Chuck's bouncy journey, part 15.

Status
Not open for further replies.
+2 470
+3 418
Edited the times... Brain set on "ID10T" mode tonight!
 
Last edited:
Yeah, maybe he'll surprise us?! I should go tell him I need some sleep and have plans all week... Lol then he'll be sure to throw out some lower numbers!

I'm sure Hermione's super low this morning was because we have a vet appointment at 11am! I work 2nd shift so AMPS is before I go to bed. Needless to say I'm not getting much sleep now :p

That +5 is looking better, though - keep it going Chuck!
 
I will be home so I gave him 6.4 units.
PMPS 296
Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz +1T water@+2.5. 1T YA @+5.5.
Gave 6.4 units.
 
Fed and gave shot 20 minutes after reading... Maybe that's why the spike is so high?
+1 "HI" GRRR
 
+3.5 372
+6.5 384
Ugh. Thought about a micro dose but I think I'll just increase the morning dose.
Do you think 6.8 is to big of a jump? I think it will be fine but DH thinks we should try 6.6 first. It seems like it's all getting used up in the food spike. I'm getting beyond frustrated.
I go from hypo anxiety to hyper anxiety. I try to ignore it but it keep nagging my brain.
 
+3.5 372
+6.5 384
Ugh. Thought about a micro dose but I think I'll just increase the morning dose.
Do you think 6.8 is to big of a jump? I think it will be fine but DH thinks we should try 6.6 first. It seems like it's all getting used up in the food spike. I'm getting beyond frustrated.
I go from hypo anxiety to hyper anxiety. I try to ignore it but it keep nagging my brain.
An increase of 0.4 u on a dose of 6.4 u is only a 6.3% increase so why not?
 
Personally I'd try 6.8u. You don't want to skip over the ideal dose by trying too big an increase. But that's one thing about such a large dose, you have the ability to make small percentage changes and really narrow down your dosing.
 
+10 381
AMPS (+12): 474
Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water @+3. 1T YA @+5.5.
Gave 6.8 units.
Will monitor. Hopefully we see yellows. If not I might be sent to the "funny farm"!!:confused:
 
His snack seems to stop him in his tracks! I'm happy to see some yellow. Hopefully he doesn't bounce from them!
 
Nice yellows today! I really think you need to consider the switch when this bottle is done since, like Julie said, the Prozinc doesn't seem to be lasting long enough. The switch may help push him out of any insulin resistance he has. Lantus is a bit cheaper than Lev, and while it can sting, it doesn't sting all cats, so maybe you can start there. You mentioned a friend that had a script you could get some from, or if you look around some pharmacies will sell a single pen for you to try. Then if it doesn't seem to sting you could buy from Canada. Maybe that's all he needs, but if not then you could get the tests done.

ETA Another reason to maybe try Lantus first is the patent is about to run out and there will be cheaper generics available soon
 
I think so. Lets give it another cycle to see if it repeats.

I also agree that you might really want to look into changing insulin. It looks like the switch to Lantus is working great for Teasel, and Chuck does seem to be less responsive to ProZinc as the cycle goes on.
 
My aunt is a doctor and is going to try to get me a lantus pen sample. I am going to schedule an appt for chuck for 2 weeks. Should start to get low on ProZinc by then...
PMPS 363
Fed 4.5 oz +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water at +3.5. 1T YA at +6.5.
Gave 6.8 units
+1 "HI" *sigh*
 
I thought about trying the vial I thought was damaged on Chuck but he's not getting very consistent numbers on a certain dose so I don't know if it's possible to compare. I hate to throw it away if it's usable.
 
+9 303
AMPS: 366
Fed 4.5oz + 2T water. .8oz pate + 1T water@+3. 1T YA @+6.5.
Gave 6.8 units.
DH will monitor.
 
PMPS 248!!!
No idea on what dose! I have to leave after his shot and might not be back til +4 or +5.
 
I was looking at chucks teeth last night. Against his will of course. But I noticed he only has 1 tooth left in the bottom front. Those little cute teeth... I tried to see if he has a "gap" between his canines (are they called canines in cats? Haha) looks like there's a gap but I don't know what is normal or abnormal. I'm going to try to get a picture. His gums are darker pink/red around his teeth so he might need a dental cleaning soon. $$$$ spending quicker than I can earn!
I live about 40-45 minutes away from Cornell university animal hospital so I might call to see if they have any "teaching" reduced price offers. I'm not sure if they still do that but can't hurt to ask.
 
Here are some pics. He wasn't hurt while taking pics. They look a bit rough but I promise it wasn't. He didn't even get up from his favorite chair.
The "gap" isn't there with Kitty's teeth... He's the last pic. Their teeth aren't really that yellow looking in person. But you can see the red on the gum line. Starting to wonder if the vets just put that on the back burner while trying to address his FD? I rarely look on their mouth because it's just not their favorite activity. Haha starting to feel guilty that they might need dental attention or have needed it for a while?!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20170309_182211.jpg
    IMG_20170309_182211.jpg
    38.8 KB · Views: 132
  • IMG_20170309_182141.jpg
    IMG_20170309_182141.jpg
    85.8 KB · Views: 128
  • IMG_20170309_182106.jpg
    IMG_20170309_182106.jpg
    67.7 KB · Views: 150
  • IMG_20170309_182356.jpg
    IMG_20170309_182356.jpg
    44.1 KB · Views: 133
I'm awful. I looked at the pics again and can't stop giggling. They are like wth?! Silly boys. I just love those little teefers in the front!
 
LOL I couldn't help myself, Maury is curled up on my arms (typing is fun but I love when he snuggles) and I peeked at his teeth. He does not have the gap like Chuck. His are also bigger like Kitty's. Recently noticed he is missing one of the little teeth up top and he needs braces on the bottoms hehhe :). He just curled back up after I looked, didn't care at all :cat:
 
I know they can have resorption of teeth as one of their dental issues - maybe that's what's going on with the front teeth? The redness looks like gingivitis to me but I'm no expert.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top