Chronic diarrhea

Status
Not open for further replies.

drjsiems

Member Since 2010
Jake has had ongoing diarrhea for a while now. He just had a checkup about six weeks ago and the only thing that was recommended was Forti-Flora. When that did not work, he was put on Flagyl (metronidazole). Even though it worked intially and he is still on it (about three weeks now), he has had many recent loose stools (though much better than when he was not on Flagyl). Should his dosage of the Flagyl be increased? Does Jake need to try another medicine? Or better yet, may it is his diet? Jake eats canned Wellness Turkey and canned Wellness Chicken. Does anyone have any experience with this?

Jake is 18-1/2 and has no other known health issues with the exception of very mild renal changes and some mild arthritis for which he has been taking Dasuquin for years. He also has been in remission from diabetes officially since May 13, 2010. I check his BG about once a month - more lately though because of obvious tummy upset. His last BG was 71 on October 8. He is not displaying any unusual behavior.

Thanks for any input on this!

Jake & Judy
 
Have there been any x-rays or ultrasounds to see if there are abnormalities in his GI tract?
Or any stomach or intestinal biopsies?
Or any testing for food allergies?
Recent stool samples examined for giardia, coccidia, and worms? Even if you use flea preventative, a flea can ride into the house on a human, then transmit tapeworm.

Those are some things which could help identify a cause, though of course, they can be quite expensive.
 
My guess would be food allergy or parasite.

My Emme had recurring diarrhea. My vet tested for parasites a few times, so we thought it was food allergy. We tried a limited food diet for a month, and she still had diarrhea. It wound up being giardia, which doesn't always show up in stool samples.

From cats.about.com: (http://cats.about.com/od/gastrictractdi ... iardia.htm)
How is Giardia Diagnosed?
Giardia cysts can be identified in a fecal smear under a microscope. Since cysts are shed in stools sporadically, several different fecal samples may be needed for a positive identification. Special stains may be needed, as the organism can sometimes be elusive.
 
I doubt it would be giardia.......Flagyl is used for that and she said he's been on it for three weeks. I also would not increase the dose of Flagyl.....not without a vets okay.......it can become a toxic. I would, if possible, get an ultrasound done and consider a food change, slowly, if the US doesn't show anything wrong.
 
Re: Chronic diarrhea - now HyperT?

Everything is normal about Jake except for that he is eating a lot more than normal lately. He is still in remission from diabetes thankfully. I have read that diarrhea and eating more than usual could be signs of hyperthyroidism. Does anyone think this is possible since this is not uncommon for older cats?

Thanks,
Judy & Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top