Chloe

Status
Not open for further replies.
More or less but usually prefer LC wet food and making sure she has not eaten for 2 hours prior to your next pre-test so the number is not food influenced. Only thing I've seen when starting a new vial is to do a couple reduced doses, maybe 3 cycles, to see how the strength is. Prozinc requires gentle rolling and I would think this should keep a more equal strength throughout the vial but I could be wrong. ;)
 
A good way to think of it too is that you want a kitty to have SOME BG number. When the number is 2 digits, that's good...that's a normal number off insulin. You don't want to give insulin at that point because it helps reduce the BG...and you don't want to reduce when they're normal.
 
I once knew a diabetic man who had to eat snacks during the day. Is that the same for leaving some kibble out for Chloe?

Yes, it's the same idea. As Yong said, it's generally best to leave out low-carb wet food since most kibble foods are high in carbs.

Basically, if the numbers are consistently high, then increase the dose a smidgeon, but keep it steady.

Dose increases are generally .25u, and yes, keep them steady - not faster than one increase every six cycles. So right now you've been at this dose for about five cycles. We recommend only making dose increases when you are going to be home to monitor the cycle in order to make sure Chloe doesn't go hypo from the increase.
Since you work during the day, that means you would usually only increase a dose on a weekend when you'll be home. That also means that you'll be holding increases for more than six cycles, and that's okay.

Even though I've been doing this for a couple of months now, I still post and ask others to advise me before I make dose changes. This is complicated and having more minds on it is helpful. I usually have an idea what I think is the right dose change, but I ask everyone to look at my data and see what they have to say before I make a change. I do this because I might be missing something in looking at the data.

I would recommend that you do that too. Post the pre-shot number and ask the group before you give the shot, especially right now while you're still learning. My habit is to test Sam, then give him his food, then I sit down at my computer and enter the number on the spreadsheet. If it's a number that is consistent with his usual numbers, I give him his usual dose. If it's a number that is strange (high or low), I post and ask for help before I give him his shot.

If the number is lower than 150, don't give her any more insulin. Better too high than too low. I'm a visual learner, so I'll try to find a video of what goes on in the body.

Since you aren't home to monitor Chloe during the day, and don't have a lot of data, do not give her insulin if the number is below 200.
 
More or less but usually prefer LC wet food and making sure she has not eaten for 2 hours prior to your next pre-test so the number is not food influenced. Only thing I've seen when starting a new vial is to do a couple reduced doses, maybe 3 cycles, to see how the strength is. Prozinc requires gentle rolling and I would think this should keep a more equal strength throughout the vial but I could be wrong. ;)
I have a bag of Royal Canin hypoglycemic that I'd like to use up.
 
I have a bag of Royal Canin hypoglycemic that I'd like to use up.

I definitely understand that. Cat food is expensive. When she stops eating it, you'll likely notice her numbers go down, and may need to make some dosing changes at that point, so when you're running out, make sure to let us know since that will be a factor to consider.
 
You've done a great job of getting in your pre-shot tests, and keeping the dose consistent! Nice work!

It looks like you're getting some more consistent numbers the past couple of cycles. I'm thinking it might be time to increase the dose to 1u for tomorrow evening's cycle.

Would you be able to get an extra test tomorrow evening to make sure 1u is safe for her?
 
You've done a great job of getting in your pre-shot tests, and keeping the dose consistent! Nice work!

It looks like you're getting some more consistent numbers the past couple of cycles. I'm thinking it might be time to increase the dose to 1u for tomorrow evening's cycle.

Would you be able to get an extra test tomorrow evening to make sure 1u is safe for her?
Yes, I can do that. Yesterday, my test and shot were a bit late. shot @ 7:45 pm. I have to take her reading and give her her shot at 7:15 today, so I'll keep it at .8 for now.
 
Yes, I can do that. Yesterday, my test and shot were a bit late. shot @ 7:45 pm. I have to take her reading and give her her shot at 7:15 today, so I'll keep it at .8 for now.
I gave her shot at 7:30, but I think it was a 'fur shot' because the area was a bit wet afterwards. I will be home by 4:30 today and do a test then.
 
Wow! Look at that nice yellow pre-shot again! I think keeping that dose stable the past few days has really helped Chloe! You're doing a great job!
 
Oh no! I just saw the fur shot post. Ugh. It happens to all of us. I just did one the other day.

DO NOT reshoot. Chloe will be okay, and you'll get back on track this evening.
 
Roberta, make sure to enter a note in the comments section about the AM Fur Shot (FS) or change the dose cell from 0.8 to FS.
 
I hope you had a good day at school today!

Here's what I'm thinking about your three options for tonight:

1. If you get a pre-shot that is below 200, do NOT give any insulin.

2. If you get the pre-shot test and it's over 200, AND you can get a second test at +3 or later, then I think you could give 1u.

3. If you get the pre-shot and it's over 200, BUT you can't/don't want to get a second test at +3 or later, then stay at .8u for now.

Here's the reasoning:

First, if the pre-shot test is below 200, then you don't give insulin. You learned that the other evening.

Second, if you increase the dose, you need to be able to monitor (get extra tests) to make sure that the blood glucose doesn't go too low. Whenever you raise the dose, you can't predict the results, because even a drop of insulin can make a difference. Insulin is a very powerful hormone.

Third, if you can't or don't want to do extra tests, then you need to keep the dose the same for now, in order to keep Chloe safe.


Since there are three different options, it might be confusing. I'll be around this evening at your shot time, so if you want to post your pre-shot results, and what you're thinking for the dose, I'm happy to clarify any of this.
 
I hope you had a good day at school today!

Here's what I'm thinking about your three options for tonight:

1. If you get a pre-shot that is below 200, do NOT give any insulin.

2. If you get the pre-shot test and it's over 200, AND you can get a second test at +3 or later, then I think you could give 1u.

3. If you get the pre-shot and it's over 200, BUT you can't/don't want to get a second test at +3 or later, then stay at .8u for now.

Here's the reasoning:

First, if the pre-shot test is below 200, then you don't give insulin. You learned that the other evening.

Second, if you increase the dose, you need to be able to monitor (get extra tests) to make sure that the blood glucose doesn't go too low. Whenever you raise the dose, you can't predict the results, because even a drop of insulin can make a difference. Insulin is a very powerful hormone.

Third, if you can't or don't want to do extra tests, then you need to keep the dose the same for now, in order to keep Chloe safe.


Since there are three different options, it might be confusing. I'll be around this evening at your shot time, so if you want to post your pre-shot results, and what you're thinking for the dose, I'm happy to clarify any of this.
I'm just keeping it a skinny 1 unit for another day or 2.
 
First, it looks like you skipped the dose since you were off schedule tonight. That's the right thing to do.

As far as the 421, there are a few reasons why she might be high:

1. Did she eat anything different last night or day? More food? different food? What cats eat impacts their blood glucose.

2. The dose might be too low.

3. The dose might be too high.

The only way to tell the difference between #2 and #3 is by getting mid-cycle tests. Then we can help you figure out how to get Chloe to the right dose. I know it's hard when you work all day, but anytime you can get an extra test or two in, it will really help you and us figure out what's going on.

Do you have spring break coming up soon?
 
Yep, it's hard to tell. Getting in some before bed tests on days you can't get mid cycles will help, and then grabbing mid cycles on the weekends or other off days will really tell us what's going on.
 
We really need to see some other tests, either near the middle on weekends or just before bed on week days. Testing before a shot is essential and it's great that you're doing that to keep Chloe safe. However, finding the good dose requires data on how low she's going. Kitties can dip very low in the middle of a cycle and then jump back up at the end. If you just have pre shot data you might think a dose is too low when in fact the middle numbers might show it's too high.
 
Chloe's test at 7 pm tonight was 237. I gave her 1 unit. I'm wondering where to give her the shot. I was told to do it on the loose skin on her scruff.
 
70d6e5fc-bef5-4434-95d9-63070fd476e8_zpsed15ecfd.jpg
 
Chloe's test at 7 pm tonight was 237. I gave her 1 unit. I'm wondering where to give her the shot. I was told to do it on the loose skin on her scruff.
The SS said it was 276 at 7pm. Either way, it was yellow. Does the glucometer have a memory?
 
Yes, well done getting the extra test! The mid-cycle tests are the only way to know if the insulin dose is too high or too low, so that is really helpful information!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top