Chuck's bouncy journey, part 8.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm waiting 30 minutes this time... Hesitant to stop and call it safe but I think with his history of how he responds to food he might be in the clear. I'm staying up til at least +5 or +6 unless he goes up quicker.

He heard DH and I talking about how we needed to go to bed early and get some sleep. Haha yeah... I've been up for 24 hours. DH just went to bed. *String of bad words*
 
I told DH we are not giving over 2 units on anything under 300 again! We can add more but can't take it away. I'm happy we are seeing better numbers but for god sake save them for +4 at least! I'm no good at the dance when he's in yellows! Obviously. He had a whole extra meal this morning. He was NOT COMPLAINING! Haha
 
Wow! Too exciting Steph! Nice numbers this AM. You can see the food spike and then a nice descent into blues. He's making progress even though it's hair-raising for you. You're a master of the high BG dosing and now you have to hone those skills for yellows, blues and ... gasp ... greens. ;):)
 
I know they made you nervous, but those were great numbers, Steph, and you steered them beautifully. I wouldn't discount this cycle as being in dangerously low numbers - it really was very nice. If you hadn't steered with food, it might have gone lower, but 50 is a way from 103. IMHO! I'd keep being a little daring. If this dose at this preshot felt too daring, then reduce by a little bit. But not much. Remember, you want him in those 100s.
 
AMPS was 334... only 30 difference from +8! 6 units lasts forever now days but doesn't really drop him low enough.
Fed 4.5 oz food plus .4 oz beef & broth baby food.
Gave 4 units again. Hoping for nice numbers without all the extra snacks or stress.
If he goes too low I'll be heading to walmart for more strips. Was suppose to get there tonight but had company all night.
Paws crossed.
 
Wow what an exciting time you had! Great job steering those numbers! And Sue is right as always - the first time in those blues it's scary, but each time it's easier. And it's the same when you get to greens :)
 
Maybe a bounce today? 4 units wasn't enough this morning but I figured the 5.8 would get him close to blue or in blue this evening.
 
I gave him 5.5 units... A fat 5.4
I hope it's not too much. A big jump from 4 to 5.5
But the 4 units on a 334 was not enough!
 
+1 555 (or around there... Can't remember!)

I think the low morning cycles we from the longer acting 5.8-6 unit doses the night before and not being "on the rise" at am dose.
He was definitely on his way up this morning. I'm hoping the 5.5 will be enough to get him under 250 at least.
 
PMPS 276!
Stalling 20 minutes to see if he's going up... Was 235 (ish) at +10...
Any suggestions on dose?
 
Just called the vet to get a new bottle of prozinc. This one lasted a month so far. Opened it 12/9 AM cycle. I think I have a day or two left in it... Hopefully we will continue to see lowered doses and it will last longer!
 
+1.5 222
Didn't give anymore food.

I'm afraid without the cushion of the increase after food he's going to go down too fast and too low once the insulin kicks in... I'll test again in 30 minutes.
He dropped from 308 to 180 from +1 to +2 the other morning... I'm so afraid I'm going to kill him.
 
You can give him a little of his regular low carb and see if he surfs a little.

Steph, you won't kill him. You know how to steer with food/honey if he would drop into the 40-50s. He is very carb sensitive so food can really help you if you think he is dropping too low. But don't overdo the food unless and until you hit the lower double digits.

Remember how you were so worried he would always be high? This is what you want. It is just scary until you start seeing it on a regular basis.

I will be around for the next few hours and will keep an eye on you.
 
Yes, thank you. I hope to start getting upset when his "High" is the 200s! I'm also going to try to start charting which food flavor he's getting. I know he reacts stronger to the super supper one... But it's still LC. It comes in the variety pack with chicken and chicken & tuna which are both LC and if my memory is correct- the ones that are the lowest and his belly handles well.

+2 195
 
See if he comes up a little with the lower carb stuff if you get nervous. Just a little bit. If you'd need him to eat later, you want him to be interested. Though that has never been a big issue with Chuck.:D
 
+3 133
Didn't give any food last time and won't this time.
Happy with the SLOW pace.
 
+6 166

I'm very angry. He's doing so well and "someone" left the desk open where we feed Kitty. So he got some (less than 1/4 can) friskies pate. So I'm sure it's only up from here! I don't get why it's so hard to just WATCH til kitty is done. I've tried getting him on the same feeding as Chuck but he will NOT eat that much and I can't risk him getting sick from losing too much weight too fast.
 
Well, that's discouraging, but it was a lovely cycle. Maybe he won't jump way up.

And you didn't panic and you managed beautifully with food. You'll get him back. And next time it won't seem so scary. His numbers have been very encouraging lately.
 
+9 519
second test 444
I was hoping to see it go back down a bit but I guess he's used up all of the insulin. Looks like we are going to feed him and shoot early around +10
 
Wow, what a cycle! When you get those lower numbers, it's super scary at first, but it is a good thing. And he did beautifully even with the contraband!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top