Chuck's bouncy journey, part 10.

Status
Not open for further replies.
He ate 4.69 ounces of food. I think that's two days worth of YA and now he's snacking again.
+1(from meal/PMPS) 399

Do I need to wait another hour for a shot? Or can I give him the shot now?

I'm thinking 3 units since he's almost 400 already.
 
12/10/16 AM cycle I gave a 4.6 on a 322 two hours after his meal and he got into blue. Maybe I should try 4? He seems to be responding better to the insulin now vs then, unless I'm just seeing a wishful thinking trend.
 
12/10/16 AM cycle I gave a 4.6 on a 322 two hours after his meal and he got into blue. Maybe I should try 4? He seems to be responding better to the insulin now vs then, unless I'm just seeing a wishful thinking trend.
Try 4 u now. It's all experimentation because every day he presents you with new "challenges". He'll probably be more sensitive from the lower number.
 
12/10/16 AM cycle I gave a 4.6 on a 322 two hours after his meal and he got into blue. Maybe I should try 4? He seems to be responding better to the insulin now vs then, unless I'm just seeing a wishful thinking trend.
I think there's more blue now on his SS.
 
When I do the feed/wait/shoot technique I try to visualize how the rising BG from the food will dovetail with the gradual onset of the insulin dose. I reduce the dose a bit - just learning how much at this point. I'd say that BG at 399 at +1 is sufficient even as the food effect wanes to counteract the slow buildup of insulin action. Make sense?
 
Try 4 u now. It's all experimentation because every day he presents you with new "challenges". He'll probably be more sensitive from the lower number.
Just tested again... 477 after 20 minutes!
Think I'm giving 4.4... Think that's OK?
 
OK just gave him 4.4 units and a pep talk about how that food is "zero carb" and he needs to get on board with being NORMAL. LOL and to quit eating so much! This is all that's left of the 1 cup!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20170124_160946.jpg
    IMG_20170124_160946.jpg
    53.5 KB · Views: 95
OK just gave him 4.4 units and a pep talk about how that food is "zero carb" and he needs to get on board with being NORMAL. LOL and to quit eating so much! This is all that's left of the 1 cup!
OMG! Little Mr. Piglet! What's the recommended daily allowance of YA again?!
 
Yes that's pm dose. I'll update SS now. For 10-13 pounds I they're supposed to eat 3 tablespoons (I think there's 16 tablespoons in a cup) when free fed and once they realize they don't have to binge eat.
I weighed the bowl with the food in it before he ate to see how many ounces he ate. Easier than dumping it and trying to measure that way.
 
Yes that's pm dose. I'll update SS now. For 10-13 pounds I they're supposed to eat 3 tablespoons (I think there's 16 tablespoons in a cup) when free fed and once they realize they don't have to binge eat.
I weighed the bowl with the food in it before he ate to see how many ounces he ate. Easier than dumping it and trying to measure that way.
I hope Chuck doesn't get bunged up from wolfing it all down - or the messy reverse. :nailbiting::confused:
 
Looking back at the 12/10 pm and AM cycles he doubled his preshot numbers without insulin...
Kinda bummed to see he did the same with the ya zero but I'm sure when he doesn't eat 3 days worth he won't spike as much... If at all...
 
He's surfing in the 350s... I was thinking about a .2 microdose. (DO NOT COPY MY DOSING)
I rather not have two doses to worry about so I might just see where he's going and we can feed and dose 2 hours early.
I'm going to pick up his food at midnight that way if we need to shoot early it's not a food number.

I emailed YA. They emailed me to see how he was doing on the food. I told him about the snacks and how he seemed to not feel well and perked up after 24 hours of no YA. Could be totally coincidental. I asked them about a measured amount for him to feed restricted for a few days to make sure he doesn't get really bad or sick from diarrhea.
Haven't heard back yet bc I just sent the email an hour or so ago.
 
I weighed the bowl when I put more in it.
It was 16.65 oz including the weight of the ceramic dish and now it's .79oz lighter after 3 hours. Kitty had a few bites too.
 
+5 365
+7 324
I put up the YA. He just smelled up my downstairs in the litter box. Will give a bit extra pumpkin in AM meal... If he'll eat!
 
+9 527 retest 538 :banghead:
I want to feed early but I don't think he's going to eat... Hasn't had anything since +5... Not really begging for breakfast yet.

Wondering if I should put the YA out again or try giving him an ounce or two of 9 lives so I can give him a shot without worrying about him dropping to low or fast?!
Oy. He's lying around like he doesn't feel good. Has diarrhea from way too much YA at once/a day.
Could offer him pumpkin then the YA.
Not sure what dose to give if I don't feed him wet food.
2hrs 20 minutes after huge ya meal he was 477. 4.4 got him surfing in mid 300s.
If he doesn't eat a lot of YA should I give the 4.4 again since he's 527/538? Or should it be more?
What did I get myself into?!
 
I also noticed my other cat has slept all evening too.
Idk if I like this YA zero yet...
 
So I decided to feed him .25 pumpkin with 0.1oz pate mixed so he would eat it. I put 1/8th of a cup YA in his dish after he ate the pumpkin.
He didn't eat any of the YA.
I tested him before the pumpkin and he was
AMPS: 501 (+10)
I gave him 4 units even though he didn't eat any YA. I left it out and he can eat it when he wants.

I figured 4.4 on an increasing 477 was OK so a 4 unit on 501 with not much food would be just like the pm cycle this evening.
I will monitor closely and have high carb food to give if he plummets.
I plan to restrict his YA to 1/4c a day for now until I hear from YA a customer support.
I'm very stressed over this situation and it's triggering my anxiety.
 
Just had a huge puke festival in the kitchen. Chuck puked up everything he had left in his belly. Which was a lot. No wonder he wasn't hungry.
Then he started begging for food. I offered him YA and he got up and walked away.
I just fed him 1.9oz pate with .2oz pumpkin since he puked the first bit up.
He's eating the pate but not really that fast. I limited the amount just in case he pukes again.
I'm putting the YA away. Idk what I'm going to do with it yet. I know the huge amount he ate earlier is probably to blame. We will have to try again another day.
I will probably give another unit of insulin to equal 5 units if he keeps this food down.
 
What a cluster this morning has been.
AMPS(+10) 501
Gave 4 units. Only ate pumpkin.
+.5 puked up all stomach contents
+1 556
Fed 1.9oz pate and .2oz pumpkin
Gave 1 unit.
2oz snack at +3.25/+2.25
He's following me around the house yelling for more food. Drinking a lot of water.
Playing with toys when I was playing with him and Kitty.

+2/+1: 515
 
Last edited:
Sounds like he really just wasn't feeling great from the YA! Glad he's acting better now. I don't know much about YA but you could ask on the main forum if anyone has experienced something like this?
 
What an ordeal, Steph. I recall the odd comment from members here about YA not agreeing with their kitty. In Chuck's case, it's hard to know if it's the YA itself or the fact that he wolfed enough to feed a feral colony. :blackeye: Maybe give it a chance again later by feeding only a few kibbles at a time as snacks.

I hope you're feeling a bit better ...
 
I heard back from YA president himself if all people...
He ate 3-4 days worth in one sitting! Well... That is my fault. I'm going to let his belly rest for a few days then start the YA as snacks. Then do restricted feedings with the YA.
One big thing that bothered me was he said
"Our food is timed released so do not worry about feeding before a shot, that is only necessary if you are feeding a diet with carbs or feeding a canned food. It is important to check his BG before each injection and if it is below 150 I would suggest you adjust his dose accordingly. I personally feel that there is little benefit to testing in between meals; it is stressful to the cat."

Hmmmm. I let him know that Chuck is on a higher dose and is bouncy so I'll continue testing and making sure he has something in his belly for shot time. And he isn't stressed by it. He's lying on the table right now with his meter between his legs hoping for a test and treat. Haha.
He also said this about the chicken raising his BG.
" BG also goes up on the chicken because it is high in protein and low in fat. Cats can still convert protein to BG so when protein is out of sync with fat the BG goes up. You need about 2 parts protein to 1 part fat for BG to remain in balance. Chicken meat is mostly protein."

I will update his SS then post his PMPS info. He's feeling better today. He even ventured outside and decided snow is NOT something he likes lol
 
In my house when I first switched to YA my little piglet Samoa did the scarf & barf right away and had really nasty stinky runny poop for several days. I ended up putting 1/4 cup in each dish (I have 1 per cat in different rooms) until Samoa stopped eating everything in sight. Within two weeks everyone had nice normal poop and the small 8# bag lasts me 3 weeks with 5 cats (Hermione does get Primal raw as her main meal 2x daily with her shots)!

I think Kris has a great idea about using it as a snack until his tummy gets used to the higher protein & fat content. I do know there are some folks who have had their cats continue to feel badly with diarrhea and vomiting :( Hopefully Chuck isn't one of those.

Pretty cool that that president of YA himself answered your question! But it sounds like he's pretty old school in his diabetes advice.
 
Obviously they want to back up their product if the big cheese himself contacted you. He's entitled to his own opinion on testing between shots. Yes, protein can be converted to glucose and cats, as carnivores, might be better at it than we are. I know nothing about the proper ratio of protein to fat. Sounds like they factored that into their recipe.

I hope you can use the YA at least as a snack for now and I'm glad Chuck is feeling better. :)
 
PMPS: 502
Fed 4 oz pate chicken flavor- he ate it all
Gave 5.8 units
1 oz snack at +3.
+1 HI
+2 449

I'll be out of the house until about +6 so I'm giving him the snack. He's also still telling me he's starving.
I'm ok with his opinion but don't agree with my cat. Some cats I'm sure are just fine with little testing. I'm a helicopter mom I guess is the term. haha I say a bit obsessive.
I have high hopes for the YA. Kitty-cow isn't very happy I took away the YA but he's even perkier and awake. He's looking out the window today vs yesterday he was sleeping in DH's recliner all evening except for the few times he got up to snack. He didn't overeat yesterday. Restricted feeding should be much easier. I have also decided to move kitty's food into DH's game room ("man cave") to keep Chuck from being tempted.
 
AMPS: 304 (+12)
Fed 4oz chicken flavor
Gave 5.7 units (fat 5.6)
1oz super supper snack at +3
He ate like normal this morning!
+1 552 thinking the preshot was a false lower reading...
 
:banghead::mad:
+6 391
He must have found something he thought was yummy! I just cleaned the house too so I'm not sure what he would have found.
 
Where there's Chuck's will, there's a way ... some tiny piece of kibble he's scooped out from under the edge of the stove or something.
I wouldn't be surprised he if swatted april for a piece of hers when she was eating! Brat. I gave him a micro .1u at +6 *Do NOT copy my dosing*

+8.25 437 So he's either surfing or still going up. My money is on going up... I won't be home tomorrow after +4.5 til after pmps at +2.5 or +3...
Hopefully he won't be over 600... that tiny .1 is like nothing for him but I didn't want to overdo it and cause a mess at amps. Just wanted him to slow down or surf...
It's our birthday tomorrow but I'm the only one getting cake! *mean mommy* He'll be 10 and I'll be 33... 2nd birthday without my mom and it's proving to be harder than the first. Last birthday we celebrated together was my 30th... she was in icu on my 31st and nonverbal. Guess it's best the last one we celebrated was a "big" one... bittersweet memories.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top