CHRONIC INSULIN OVERDOSE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
I just read something on the AHAA guidelines that has disturbed me!! (see below). By looking at Bob's numbers, does anyone think this is the case with him? I'm not understanding why his numbers don't go down when they are supposed to - he just stays high and straight. Could he have sustained hyperglycemia?? My originial vet started Bob high on ProZinc and increased very fast by one or more units at a time. If this is the case, is there a way to fix it???

Be aware that chronic insulin overdose may not only
result in clinical hypoglycemia (seizures, coma), but also
the development of sustained hyperglycemia and insulin
ineffectiveness following secretion of insulin antagonists
(catecholamines, glucagon, cortisol, growth hormone)
that combat hypoglycemia
 
As long as your sugarcat is eating dry food, his numbers and his doses are going to go up. Purina DM is not low-carb. Many cats don't like to give up their dry food but if you want to see numbers go down, you should consider transitioning to low-carb canned food. There are a lot of helpful suggestions on how to do that on catinfo.org. People here with more experience than me will tell you if you do transition you will have to watch him and test often because once off the dry, his bg could go down 100 pts and you don't want a hypo situation. Again, I urge you to wean him off dry food.
 
Dara has had this question answered over in Lantus TR group. Think she may be posting over there in the future. I hope so. She is ready for that next level.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top