Cinco AMPS 102; +2 99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
Recap:
11/29:
.75 units 2X a day
AMPS: 169
AM+3: 62
PMPS: 130
PM+3: 48
PM+4: 61

11/30:
.75 units 2x a day
AMPS: 176
AM+4.5: 72
PMPS: 117
PM+7.5: 83

Congratulations to Shadow on going OTJ.

Cinco continues to hang in the mostly green numbers, post-shot, since his reduction, with some blues pre-shot. He is more lively since he came off all the meds, but still the same lazy cat he's always been. I really am getting more and more convinced that he has retinopathy. When I asked the vet about it, she said the blood vessels in the lower part of his eyes were somewhat inflamed. That makes sense, as it seems as though he can't see out of the lower part of his eyes - he always keeps his head down, like he's looking out of the top part. I don't find any treatment for it, so I guess it's just something he has to live with. One more dental check next week, and maybe then I can stop rinsing his mouth after he eats. He really hates that.
 
Very nice numbers for Cinco!!

That's an interesting thing to notice about the way he holds his head. It could very well mean he isn't seeing out the lower parts..Good observation skills!

Hope the vet clears Cinco from having to have any more icky mouthwash!!
 
Has your vet checked Cinco's blood pressure? While diabetes can cause retinopathy, this is relatively infrequent in cats. High blood pressure is also a cause of retinopathy. This link has local resources for veterinary ophthalmologists if you're interested in finding a specialist.
 
Thank you for the information, Sienne. I was wondering where to start looking for an opthalmologist. Thanks to your link, I found one in Sacramento, right near a former employer of mine. The vet didn't seem interested in pursuing the vision issue, so I think I will have to push to get a referral. I don't know if she has ever checked his blood pressure, but I will ask about it when I take him in for his dental recheck. I would just feel so much better if this issue were fully investigated, even if there is nothing to be done about it.
 
Great numbers!

I agree you should definitely have his BP checked. It's not a big deal to do it and my vet charges $15.00. Usually, if it is high, the vet gives amlodipine. My Gus was on it about two years (a very low dose)' it controlled his BP beautifully, and no side effects.
 
Thank you, Marje. I had no idea that BP should be checked and could be treated. I will definitely ask that he be checked when we go for his post-dental check next week.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top