Melita & Chnoudi
Member Since 2020
Hello! After PMPS 196, I shoot the same? 1.25? OR I should reduce the dose?
Thank you!
Thank you!
Thank you so much!Get a +2. If it’s lower than the pretest you will need more tests. If it’s higher then you can then test +4. I should be able to check in with you around +4. If not sure what to do, add the question mark prefix to your subject and change to say need help. Put your +2 in the box and the rest of your numbers if in doubt.


I test first, then feed and then shoot. But between feeding and shooting there is a gap of 20-30minuts, while she's eating.Hi. Just to clarity, I know you fed a half hour before shooting, but are you testing when you feed or right before you shoot?
Soya beans do have a significant amount of carb, but the ingredients state soy oil and soy lecithin, so I don't know if that would be high in carb.As I see from the contents it can cause an increase to BG, right? Soy is full of carbs!
Well, she eats 1/2 of the can at 10:30 (11:00 is the shooting time)
The reason your vet would have recomended you feed 30minutes before you shoot is that with the faster acting insulins you want to have time for that food to start to be digested before the insulin onsets since it onsets so fast. With Lantus onset is around +2 for most cats, so there is no need to wait the 30minutes after feeding. It may just be that your vet is more used to using the faster acting insulins and didn't make the distinction.I test first, then feed and then shoot. But between feeding and shooting there is a gap of 20-30minuts, while she's eating.
Oh I understand! Well, she eats 1/2 of the can at 10:30 (11:00 is the shooting time), then at 17:00 (after the +6 test) she eats another 1/4 of the can and at 22:30 (before the 23:00 shot) she eats again 1/2 of the can.
Thank you so much I ve read everything very carefully!! I ll try to reply, though my English don't help me very much..Soya beans do have a significant amount of carb, but the ingredients state soy oil and soy lecithin, so I don't know if that would be high in carb.
Are you giving her the liquid, tablet or is it in a capsule?? (the capsules can be full of carbs)
As it's just a food supplement maybe you could not give it for a couple of nights and see if it makes a difference. The problem with a lot of supplements is that they don't tell you if there are sugars in them. I had a problem with some arthritis supplements, tablet form, they had sugars and they seemed to affect Georges BG.
So supplements may cause sime higher BGs, if it turns out they have carbs in them, but they would not be responsible for a bounce.
FWIW the numbers in the evening don't look like bounces to me, it looks more like she has more carbs on board in the evening meal. With a bounce you would expect the numbers to remain high and flat for more than just that one cycle.
If there are some hidden carbs in those supplements they could, at least in part, be contributing to those higher numbers at night. One thing I would like to clarify for you is that not all high numbers are bounces,
From the Basics Sticky
- Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
The reason your vet would have recomended you feed 30minutes before you shoot is that with the faster acting insulins you want to have time for that food to start to be digested before the insulin onsets since it onsets so fast. With Lantus onset is around +2 for most cats, so there is no need to wait the 30minutes after feeding. It may just be that your vet is more used to using the faster acting insulins and didn't make the distinction.
As @Vyktors Mum said I was one of those who would shoot while kitty had his head in the bowl.
I'm glad that you are testing before you feed, since you then do know that the number you are shooting is not food influenced, I wonder though if feeding 30min before shooting might be contributing to the sharp drop that you see in the early part of those morning cycles. If kitty is digesting and metabolizing the food well before the onset, with little food on board it may cause her BG to drop more sharply.
That's how I used to feed in the beginning, after some trial and error and to try and flatten the curve and avoid the sharp drops George experienced at onset I ended up feeding at main meal at shooting time then snack at +2 +4 and +6. This worked better for us. But every cat is different, and it's early days for you both, just bear in mind that you can use food to avoid sharp drops, which in turn can mitigate the bounces.
Tonight is cycle 10 on the 1.25 units, looking at the nadirs, though you have seen green, they have both been in the 90's so there is room to take the dose up. Unless you see some lower green tonight if it were me I would be considering taking the dose up to 1.5u.
Some cats take a little longer to settle in to a dose, but I wouldn't recommend holding on to this dose for too long, she's spending a little bit too long in those pinks.
**If you are going to experiment with removing the supplement you might want to try that first before taking the dose up, just in case it's influencing her BG more significantly than you might expect.





test 30minutes after the foodOk, so I test again now, after the food intake?
that's fine, but if she drops below 50 you will need to feed. 50 is the take action point.No, I m not going to feed her anymore.
I hope so too, there's a saying here, 'shoot low to stay low' I hope you get the opportunity to shoot a lower number tonight. She will probably bounce, she dropped fast, and down into a lower green than she is used to, so I would not be surprised if she bounces. We just want to see how long she can spend in green. It's a process, the more she is in green, the more she get's used to it, the less likely we will be to see the physiological reaction. Try not to worry about the bounces, they are part of the process, until she becomes regulated.I hope PMPS is blue and green! And then, the big deal is the evening cycle...It' s always in high numbers..
I am incredibly moved by your help... Yes, I will make the new thread later with the new numbers. Thank you soooo much!In case we get a lower PMPS
have a read of this info post (sticky)
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/
I would suggest that you start a new thread today for Chnoudi.
11/24 Chnoudi amps 334 +3 144 +6 62 new to green this is standard format for the threads, it gives the important BG and you can ask a question at the end of the numbers if you need help with anything. We usually do a new thread every day. When the threads get too long it's difficult to look through them, it also means that when you have a new incident people can see quickly if you have had some help or if you are in need of it.
that's fine, but if she drops below 50 you will need to feed. 50 is the take action point.
I hope so too, there's a saying here, 'shoot low to stay low' I hope you get the opportunity to shoot a lower number tonight. She will probably bounce, she dropped fast, and down into a lower green than she is used to, so I would not be surprised if she bounces. We just want to see how long she can spend in green. It's a process, the more she is in green, the more she get's used to it, the less likely we will be to see the physiological reaction. Try not to worry about the bounces, they are part of the process, until she becomes regulated.
I have to go out in a bit to walk dogs, then feed cats, but I will pop back in to see you.


Someone was there for me once, so just paying it forward.I am incredibly moved by your help... Yes, I will make the new thread later with the new numbers. Thank you soooo much!![]()


That makes life easier when they have a good appetite.She is hungry all the time, no problem with her appetite!![]()
We have to look on the bright side, I'm sure Chnoudi is loving you being home.Yes, due to lockdown I am always at home, I can test whenever I want.
ExcellentHave no fear, supplies are always here!![]()
Sounds like you are ready for a PJ party.I ll set alarm clocks !
Yes you should.PMPS :178
Shall I start a new thread now? It was up to you all day long, you should rest![]()
That's no problem. I've got one hour till bedtime.It was up to you all day long, you should rest
wow!thats an excellent idea!Not bad for a pmps, are you happy to shoot?
Yes you should.
Every day start a new thread. I used to link the daily threads in the comments on the Spread sheet, so I could look back at advice given and refresh my memory of how a particular cycle/day went.