Looking good, Steph. He didn't stay plastered up on the ceiling from the carb/bounce.AMPS (+10 due to schedule conflict)
+8 506
AMPS 440
5.8 units
+2 397
+5.75 280
Was afraid to give full 6 after last night's dip and shooting early. But looks like he's going great on the 5.8!!
About that PM, Steph: I completely understand you being annoyed. It's great if people offer suggestions that have helped them so long as it's done tactfully. It might be better if those people posted on the forum, though, so others can see the advice. Sharing widely is what keeps this wonderful place going.I got a PM about Chuck's diet. Saying I needed to "stop the carbs, test 3 times a day +6 & +8 and follow TR..."
Seemed quite rude and I'm pretty annoyed by it. I can take some criticism. I have pretty thick skin but to be told I'm doing it wrong by someone who basically just glanced at his SS irritates the **** right out of me.
Asked me why I'm feeding pumpkin and karo. Really? Suggested olive oil for constipation. HAHA I'm sure that would help his suspected (not officially biopsied and confirmed just loosely (no pun intended) DX by symptoms) IBD issues. SMDH.
I entertained myself and answered the questions but ended it with the fact that I consult on here REGULARLY and feel like we have it under control (as in trying to figure him out)- we are finally getting somewhere with his numbers and will continue to take care of him as we see fit.
Anyway. Almost time for AMPS. I think he might be red or black. Hope not "HI".
This is familiar to me ... from PM I got a while ago.test 3 times a day +6 & +8 and follow TR
Feel free to vent, Steph. ECID for sure.Yeah that's the thing... A little more tact and I would have thought of they are really just trying help but this just seems almost demeaning and came off quite rude and I told them so.
I like giving some advice on things I have some knowledge about but try my very best to stay in my lane and make suggestions by saying what has worked for me and might work for them after reading what is available about their cat... I have read some threads and thought, wow that's crazy and would never work for Chuck. But knowing ECID I don't criticize them or tell them it's wrong. I guess it just really struck a nerve because they clearly knew nothing about Chuck's sugar dance and jumped right in with I'm doing it all wrong. But honestly, WHO on this forum really believes ANYONE is feeding kayro on the regular?! Anyone at this for more than a week who has read the sticky notes will see karo and know it was a stressful and potentially dangerous situation they were trying to avoid. Anyways. Sorry you all had similar PM's too...
Don't be afraid to give me advice. I need it and it's used daily!!!
He's doing great on the 5.6 this morning!
+2 377 (or 357 I can't remember even though I just looked through the meter ten minutes ago)
+5.75 189
+7 209 (hopefully not going up already)
Hoping for a nice surf.
Might not get another reading til PMPS. Plumber is coming to look at our boilermate... Keeps clicking over and over driving me even more insane every second! I also ran out of hot water 5 minutes into my shower! That was a fun game. (Sarcasm)
Thanks to all of you who give advice. I REALLY do appreciate it all. Thanks for letting me vent... I'll try to just ignore it next time and stay focused here!
I got a PM about Chuck's diet. Saying I needed to "stop the carbs, test 3 times a day +6 & +8 and follow TR..."
Seemed quite rude and I'm pretty annoyed by it. I can take some criticism. I have pretty thick skin but to be told I'm doing it wrong by someone who basically just glanced at his SS irritates the **** right out of me.
Asked me why I'm feeding pumpkin and karo. Really? Suggested olive oil for constipation. HAHA I'm sure that would help his suspected (not officially biopsied and confirmed just loosely (no pun intended) DX by symptoms) IBD issues. SMDH.
I entertained myself and answered the questions but ended it with the fact that I consult on here REGULARLY and feel like we have it under control (as in trying to figure him out)- we are finally getting somewhere with his numbers and will continue to take care of him as we see fit.
Anyway. Almost time for AMPS. I think he might be red or black. Hope not "HI".
I hope you're enjoying your holiday with with family, Sue.This is not OK. Steph. One, dosing advice should never be given by PM. Only general info - Maybe food or tricks for getting levels etc. But the biggest issue is that we don't have a TR (tight regulation) for ProZinc and people should not be advocating for a method that is not used on the forum and can be dangerous with a non depot insulin. I hope you will consider reporting this person (there is a place to report a post). I know you weren't intimidated, but if she /he had done the same to a newer poster who didn't have your experience and knowledge, and they had started using TR with a PZI kitty, it could have been deadly. If he/she feels free to give you such advice by PM, he/she probably feels free to do it to others.
This is not OK. Steph. One, dosing advice should never be given by PM. Only general info - Maybe food or tricks for getting levels etc. But the biggest issue is that we don't have a TR (tight regulation) for ProZinc and people should not be advocating for a method that is not used on the forum and can be dangerous with a non depot insulin. I hope you will consider reporting this person (there is a place to report a post). I know you weren't intimidated, but if she /he had done the same to a newer poster who didn't have your experience and knowledge, and they had started using TR with a PZI kitty, it could have been deadly. If he/she feels free to give you such advice by PM, he/she probably feels free to do it to others.
I'm glad the PM issue has been resolved. I abhor friction and conflict and everyone here has to feel comfortable sharing what they do with their FD kitty.Reported it and heard back from an admin. They let the member know that they like to keep all suggestions and advice public for all to see in the spirit of a peer forum. The member responded and apologized.
+9 was 531!!
I had planned on feeding early due to schedule conflict tomorrow and was worried about it but now that he's gone up so quick I'm feeling better about it.
I have no idea why he went up so fast. Probably got contraband from the garbage after my mom's dog knocked it over and got into it while I was out. Bad dog! Hid it in the corner and boxed it in so he can't do it again since I have him until Wednesday!
Data, data, data. *sigh*
You've been through the wringer, haven't you?! I'm quite sure that they pick up on our stress and have their own reactions to it. I don't see why higher BG wouldn't be part of that. I hope your sister is OK.oy!
AMPS "HI" 600+
I feel awful. His ears are really bothering him today. He's been digging them until they bleed. I keep ear ointment on hand for situations like these. So I gave him a break on testing since I knew he wasn't going too low. Now he's HI. I don't think he got into anything but it was a bit of a stressful night here. Had family over for an early christmas and he doesn't like my sister's dog for some reason. haha he laid on the table and took a swat at him every time he ran by. Then my sister wrecked her car hitting a deer at 70 mph. Merry Christmas to her! She was stressed and so was I- maybe he was extra stressed from it all? So maybe stress took him up?
Gave him 6 units. Will monitor.
Did you retest immediately in case it was a wonky strip?Holy cow!
+7.75 486!!!!
He must have found SOMETHING right?! Is a bounce that quick and that much?!
I just gave him a micro dose of 0.1 units. (Eyeballed .25 on the u100 syringe)
***Note***do NOT copy my dosing!!***
I'm sure the tiny bit won't drop him but I'm hoping it will slow down his crazy fast spike.
Ugh.
I'm watching a dosing maestro at work, Steph!AMPS (+11) "HI"
6 units given.
At least I know the 6 units was a bit much for his 427. I might try 6 units minus one big drop next time because the 5.8 didn't seem to get him down enough.
Great advice, Rachel!Nope, there's no average that I know of. For either one
I think the panicking is something that we just learn to live with...heck I haven't had a sugar cat in years but one of my civvies meows and I go running to check on them and make sure they're okay!
I know it seems like the longer it goes, the less likely you are to gain remission (or even regulation) but we've had plenty of cats go into remission after awhile. We had one here on the this forum that bounced for 2 years before remission.
Don't let things get you down. I think the dose you gave was fine. We have to balance dosing with what we can do to keep our kitties safe...and it's not reasonable to think anyone can just give up their life and follow their cat around all day every day to make sure they are okay. We all have lives, and we SHOULD....we do what we can.![]()
The way I explain it to myself:+10 232
+11.75 286
+12 313
Asked for advice on dose but had to go with 5.6 units based on not being able to monitor after +4. If he's going down too fast I might be able to get a +5 or +6.
So desperately want to get him in constant lower levels. It's the an average of how long it takes for the liver's reserves to run out? Or to learn to stop panicking?
Thanks. I'm really trying.The way I explain it to myself:
The liver's reserves are constantly in use - withdrawals made when BG dives (or other triggering event) and deposits made when BG is higher or not fluctuating a lot. Scary part is that they can use those reserves to keep BG propped up too high after a true low, a lower than usual or even a rapid drop. All those things trigger withdrawals from the "liver bank". Next time one of those three events occurs, they go for a withdrawal and there's nothing left in the bank so they nosedive.
That's why it's so confusing when there's a run of high numbers - is the dose too low or are there lots of liver bank withdrawals going on? Unfortunately some of us have really bouncy cats so we're always dealing with this. I'd vote for Chuck as the trickiest cat on the ProZinc forum because of this AND his extreme carb sensitivity. You're doing a stellar job, Steph.![]()
It's something to try when you can be around, Steph. Keeping it to 2 shots a day if at all possible is better for your routine and your sanity I think.I'm starting to wonder if I fed Chuck half of his food at meal time and gave him his whole dose then fed him the other half of his food around +4 if that would help his insulin last longer?
So it would be: preshot- feed 2.5oz food. Give 5.6-6 units. Then put the other 2 oz food in his autofeeder for +4. I would add water to make him feel more full for each feeding since he's use to the 4.5oz meals.
I worry that might let him drop too much at first but he reacts to food so much I wonder if he will spike from the food 4 hours later. Is this possible to feed him this way and only give 2 shots a day? I don't want to give more than 2 because I'm not always home.
I was thinking about trying this method for both meals tomorrow. If it works I can do it Friday too but I will be leaving from +4 til after his pm shot at +3. Of course I haven't said out loud that I'm leaving the house because that's when his levels decide to be on the lower side enough to make me freak out.
Hey, it's lower than HI ...+1 583