Choosing a vet

TooFar McGee

Member Since 2025
I know a question like this will probably get a lot of different opinions but that's what I'm going for, more than one definitive answer.

I've been taking my cat to Banfield for years to manage his IBD, etc, and while his vet is fantastic and gave me her work email so I could send questions the first week while getting Norm's dose and curve figured out, I can't help but wonder if I could consider going to a cat-specific vet, considering the complexity of his overlapping diagnoses? I'm not made of money, though, and the Banfield plan has been helpful in paying for his care. I don't have pet insurance and it would cost a small fortune to insure Norm anymore, but also no point since everything is a pre-existing condition.

For folks who have been to both chains like Banfield and cat-specific vets, have you noticed a distinct difference in prices? Quality of care?
 
I tried Vet insurance when Corky began to get older, it did not work I had to pay all of the bill and then get reimbursed, and it never cover most of the bill or it was not covered the most it would pay if lucky was only 20%, and the vets bill was being ballooned, since I am as well in a very tight budget, it really did not work I realized that not only all vet office did not take the insurance, but that they hike up the price, I was paying more for the insurance, than what was being reimbursed. and the most important question about a specialist, Nort all vets are well schooled in Feline diabetes, you have the lab reports from Banfiield, and seek a good FD Vet. Also, there are fundraisers for cats in needs, link below, they assist for most illnesses. You are using ProZinc but I see his numbers are high, what is Norm's diet are you feeding dry or wet can food? you are home testing, and Norm has a Libre sensor on, so you're getting a daily curve, no need to stress Norm at the vet and spend money on a curve, which is testing every two hours for a cycle (12 hours) a FD vet can handle the IBD probably cheaper, I will tag a couple of members that are very familiar with IBD, and send you valuable information as well

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko

Financial Help Links
 
I went to college with someone who later ended up with a DVM degree and worked for Banfield for a couple years. She had so many stories about how the chain tries to suck as much money out of clients as possible 🫣 Old discussions here on FDMB (now long lost) didn't have many positive things to say about Banfield either but it may vary on location.

I've never used a cat specific vet so I don't know how they compare to a regular vet. Long ago there was a FDMB member who mainly used a cat only vet hospital for routine care for her diabetic and also used an internal medicine specialist for the diabetes related stuff. The member recommended the internal medicine specialist to me for my diabetic cat at the time and now years later I'm still using the same vet for Leroy's various issues. The vet seems to have a good handle on all of Leroy's issues. The vet hospital is $$$ but it's worth it IMO for the expertise and full services offered.
 
The only vet chain I've gone to is my ER vet, VEG (Veterinary Emergency Group); I've been happy with their care, though they are a bit pricy, and I don't have a basis for comparison for emergency/24-hour care.

I've also never used a cat-specific vet, but I go to a small local veterinary practice and they've been really good. (I found them via a recommendation from a friend who uses them for her four cats.) I always tend to prefer small/local/independent for most things, just as a rule, so your mileage may vary? And honestly, recommendation aside, I've assessed my vet the way I do my own PCP, by observation and results.

Some of the qualities I like best about her (these are examples of the kinds of things I look for) are that she's very engaged and always ready/eager to do more research to learn about anything she doesn't have experience with yet, and she's very collaborative, takes my input seriously, and is willing to talk through everything in detail. These in addition to the fact that she has plenty of years of experience in her work, had worked with diabetic cats before, and her recommendations have tended to have positive/desirable results. She's a doctor I can work with and trust, who knows her stuff but isn't done learning (which seems important since it's a complicated field and no single doctor is likely to ever have all possible expertise - even a cat-only vet, I suspect).

I will say that also, the small, local vet has that more "personal" feeling to it, and their prices are not only reasonable (as vet services go), but they are very up-front with assistance options and even willing to consider individualized payment plans if absolutely necessary. There's such a genuine sense of caring and community, and it's not subject to overarching corporate standards, rules, etc. I guess the biggest downside can be availability - my vet is one of two at her practice, and she is increasingly preferred and in demand by clients, so she's been getting pretty booked up; also, they are only open during regular business hours (M-F, 9-5).

Obviously, I have a bit of an anti-corporation bias, but that said, if you don't feel like your chain place is draining you dry, and you feel like your vet is knowledgeable, able to make decisions based on her judgement/research and not corporate "best practices," and communicates well, she might be worth staying for. I don't think there's any substitute for knowing what qualities you value in a doctor (of any kind) and assessing yours individually.

... apparently I have a lot of opinions about this. 😅
 
The only vet chain I've gone to is my ER vet, VEG (Veterinary Emergency Group); I've been happy with their care, though they are a bit pricy, and I don't have a basis for comparison for emergency/24-hour care.

I've also never used a cat-specific vet, but I go to a small local veterinary practice and they've been really good. (I found them via a recommendation from a friend who uses them for her four cats.) I always tend to prefer small/local/independent for most things, just as a rule, so your mileage may vary? And honestly, recommendation aside, I've assessed my vet the way I do my own PCP, by observation and results.

Some of the qualities I like best about her (these are examples of the kinds of things I look for) are that she's very engaged and always ready/eager to do more research to learn about anything she doesn't have experience with yet, and she's very collaborative, takes my input seriously, and is willing to talk through everything in detail. These in addition to the fact that she has plenty of years of experience in her work, had worked with diabetic cats before, and her recommendations have tended to have positive/desirable results. She's a doctor I can work with and trust, who knows her stuff but isn't done learning (which seems important since it's a complicated field and no single doctor is likely to ever have all possible expertise - even a cat-only vet, I suspect).

I will say that also, the small, local vet has that more "personal" feeling to it, and their prices are not only reasonable (as vet services go), but they are very up-front with assistance options and even willing to consider individualized payment plans if absolutely necessary. There's such a genuine sense of caring and community, and it's not subject to overarching corporate standards, rules, etc. I guess the biggest downside can be availability - my vet is one of two at her practice, and she is increasingly preferred and in demand by clients, so she's been getting pretty booked up; also, they are only open during regular business hours (M-F, 9-5).

Obviously, I have a bit of an anti-corporation bias, but that said, if you don't feel like your chain place is draining you dry, and you feel like your vet is knowledgeable, able to make decisions based on her judgement/research and not corporate "best practices," and communicates well, she might be worth staying for. I don't think there's any substitute for knowing what qualities you value in a doctor (of any kind) and assessing yours individually.

... apparently I have a lot of opinions about this. 😅
I agree with you on the local vet. My local vet got bought out by VCA and the care went through the floor. So went to a vet that is owned by her and it helped that she can see my reptiles too. She is only 8-6 M-F but she answers emails on the weekend.

Sidenote for Allie....I <3 VEG!!!! They are more affordable than the other emergency vets and I love that I can stay with my animal throughout the process. Makes me less stressed and the animal less stressed too. <3
 
is not having a cat only vet, you just need to make sure the vet you choose is updated and has the proper experience in Feline Diabetes, they may treat dogs diabetes, but is not the same as a cat, don’t feel uncomfortable asking questions, and doubts, you are paying him, a specialist is good to always have handy, and they are more expensive, but feline diabetes is manageable and if the vet is experienced and updated, he/she will know the correct treatment, home testing Insulin should be ProZinc or Lantus never Caninsulin, that insulin is for dogs, the correct diet of low carbs between 0-10%, not “prescribed food” they are extremely high in carbs, if he speaks of a curve, the cat does not need to be with vet all day, the readings will always be higher out of stress to the cat,causing increase in the dose given, curves can be done in the comfort of the home, these are the things to look for in a vet, things that are crucial to regulate diabetes
 
Leroy's vet is in the office 3 days a week now, maybe 4. He's cut back his hours a lot since the pandemic and probably to spend more time with his family. His secretary is in all week and can get a hold of him if needed and with whoever is covering for him. I'm also allowed to contact the vet directly at any time with Leroy issues. I'm not sure if the vet allows other clients to do this but he's been my vet for close to 15 years or so now so we have a good client-vet relationship.

I wouldn't say my vet is a diabetes specialist. There's actually an internal medicine vet who specializes in that. My vet does the typical "by the book" treatment for most clients but he lets me do whatever with Leroy as long as he's kept up to date. In fact, he once told me that he just does whatever I tell him because it's my cat and I know what's best 😂

Have you seen this? Vet Interview/Screening Topics & Check List

Whether to use a chain or a local place is up to you. The most important thing is a vet who you feel comfortable working with.
 
is not having a cat only vet, you just need to make sure the vet you choose is updated and has the proper experience in Feline Diabetes, they may treat dogs diabetes, but is not the same as a cat, don’t feel uncomfortable asking questions, and doubts, you are paying him, a specialist is good to always have handy, and they are more expensive, but feline diabetes is manageable and if the vet is experienced and updated, he/she will know the correct treatment, home testing Insulin should be ProZinc or Lantus never Caninsulin, that insulin is for dogs, the correct diet of low carbs between 0-10%, not “prescribed food” they are extremely high in carbs, if he speaks of a curve, the cat does not need to be with vet all day, the readings will always be higher out of stress to the cat,causing increase in the dose given, curves can be done in the comfort of the home, these are the things to look for in a vet, things that are crucial to regulate diabetes

These are important things, but I will say, my vet does a lot of her own research and has experience, but still had not heard some of the things I've learned here on the board about FD. (The information about the prescription food was a surprise to her, but she was on board with switching my cat to Fancy Feast and was already aware that it was actually better than a lot of people assume.) That hasn't been a problem because she listens to and works with me; she doesn't necessarily do whatever I want, but she also doesn't assume she automatically knows better and is always interested in new information to weigh carefully along with her experience and training. I ultimately find that collaborative approach and willingness to continue to learn more valuable than already knowing every up-to-date detail about FD treatment.
 
These are important things, but I will say, my vet does a lot of her own research and has experience, but still had not heard some of the things I've learned here on the board about FD. (The information about the prescription food was a surprise to her, but she was on board with switching my cat to Fancy Feast and was already aware that it was actually better than a lot of people assume.) That hasn't been a problem because she listens to and works with me; she doesn't necessarily do whatever I want, but she also doesn't assume she automatically knows better and is always interested in new information to weigh carefully along with her experience and training. I ultimately find that collaborative approach and willingness to continue to learn more valuable than already knowing every up-to-date detail about FD treatment.
My comentalscwere not to convince you otherwise, if you feel comfortable with her, so be it, You asked, and I pointed out facts that are necessary to bring you cat to get regulated, Is unfortunately that vet are so busy with patients, that when a sales person comes in with a “prescribed food” the put it on the shelves, without knowing the nutrients in the food, the salesman sells, makes commission, the vet sales get commission, the diabetic cat suffers the consequences, I am far from an expert I began by trial and error, I have learned soo much from the information from this forum and their members, my Corky’s lifetime vet and Coco’s lifetime vet fired me, when I showed up with FD, I had no idea what to do or how, Corky was hospitalized for 8 days with 650 BG, I never knew cat suffered from FD, I banged this for 3 months by myself, at the hospital where he was hospitalized for 8 days, Tod me that a diabetic cat’s BG Should be between 200-300, I was given a bag full of supplies, a Libre sensor was hay fell off once I got home and the the monitor going off in the middle of the night that his BG was49, needless to say there were many sleepless nights. Cried till there were no more tears, at the point of a nervous breakdown, This Forum. Found by coincidence, looking for answers, saved my Corky’s life, I have not Once taken him to the vet for any diabetes reason, I have this Forum, it guided me into reduction/increases, concerns about Corky’s health, I was never told about the diet I was mislead about the BG range, I was diss appointed by the vet that treated Corky since he was 8 weeks old, he was diagnosed at 10 1/2 yo and I thought his vet was the best of the best, so, by my experience, is not how comfortable I feel about the vet, is how my Corky is developing thru the management given, today, Corky has become an example in this Forum, h will be a lifetime diabetic, but his BG numbers are remission numbers, when I thought I was losing himof how manageable FD is with the proper necessary needs such as home testing, right insulin, right diet, and updated information, I trust this Forum blindly, more than I trust a vet, and the hat is my opinion, the only thing I can say follow your instincts, you know your cat better than the vet that sees him now and then
 
My comentalscwere not to convince you otherwise, if you feel comfortable with her, so be it, You asked, and I pointed out facts that are necessary to bring you cat to get regulated, Is unfortunately that vet are so busy with patients, that when a sales person comes in with a “prescribed food” the put it on the shelves, without knowing the nutrients in the food, the salesman sells, makes commission, the vet sales get commission, the diabetic cat suffers the consequences, I am far from an expert I began by trial and error, I have learned soo much from the information from this forum and their members, my Corky’s lifetime vet and Coco’s lifetime vet fired me, when I showed up with FD, I had no idea what to do or how, Corky was hospitalized for 8 days with 650 BG, I never knew cat suffered from FD, I banged this for 3 months by myself, at the hospital where he was hospitalized for 8 days, Tod me that a diabetic cat’s BG Should be between 200-300, I was given a bag full of supplies, a Libre sensor was hay fell off once I got home and the the monitor going off in the middle of the night that his BG was49, needless to say there were many sleepless nights. Cried till there were no more tears, at the point of a nervous breakdown, This Forum. Found by coincidence, looking for answers, saved my Corky’s life, I have not Once taken him to the vet for any diabetes reason, I have this Forum, it guided me into reduction/increases, concerns about Corky’s health, I was never told about the diet I was mislead about the BG range, I was diss appointed by the vet that treated Corky since he was 8 weeks old, he was diagnosed at 10 1/2 yo and I thought his vet was the best of the best, so, by my experience, is not how comfortable I feel about the vet, is how my Corky is developing thru the management given, today, Corky has become an example in this Forum, h will be a lifetime diabetic, but his BG numbers are remission numbers, when I thought I was losing himof how manageable FD is with the proper necessary needs such as home testing, right insulin, right diet, and updated information, I trust this Forum blindly, more than I trust a vet, and the hat is my opinion, the only thing I can say follow your instincts, you know your cat better than the vet that sees him now and then
Oh, no worries - I wasn't the question-asker, actually! And I'm not arguing with you, either, just wanted to add some perspective from my experience (which is that a competent, collaborative vet who will work with you to learn the information can be as good as one who already checks all the boxes).

I'm sorry you and Corky had such a rough experience, and this board has helped me enormously too! There is a ton of helpful information and experience here, not to mention support. That said, I trust no one and nothing blindly - my point was more about how to assess a vet to know if they are someone you can work with towards your cat's best interests. I think it's good to have more resources rather than fewer, and that there is value to professional training and expertise (but that you can't assume competence based on those things and do need to use your own judgement on whether the professional you're working with will be able to help the way you need them to).

(I will also note that my own cat not only was in remission from FD for almost four years, but that he got there on a "prescription" diet. Which I'm sure was just especially good luck on our part! I'm glad to have learned about the importance of a low-carb diet from the board, so I can give him the best chances at good health now that he's back on insulin and in need of more care. But some things are not completely cut and dry, especially since every cat is, as the board maxim states, different.)

I seem to have upset you, which certainly was not my intention at all; I apologize if I came off as dismissive or argumentative. You were very kind and helpful to me when I was first posting here, and I appreciate your perspective!
 
Back
Top