StephG
Very Active Member
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/chucks-bouncy-journey-part-9.171132/page-2
Negative for ketones!
Negative for ketones!
Poor you, Steph ... so many variables to juggle! Tell Chuck I said to stop the nonsense NOW!!He ate 4oz out of the 4.5 I gave him which included .2oz pumpkin. He had a few bites of YA. 1T YA left out for him.
1oz pate at +2.5 and 1T YA at +5.5.
I think maybe the food was too old. It was in the fridge for a few days and he's been spoiled with a fresh can every meal lately. Hopefully the 5.6 units is enough. I figured he was over the bounce so I cut it back a bit. I want to try free feeding (monitored) YA for his pm cycle if he's not too high by then. I figured I'd test and put the bowl out an hour early. Then test after two hours to see where he's at then give insulin. I might completely chicken out or change my mind by then so we will see...
Sore teeth?He's eating very slow again today. PMPS was "HI" at +11
I'm starting to wonder... I noticed yesterday when he ate some YA that he didn't chew it. His breath is awful but it has been for years. Vet never said they were infected before... Just said some cats just have smelly breath. I think I'll call the vet in the morning. Maybe we can get bloodwork repeated and get his teeth checked. I'm hoping the addition of YA hasn't caused some pancreas issues.Sore teeth?
Could be the YA but might be worth having vet check his mouth along with bloodwork. Maybe you can catch a developing problem before it gets out of hand.I'm starting to wonder... I noticed yesterday when he ate some YA that he didn't chew it. His breath is awful but it has been for years. Vet never said they were infected before... Just said some cats just have smelly breath. I think I'll call the vet in the morning. Maybe we can get bloodwork repeated and get his teeth checked. I'm hoping the addition of YA hasn't caused some pancreas issues.
It's in the back of my mind that maybe he's nott feeling as starving now because he's getting dense calories in the YA that he snacks on. I really hope this is the reason. He ate about 3oz again then went back for more. I gave him 6 units anyways since he was HI. I'm going to monitor hourly.
Breathe, Steph, breathe ...+1 568
+2.5 346
2tsp YA
+4 279
+5 344
+6 574/536!!!!! What in the ****?!
I gave him 1 unit. **DO NOT COPY MY DOSING** My vet approves microdoseing for Chuck! Do NOT do this without experience and vet consultation.
I have no idea what he got into. Had to have been dog food! The YA hasn't done this before so I don't think it's the YA. Trying to get a ketone test. I'm not a happy camper!
I get so upset... At myself. I do tell him when he gets into stuff, "you're eating yourself to death! Please stop!?!" I am shocked at his numbers. I was afraid he would be to low on the 6 units. Hah. Joke is on me I guess. I'm worried he's sick too. I get a bit obsessive over it. I just want to do the best I can... And I fail too often.Breathe, Steph, breathe ...
Has his eating been sub par all day? What about activity level, demeanor, etc.? If he's brewing an infection somewhere (mouth? UTI?) his numbers will be wonky. Will you be making an appointment with the vet tomorrow?I get so upset... At myself. I do tell him when he gets into stuff, "you're eating yourself to death! Please stop!?!" I am shocked at his numbers. I was afraid he would be to low on the 6 units. Hah. Joke is on me I guess. I'm worried he's sick too. I get a bit obsessive over it. I just want to do the best I can... And I fail too often.
Sorry, Steph, I don't know how to interpret these.This is what I have...
Crossing fingers for you and Chuck.I figured I'll do one and see what it says I can take the results with me to the vet. Maybe it can be a stating point. I really hope I'm wrong about him being sick.
I also have ten parameter urine test strips I can try to see what his looks like. They're human strips so I'm not sure how it compares.
+8/+2 455
Hurray for Chuck back to being Satan!So this morning and this afternoon he's back to his usual self! He pestered me all day for more food. Bossing Kitty around. He hasn't had YA for about 24 hours now. I don't know if it was the YA or maybe just an off day for him. I didn't get to talk to the vet today but I can call tomorrow early to see if I can catch her before she gets busy.
+3 399
+4 305
+7 245
+11.75: PMPS: 251 retest was 301
Fed 4oz super super- he DEVOURED it in less than 5 minutes!
Gave 5.6 units.
+1 415
+2 334
+3 261 .2oz baby food plus .5oz water snack
We started to measure it because it was an easy way to make sure he was getting the same amount each feeding and it ruled out the possibility of one of us (me or DH) estimating the amount high or low and influencing his BG levels.I just started following you because I was told that you have a lot of experience w ProZinc
Can I ask why you measure out Satan's food?
So he is so high that the meter only said " High"AMPS (+11.25): "HI"
Fed 4oz chicken&tuna pate. .5oz pate snack scheduled at +3.
Gave 6 units.
Our first vet started him on 7 units twice a day no matter how much food he ate! That is how I ended up here. He was going too low and I had looked at this site before going on insulin and came back and joined the forum after getting a bad feeling about his dose.So he is so high that the meter only said " High"
He does have very high numbers on his SS. If you look at ours and look at Nov 2015 , we had high numbers to and was suffering from neuropathy. his then vet had him at 5 units. But he was also eating Dry MD food then. The very day I switched him to can food, he started his short road to remission and his neuropathy started " reversing " ( it was completely gone less than three weeks after he went into remission )
Last week I started using a new vet, he couldn't believe that his old vet had skittles on 5 units . He said that's enough for a adult tiger! My old vet also hated me home testing and threw a fit when I took him off of the prescription food I was getting from them. They were just not supportive of the believes that we have here in this group. If I had continued to listen to her I know in my heart that skittles would have never went into remission and would still have neuropathy
Sighing along with you, Steph. Keep on keeping on ...+8 192
+10 495!!
Probably a bounce. *Sigh*
OMG on that PMPS!!! You're just on the edge for dosing ...not sure what to say. You could try a token dose to see what happens. What I'm doing with Teasel now if a PS is too low even for stalling is to feed him, wait 45 min, test and then dose a slightly reduced dose. It's worked twice so far. Maybe you try a version of that. ECID though!+4 358
+5.75 281
PMPS (+12.25): 203 retest 196!
I'm trying the YA zero today. I put a full cup in the bowl and will measure it after he's done eating. I'm going to test BG at +1 and +2. Then give insulin.
Or do you think I should give a token dose of half a unit? Then test.