having trouble finding the right amount and timing for his feedings, plus another cat that just had surgery to remove a tumor on her thyroid. I'm under just a little bit of stress right now, and am questioning everything I do, so second and third opinions are very valuable to me. Thank you!
 
I understand needing to shoot less than .1 u! I had a pretty good experience with shooting just one drop of insulin. There are some posts about that, and I'd be happy to share how I did it. You'd be surprised (at least I was) that one drop actually does make a difference -- takes the edge off and you shouldn't have to worry about kitty dropping too low!

Good luck!
 
Here's the method I ended up using, courtesy of MJ:

One method, which depends on the brand of syringe you are using, is to compress the plunger hard, insert into vial/cartridge, and then release. This can pull in one drop of insulin, but make sure that when you push the syringe again that a drop actually comes out. I learned that the hard way - this worked with one type of syringe but not another. Practice with water and see if your syringes will give you one drop with this method.

I actually found this even easier than larger doses -- there's no lines, etc., to mess with! Let me know if you have any questions -- I'd be glad to help.
 
Thanks to all of you who offered advice. We decided to go with .25, and that seems to be doing the trick. His pre-shot numbers are finally coming down. I have trouble getting him a snack at +9 during the night - I think he sleeps through the feeder going off, even though I had it near him and it's pretty noisy. I put it even closer last night, and I think he ate his snack - it's hard to tell when you have other cats.

JacksonCatson, thank you for that hint. I will definitely use it when we get Cinco to reducing again.

I haven't posted in the past few days because another one of my cats has been very, very ill - feeding tube and sub-cu fluids. His name is Kisa and he was 13.5 years old exactly when he crossed the Rainbow Bridge Saturday night. We are all having a tough time with this loss, so Cinco's improved numbers give us a much needed lift.
 
Thank you, Denise. He was a beautiful cat, a Siberian. The name means kitten in Russian. We thought he was a female when we got him and didn't find out our mistake until the vet tried to spay him! He was a scairdy cat, but a dear. We miss him very much.
 

Attachments

  • Kisa 1a small.jpg
    Kisa 1a small.jpg
    148.9 KB · Views: 256
Kisa is a very beautiful cat. I am sorry for your loss. ((((((((((((((Hugs)))))))))))))) He will wait for you at The Bridge and he knows how much you love him.

Good luck in Cinco's new dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top