Christmas Eve gone wrong. Lowering BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
Well members, it has been 3 years I do not celebrate Christmas Eve which is our Latin Tradition, I was invited by my neighbor to celebrate with them, since I have no family, at a friend's house, I was excited, I picked the close I was going to wear, I made stuffed cinnamon rolls, and Yuca (cassava) and sadly to say I just tested Corky, and his BG is AMPS +5 is 71. He's PMPS 6:00PM (ET) his meal and shot 1.0u, This is not happening,
and of course, party cancelled. 1can't risk leaving him alone, if anyone is not busy and can give me dosing advise I know is very early before his next dose, if, when, how what just in case, I am knowledgeable on the very low BG since it happened on 12/18 on PMPS it took 4 1/2 hours between Suzanne and I communicating, and testing till we got a safe reading, I do not want a blind late surprise, and all of you I know are very busy today, and he does not do well with these low numbers at all
 
Hi Maria , sorry I won't be around and not experienced when it comes to giving dosing advice, but if you ate following the SLGS method Corky dropped below 90 so you need to reduce tonight's shot and give him 0.75 units
I will tag a few members for you anyway
 
Well members, it has been 3 years I do not celebrate Christmas Eve which is our Latin Tradition, I was invited by my neighbor to celebrate with them, since I have no family, at a friend's house, I was excited, I picked the close I was going to wear, I made stuffed cinnamon rolls, and Yuca (cassava) and sadly to say I just tested Corky, and his BG is AMPS +5 is 71. He's PMPS 6:00PM (ET) his meal and shot 1.0u, This is not happening,
and of course, party cancelled. 1can't risk leaving him alone, if anyone is not busy and can give me dosing advise I know is very early before his next dose, if, when, how what just in case, I am knowledgeable on the very low BG since it happened on 12/18 on PMPS it took 4 1/2 hours between Suzanne and I communicating, and testing till we got a safe reading, I do not want a blind late surprise, and all of you I know are very busy today, and he does not do well with these low numbers at all
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@tiffmaxee
I told Maria to reduce the dose since he dropped below 90 following SLGS
 
Maria -

A couple of thoughts...

A +5 in the 70s is a wonderful place for Corky to be. It is not "too low" of a number. You want Corky spending as much time as possible in normal numbers.

If his nadir is in normal range, it doesn't tell you where his PMPS will be. The last time his AMPS was in the 300 and his nadir was in double digits, he was back in the 300s at PMPS. To an extent, you need to think about what the data you've been collecting tells you and how it can inform your decisions.

While I don't know if this is possible, when I would be out for the evening with friends, there were times I would make a run home to check on Gabby's numbers. If I needed to, I would load her up with high carb food. The same would happen with work. I lived close enough that I could jump in the car, drive home, and check on my kitty. If it's feasible, there's no reason for you to sacrifice some time with friends unless you really want to eat all of the treats you prepared to celebrate yourself!
 
Maria -

A couple of thoughts...

A +5 in the 70s is a wonderful place for Corky to be. It is not "too low" of a number. You want Corky spending as much time as possible in normal numbers.

If his nadir is in normal range, it doesn't tell you where his PMPS will be. The last time his AMPS was in the 300 and his nadir was in double digits, he was back in the 300s at PMPS. To an extent, you need to think about what the data you've been collecting tells you and how it can inform your decisions.

While I don't know if this is possible, when I would be out for the evening with friends, there were times I would make a run home to check on Gabby's numbers. If I needed to, I would load her up with high carb food. The same would happen with work. I lived close enough that I could jump in the car, drive home, and check on my kitty. If it's feasible, there's no reason for you to sacrifice some time with friends unless you really want to eat all of the treats you prepared to celebrate yourself!
you know I was going to do just that load him with HC at 5:30 pm for the PMPS meal/shot, I was not going in my car, that was a concern, but when his BG starts to decline, there's concern especially before hi PMPS shot, if he's lower than 125-130 when he gets his shot by 1oPM he Will be in the bottom 2 digits, I couldn't leave and enjoy myself just thinking of what happened 12/18 Suzanne and I were communicating past 12:00AM and I went to sleep at 4:30AM, the insulin does not kick in until +4 and +10. He means the world to me being home tonight even though I was looking forward to spending a Christmas Eve with people, my babies go first so it was suggested to decrease the dose to 0.75u and I am just OK with that. Merry Christmas to you and family, may this New Year be full of Joy Health and blessings to all:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Hi Maria , sorry I won't be around and not experienced when it comes to giving dosing advice, but if you ate following the SLGS method Corky dropped below 90 so you need to reduce tonight's shot and give him 0.75 units
I will tag a few members for you anyway

WOW! Corky's BG raised to 373, I did not feed him his small meal at 1:30, instead I gave him 2 little packets of the FF dry tuna treat instead, PMPS at 6:00PM is to be reduced to 0.75u; should I still follow this advise ?
As much as I want to become calm, it's quite unsettling, that I know I am doing everything that needs to be done to make sure Corky's BG numbers stay stabled, but it seems to be almost impossible he is right now at 397 higher than he's been since Sep 24, and that was only once, I just gave him the 0.75u as suggested, hopefully by 10PM he will stabilize.:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Last edited:
If you are following SLGS and Corky's numbers dropped to below 90, then his dose is reduced.

This is also why you don't want to make a decision at +5 as to what is going to happen toward the end of the cycle. I do hope you retested to make sure the 373 wasn't a bad test or bad strip. And you're sure the treat is low carb? (I'm not familiar with this treat.)
 
If you are following SLGS and Corky's numbers dropped to below 90, then his dose is reduced.

This is also why you don't want to make a decision at +5 as to what is going to happen toward the end of the cycle. I do hope you retested to make sure the 373 wasn't a bad test or bad strip. And you're sure the treat is low carb? (I'm not familiar with this treat.)
Yes re-test twice when the numbers are so crazy I passed this treat thru Suzanne she said it was great it’s Purely FF Natural hand flaked tuna treats no carbs it comes in 10 small packets,
 
Maria, I hope you were able to go to your Christmas party. Looks like Corky's numbers went high enough for no concern of a hypo situation.

I understand our babies come first. Most of us here prioritize in the same manner. We can't pour from an empty cup. Recharging ourselves by getting out of the house and laughing for a few hours truly can help us.

I know when we see "lower numbers," we get scared. We must realize and understand even 50 is normal range for the meters we use. While we are used to seeing 200 and 300s, it isn't good at all for our babies. We must train ourselves to understand that 50-120 is what is best for them. We still need to check and monitor when they are lower, but those lower numbers aren't bad. It is a relief to their bodies and organs when the numbers are in normal range. The advice above about feeding more carbs if we have to be gone or running home to check are great options that even I will use.

I hope that you and Corky have a Merry Christmas.
 
Maria, I hope you were able to go to your Christmas party. Looks like Corky's numbers went high enough for no concern of a hypo situation.

I understand our babies come first. Most of us here prioritize in the same manner. We can't pour from an empty cup. Recharging ourselves by getting out of the house and laughing for a few hours truly can help us.

I know when we see "lower numbers," we get scared. We must realize and understand even 50 is normal range for the meters we use. While we are used to seeing 200 and 300s, it isn't good at all for our babies. We must train ourselves to understand that 50-120 is what is best for them. We still need to check and monitor when they are lower, but those lower numbers aren't bad. It is a relief to their bodies and organs when the numbers are in normal range. The advice above about feeding more carbs if we have to be gone or running home to check are great options that even I will use.

I hope that you and Corky have a Merry Christmas.
Thank you for your advise, but decided to stay home too wired up about all this I have my comfort here with Corky, Coco and a few shot of Tequila and of course Netflix, there will be others
 
Maria, do you have a thread that is more recent than this? I am trying to write to you, but I am not sure if this is your most recent thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top