Jojo, Jan, Jen, and all other who want a complete history of this situation. This is what I know about it.
Jennifer (Tucker's Mom) and I have been helping Maria with Choco. Maria is a foster Mom with Kitten Associates, a rescue for which Jennifer is a Board member.
Choco's diabetes came to our attention on Friday, January 28. Maria approached Jennifer about it because of their relationship through Kitten Associates. We also were told that Choco would need a dental procedure because of a bad tooth. Jennifer asked DCIN to help Maria financially because she uses so much of her own financial resources for the fosters she cares for for Kitten Associates and other rescues. Jennifer gave Maria links to the FDMB and DCIN.
On that Friday at DX, Choco tested at 369 and the vet recommended wet food. Maria changed Choco to Fancy Feast classic. The vet discussed ProZinc with Maria, but agreed to prescribe Lantus because the Lantus resources here on the FDMB (including the number of persons using it) are greater.
The vet prescribed Lantus on Monday, and DCIN shipped a pen to Maria from Texas, which was delivered to her location on Tuesday and which she acquired on Wednesday. DCIN also shipped testing equipment that Maria received on Wednesday. I offered to put Maria in touch with a woman in her hometown who could teach her hometesting, but Maria was able to successfully test Choco from the start.
On Monday, after Maria got the script from her vet, she wrote Jennifer and me:
Dr. M. did say that we should go ahead and get him on the insulin with the diet change and then look at dealing with his teeth because although he does look like he may have a cavity, she's seen worse and really wants to get his numbers to where they should be.
I am not aware that Maria's vet gave her a starting dose or dosing instructions, but did ask Maria to do a curve on Choco, which Maria was prepared to do on Saturday.
In our email communication with Maria, Jennifer and I frequently recommended the FDMB. Tuesday is the day, though, that the Board crashed.
Jennifer and I discussed dosing on Wednesday morning and agreed on .5U if Choco tested over 250. Marie had told Jennifer she was uncomfortable shooting a low 200 number. I told Maria:
The FDMB is starting to move to a lower starting dose because some cats have needed a dose decrease after starting at 1U.
(note from Rebecca, founder of FelineDiabetes.com and FDMB: Please don't use terminology like this. "The FDMB" hardly has a consensus on this and I personally disagree with much of what is touted by more vocal members of the FDMB. This is an OPINION, not a recommendation, not backed up by scientific research, and may even be a minority opinion. Doesn't matter. It is not a position of the FDMB. The position of the FDMB is listen to your vet, do your own research, and be very cautious about advice being given by non-veterinarians. Again, I refer to Janet's excellent post at: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=973
Jennifer and I suggested a 250 shoot/no shoot line based on Maria's comfort level. We intended to suggest moving that line down after maybe a day of readings and data on his reaction to the .5U. We provided links to information about treating hypos and to Jojo's hypo toolbox.
Maria called me Thursday evening because her first test of Choco's BG level was 254. I advised that she shoot, which she did. I advised BG tests at +2 and +4. After +2, when Choco tested 300, Maria wrote:
He is acting kind of lethargic but is able to walk around and he did jump on the bed. I'm worried that his numbers are so much higher now. Should I be?
I replied:
Some cats get a food spike, a higher number after eating. Because it takes Lantus about 2-3 hours to onset, a higher number in the 2-3 hours after shooting and eating is not unusual, especially in the early going.
Maria replied:
Okay, I will check again around 11:00 (+4) at what point do I need to be concerned? He is still acting "strange" to me. He is not wanting to move around too much and you can tell in his eyes that he is not feeling well. He did eat after I gave him the insulin but when I put the food in front of him just now, he wants nothing to do with it which may be nothing more than he is not hungry. I guess I just need to know what kind of numbers are too high and what kind of symptoms warrant taking him into the vet.
At this point, Jennifer questioned whether Maria had ketone test strips and advised that Maria buy some. I agreed with ketone testing and provided a link to the Pets with Diabetes Wikia article on ketones. I said:
Although [ketones] seem unlikely given the two numbers we have on Choco, it's always wise in the early going to check for them.
You say " I guess I just need to know what kind of numbers are too high and what kind of symptoms warrant taking him into the vet." Given you are just starting out, Choco is going to be lethargic for awhile. My Maxwell was a dishrag for about a month until we got up to a dose that made him feel better. The symptom that warrants taking him to the vet, and immediately, is anything above "trace" on the ketone testing strip.
Please give the insulin a week, and yes, you may see high numbers, until the numbers might warrant a vet visit.
Because he has the bad tooth, and infection + high blood glucose + dehydration + inappetance can lead to ketones, you might ask the vet about getting a course of Clindamycin to knock down any infection in his mouth. Also, be sure he is well hydrated; you can add water to his wet food. Make sure he eats at least enough for his ideal body weight. (15 calories per pound of ideal body weight a day.) If he is hungry and wants more, let him have it. Unregulated diabetics do not well process the needed nutrition from their food and can be, literally, starving. If he does not eat well, find something he will eat, even if it is human tuna in water or all meat baby food (with no onions).
Jennifer and I both referred to the FDMB, specifically to the stickies on the Lantus forum. Maria registered and did some reading here Thursday night.
On Friday morning, Maria told us that Choco tested at 145 and that she did not shoot. She later corrected herself and told us the reading had been 245. She said she would spend the weekend reading the FDMB. We did not hear directly from Maria on Friday night as she had begun posting here. As she reported in her first post here, Choco's PMPS was 245, she did not shoot, and three hours later his blood sugar remained relatively stable, going down to 229. However, she continued to express concern about his behavior and lack of appetite. She also indicated that she had gone to six pharmacies and finally found ketostix, and would test him as soon as she could.
Saturday morning, Maria repeated her concerns about Choco's lethargy and inappetance in an email to Jennifer. His BG level that morning was 218. Jennifer recommended that Maria shoot insulin because the numbers were high enough to do so, but because Choco did not eat breakfast, that Maria should try to measure a .25U dose, again cautious because of little data on his reaction to insulin. Jennifer suggested some medical reasons why Choco might have a bellyache, such as the change to the new food. Jennifer wrote:
Your blood sugar numbers are not terribly high, this really could be just a belly ache or something. You may find the folks on FDMB have more thoughts about this than V and I do, collectively on the board folks have dealt with so many different things the knowledge from so many can really be helpful when we're stuck. I'd suggest you post again on the board.
At 10am on Saturday morning, Choco's BG level was 240, but because of his inappetance and lethargy, she took him to the vet. The rest of the history is pretty much on this post and in Choco's blog page, which I have linked to.
Above, Jojo said:
i am questioning the instructions you received which feel like to me as though one took someone that has lived in the desert their whole life and dropped them off in middle of ocean with a flotation device full of holes and said 'see ya next month on shore! have a nice swim, kthxbia!' and then wonders why they drowned.
(From the urban dictionary... kthxbai ...Variation of 'kthxbye' - the internet bastardization of "OK, thank you, goodbye". Generally used with contempt, or for hasty exit.)
Maria, Jennifer, and I were in frequent contact with each other, and Maria was not left on her own with a flotation device full of holes. Consistent with the way we handle newbies here at FDMB, Jennifer and I were giving Maria information in small chunks and allowing her to absorb that information before moving onto additional information. We provided insulin and testing supplies in a timely manner, and Maria used those tools in a timely fashion. Jennifer and I recommended the FDMB in almost every email, and Maria did post here in a timely manner--27 hours after she started Choco on insulin.