Chuck's bouncy journey, part 5.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was going to try to give another snack but I think I'm going to test every hour to see where he's going and how fast. Last night he dropped around 50ish from +5 to +8. So I think he will be just fine!
 
c23_rah.gif
GO CHUCK!!!
 
+6 173
+7.20 209... just a tiny bit over 20% difference. Not sure if he's going up or just surfing still. No extra snacks.
 
Omg, I'm such an idiot! I'm not positive but I think I did the same thing last night... I gave Chuck 15 units on the U100 syringe tonight! That's 6 units!! Too much! He bounced hard last night. "HI" this morning. I suspect he's going to do the same again tonight. Poor cat. I can't believe I did that. He should have gotten 14 on a u100!!! :banghead::banghead::banghead::arghh::arghh::arghh::mad::mad::mad:
 
Omg, I'm such an idiot! I'm not positive but I think I did the same thing last night... I gave Chuck 15 units on the U100 syringe tonight! That's 6 units!! Too much! He bounced hard last night. "HI" this morning. I suspect he's going to do the same again tonight. Poor cat. I can't believe I did that. He should have gotten 14 on a u100!!! :banghead::banghead::banghead::arghh::arghh::arghh::mad::mad::mad:
This too shall pass. You're only human. Yes, it amounts to a dose increase from 5.4 or 5.6 u to 6 u but that's only 11% or 7% higher. Probably too high a dose but not astronomical given the dose level you're at. Just go back down to where you were.
 
He should be fine - you know how to bring him up if he drops, and you'll find out what a higher dose would do...

When I first read your post, my heart stopped. I read that he'd gotten 15 units, period. Six units sounds much safer.
 
+4.5 346. :confused: he got 4.5oz food and .25oz pumpkin.
I'll take it over a super low. Wonder if he's still fighting the bounce.
I'm still in awe over screwing up his dose. I'm always really careful while drawing it up and giving it... No idea why my brain registered that as the correct dose. I'll pay attention even more now. Going to drive DH up the wall crazy! Haha
 
If anyone is on and can take a quick peek at his SS for this morning and last night. Just wondering if I should stick with 5.4 tonight. It's what my gut instinct is. Unless he spikes up to over 400 in the next half hour. But looking back it looks like he did ok with 5.4 and had plenty of room to drop before. AHHHH my brain won't stop. I'll be home at +4 to test. But not before that.
+11.5 306
Had a YELLOW AMPS this morning! I'm sure due to my screw up last night with his dose!
 
If anyone is on and can take a quick peek at his SS for this morning and last night. Just wondering if I should stick with 5.4 tonight. It's what my gut instinct is. Unless he spikes up to over 400 in the next half hour. But looking back it looks like he did ok with 5.4 and had plenty of room to drop before. AHHHH my brain won't stop. I'll be home at +4 to test. But not before that.
+11.5 306
Had a YELLOW AMPS this morning! I'm sure due to my screw up last night with his dose!
If 5.4 u feels comfortable, go with that. You can always change it next cycle. I like that yellow this AM and it would have been interesting to see what giving 6 u on that number would have done if you had been around to monitor/steer. It might be pointing you in the direction of his "breakthrough" dose.
 
I was half asleep this morning and agreed with DH that 5 units would be a good number for the 279. I think the 5.4 would have been good if I was home. I'll be home Thursday as long as nothing in my schedule changes suddenly. I'm going to try the 5.6 in the morning I think. He's already 307, hopefully still surfing and will continue. But looking at the numbers he would have been fine with 5.6 units tonight. I just have to stop worrying so dang much! I'm so afraid to kill him! He did get a "fat" 5.4 tonight. It was just barely past the 13.5 unit mark on the u100. He also missed his .25oz food snack at +3. It was available for 3.15 hours so no idea what he was up to! Probably snoozing away! The YA Zero Mature doesn't seem to have upped his numbers yet, an hour later. Still within the 20%. I'm off to bed. Hopefully DH will get a +10 reading so we can see if he is increasing by morning dose.
 
I was half asleep this morning and agreed with DH that 5 units would be a good number for the 279. I think the 5.4 would have been good if I was home. I'll be home Thursday as long as nothing in my schedule changes suddenly. I'm going to try the 5.6 in the morning I think. He's already 307, hopefully still surfing and will continue. But looking at the numbers he would have been fine with 5.6 units tonight. I just have to stop worrying so dang much! I'm so afraid to kill him! He did get a "fat" 5.4 tonight. It was just barely past the 13.5 unit mark on the u100. He also missed his .25oz food snack at +3. It was available for 3.15 hours so no idea what he was up to! Probably snoozing away! The YA Zero Mature doesn't seem to have upped his numbers yet, an hour later. Still within the 20%. I'm off to bed. Hopefully DH will get a +10 reading so we can see if he is increasing by morning dose.
Yes, things get hairy when they get into better numbers. You're making progress, Steph! :)
 
PMPS 212!! No idea how low he went.
Stalling 20 minutes.
Any suggestions on dose?! 5? Less? More?
 
I will see what his reading is after stalling. I'll be home to monitor. I was thinking 5.
 
Oh boy!
+1 218!
I was expecting a rise from dinner no matter what. I'm a bit nervous now.
:nailbiting::woot:
 
He has a long way to drop. But you know what to do. Feed just a little of regular food if he drops into the 100s and hope for a surf. 50s - teaspoon of gravy off HC. Monitor.
 
This is a good sign right? He's not spiking after eating with this dose--- is that how it should be?
 
+2 had a 175 reading then a 200 when checked again. I gave him .25 of his regular LC food.
+3 205
He's been sleeping since after dinner but that is normal for him. He's usually up and begging for a snack around +3 or +4 but maybe the .25 food will delay the begging.
I just got a new vial of insulin but haven't opened it yet. Might need to in the morning. Is it ok to "mix" the old with the new by giving two shots that equal his necessary dose?
 
+8 175!
What a wonderful surf! Will check again at +10. Not sure what we will do for AMPS if he's still under 200. But I think if he's under 250 we will give him 5 units again. I'll be here to monitor and snacks will be plentiful if needed!
If under 200 I'll stall until over or reduce dose if close. maybe 4.8-- depends on his numbers!
 
:banghead::arghh::blackeye:
AMPS was 240ish can't remember exact number. DH had a fur shot! +4 574! I gave him another shot: fat 4 units. DO NOT COPY MY DOSING OR MY METHODS!!!
VERY DANGEROUS TO GIVE ANOTHER SHOT AFTER A "FUR SHOT".
 
Last edited:
I updated the SS. I could puke seeing all those blacks. But it's nice to know that he didn't get over 600 (yet) from no shot at all. Hopefully the 4u will take him down into the 300s at least.
 
I updated the SS. I could puke seeing all those blacks. But it's nice to know that he didn't get over 600 (yet) from no shot at all. Hopefully the 4u will take him down into the 300s at least.

This too shall pass, Steph! He's doing great and you seem to be in effective dose territory. :)
 
Steph, just in case we have any newbies reading this thread: we do not advise shooting another dose after a fur shot. You can never be sure how much insulin went in and adding insulin can drop numbers into dangerously low ranges.

Steph has been working with Chuck very carefully and he is a cat who reacts to a dose that is too low with dangerously high numbers. She can monitor carefully and is ready to bring up low numbers if he drops. This is not a practice that should be considered unless you really know your cat and you are prepared for low numbers, and never on a new diabetic whose parent doesn't have experience and lots of data.

Steph, there are hundreds of people who read the threads and never post. Just want to be sure they see the qualifier.
 
Wise advice, Sue. Might i suggest a little more emphasis?

Steph has been working with Chuck very carefully and he is a cat who reacts to a dose that is too low with dangerously high numbers. She can monitor carefully and is ready to bring up low numbers if he drops. This is not a practice that should be considered unless you really know your cat and you are prepared for low numbers, and never on a new diabetic whose parent doesn't have experience and lots of data.

Are you OK with this, Steph?
 
Absolutely!! I never thought about others possibly reading mine and attempting to copy.
DH saw it happen. Went through one side and out the other. He WATCHED the insulin squirt out but waited for me to get up BEFORE thinking about any extra insulin.
I can edit or delete the post.
 
You don't need to edit the post. One thing you might add when you are doing something out of the norm is to state that: I test a lot, I have a lot of data. My dosing methods should not be copied.

At one time there was a way to see how many people were signed in compared to how many posted. Amazing how many lurkers there are!
 
Yes, I just saw if you click the "forum" thing at the top it shows members on and total members and guest is 112! It doesn't list that many members so there are A LOT of lurkers! Very surprised!

+4 256 (this would be +12 from the 4units)

I will try to remember to post that I test every hour or every 2 hours when/if I do anything out of the norm and that it shouldn't be copied.
 
+6 140.
Lookin good for a blue surf. Starting the with remainder of other shot prevented his dinner spike, I think. Going to try to get a +7 or +8. DH is going to do +10 then AMPS @ +12.
 
+7 194
Going up quick. I think that young again zero mature kibble hits him later than regular food. Hopefully it wasn't too much. It was only a heaping teaspoon. Oh well... More data right?!
 
AMPS (+11.15) 511!
+2 571
+3.5 350
I won't be home to do more readings. But I think we are going back to 5.6 units. DH will do PMPS... I'll be home around +2.
 
Be sure you can monitor. 5.4 was doing really well. Either the food or a bounce from the blue could have caused the higher preshot. Could be a blip?
 
I think it was/is a bounce. He stayed pretty high from 5.6 this evening. Going to do 5.4 in the morning depending on preshot. If he's high again I'm going to try the 5.2 then .2 at +2 to see if that helps him surf longer on that dose. Gave him the vet approved micro dose of 0.2u at +6.5. (DO NOT copy my dose or dosing schedule. I test A LOT. One glance at my SS will show how much!)
 
He didn't need the micro dose. +12 176.
Decided to feed him then check in 2 hours. Will probably be 400 by then. Lesson learned.
I think 3 units would have been a safe dose but I don't know how long it would last and I don't want to risk not hearing my alarm to check him.
 
What is even crazier is I thought the micro dose was a fur shot! Brand new needle and bent 90°. Poor Chuck. Such a little dose is hard to tell so I smell him. Haha I didn't smell it so figured we would wait and see. Must have gone in just fine.
 
What is even crazier is I thought the micro dose was a fur shot! Brand new needle and bent 90°. Poor Chuck. Such a little dose is hard to tell so I smell him. Haha I didn't smell it so figured we would wait and see. Must have gone in just fine.
Ah, yes, that smell the fur trick. I smell after every shot, just in case. You're doing well, Steph, given how very tricky and carb-sensitive he is. :)
 
Whew what a morning it has been.

+12 176. (+5.15 from microdose)
DH fed him the whole can and waited 2 hours...
+14 322! (+7.15 microdose)
4.8 units given at 5:15am.
+1.5 308 (+8.45 from .2 microdose)
+4 228 (+11.5 from microdose)

Kept him down but we aren't doing another micro dose mid cycle again unless it's clear he will be above 500.
DO NOT COPY my doses or dosing schedule. I monitor Chuck VERY closely.
 
Holy cow! I have no idea what I should do. He is 166 at +11. We are going out of town tonight.
My options are:
1: Feed him then test/shoot in 2 hours like we did this morning.
2: Feed him and give him a dose now.
I have no idea what dose. I would be here for 2 hours after his shot if I do it at +12.
If I do option 1 I will be here 1 hour after his shot.
I feel like option 1 is better but would probably lower the dose a bit from this mornings shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top