Chloe at 368 at +4, 340 at +8

Status
Not open for further replies.
I understand about switching foods . I should have said using the same brand foods. Like FF has different carbs for each of their different types.... ugh even I dont understand what I just said :confused:
 
well...not really. I'm not sure where 3:00 a.m. is in relation to your last test, but what I saw was a cat who was given honey multiple times over a period of 2 hours with no effect. When she finally came up is a good question, and it likely had nothing to do with the honey since that wears off very quickly.

I suppose the reaction to syrups is somewhat tied to how carb sensitive your own cat is, but most people here who use syrups I think would agree that you would usually see an immediate effect (ie. within minutes, not hours). Just some more food for thought for you on a Saturday :)
I gave her a drop of honey twice, and finally a whole teaspoon before going to bed. She seems to have delayed reactions.
 
I understand about switching foods . I should have said using the same brand foods. Like FF has different carbs for each of their different types.... ugh even I dont understand what I just said :confused:
I should have noted on my signature when she started back on the 9-Lives. I think it was about a week ago. I should also note when I catch her eating dry food, which she seems to prefer. She has lost a few of her teeth, so I don't know why she likes dry food when she has a hard enough time eating wet food. She's a noisy eater and tilts her head.
 
Last edited:
How can I do this when I tested in half-hour increments?
Here is an example 40@+2.5. half hour increments
40 @+2.75. 3/4 increments
Then you go in and manually fill in the correct color

Edit. Example let's just say you got a BG reading of 70 and that was at 2:00 PM and it was @+2
And then you tested her at 2:30 PM and she tested 75 so you would put 75 @+2.5
If you didn't test until 2:45 PM. It would be 75 @+2.75 (3/4 of an hour)
 
Last edited:
How can I do this when I tested in half-hour increments?
Just stack the numbers in the same cell, and don't forget to add NS in the insulin dose column just so people are clear you didn't shoot any insulin.

So if you had a test at +1 = 38 and again at +1.5=40, just show:
38, +1.5=40 in the same cell

Sorry I lost track of the testing and when, so above is just an example.
 
Just stack the numbers in the same cell, and don't forget to add NS in the insulin dose column just so people are clear you didn't shoot any insulin.

So if you had a test at +1 = 38 and again at +1.5=40, just show:
38, +1.5=40 in the same cell

Sorry I lost track of the testing and when, so above is just an example.
I lost track of the testing, too, but I think it's moot now. The main thing is that she stayed flat for 4 hours.
 
Just stack the numbers in the same cell, and don't forget to add NS in the insulin dose column just so people are clear you didn't shoot any insulin.

So if you had a test at +1 = 38 and again at +1.5=40, just show:
38, +1.5=40 in the same cell

Sorry I lost track of the testing and when, so above is just an example.
You're right I forgot there is only one cell for +1 and she kept testing
I was thinking when you just do regular testing without dropping numbers
Thanks Christie :cat:
 
I'm happy to see Chloe is coming down gradually today through the cycle. She is bouncing from the lows of yesterday, so while I know you have received instructions from your vet regarding adjusting the dose based on the preshot you get, maybe just humour me for a few more cycles, and stick with 0.25u.

Ideally I would like to see you be able to give the same dose consistently, both am and pm, so that you don't need to keep skipping shots, or having serious lows which are potentially damaging to Chloe.

How does this sound? And may I ask, what are your goals for Chloe? Remission? Regulation?

I'll check back for PMPS.
 
I'm happy to see Chloe is coming down gradually today through the cycle. She is bouncing from the lows of yesterday, so while I know you have received instructions from your vet regarding adjusting the dose based on the preshot you get, maybe just humour me for a few more cycles, and stick with 0.25u.

Ideally I would like to see you be able to give the same dose consistently, both am and pm, so that you don't need to keep skipping shots, or having serious lows which are potentially damaging to Chloe.

How does this sound? And may I ask, what are your goals for Chloe? Remission? Regulation?

I'll check back for PMPS.
She was very close to remission a few weeks ago when we went to the vet. Check out her labs. We are wondering if she has a UTI. I had them do a urine test when I was there and it was negative. I have a hunch that she might have gotten a UTI when they expressed her urine. I saw her try to pee today, but nothing came out. I will stick to the .25 until Monday, when I contact my vet.
 
I've had a couple people ask me to step in. I've read most of what was posted in this long thread and want to make a few comments.

First - an important Sticky Note I hope all have read: FDMB Guide to Posting and Etiquette
Our
goal here is to help the cats and keep them safe and to help the caregivers help their cats. A couple key points from that post "be kind", "never personally attack anyone" and "recognize that reasonable people can differ in many aspects of treatment". To those points, I would like to request that we take the language here down a notch. Second, the dosing methods we use here are not the only ones out there. There are is at least one other board plus some vets who use a sliding scale for Lantus. Ours are not the only dosing methods, but we've found they've worked very well for the cats on here following them.

Roberta has chosen to follow her vet's advice for dosing, she is not the first person to do that. It might help the rest of us here Roberta, if you put "following vet's dosing advice" in your signature, so people stop getting tripped up by that.

We have seen cat with ketones issues with numbers in the 200's. You might want to read this cautionary tale: Oldtimer Alex Update & Ketone Awareness thread
 
I feel I need to clarify my perspective, since I was one of the people who stayed up quite late last night to help. I am glad that Wendy mentioned that there are other dosing methods out there, of which I too am aware, but have no direct experience. To be clear, I have no problem with other dosing methods. In fact, I have supported others in the past without passing judgement or criticism of following their vet's advice.

My biggest concern was, and still is, that it did not appear to me that any consideration is given to serious, potentially damaging lows. If I understand the latest instructions for Roberta, she would likely be shooting 0.75u tonight, I cannot support that; however, for Roberta and Chloe I am happy to continue to help if and when they need it, that is if they continue to want my help.
 
I feel I need to clarify my perspective, since I was one of the people who stayed up quite late last night to help. I am glad that Wendy mentioned that there are other dosing methods out there, of which I too am aware, but have no direct experience. To be clear, I have no problem with other dosing methods. In fact, I have supported others in the past without passing judgement or criticism of following their vet's advice.

My biggest concern was, and still is, that it did not appear to me that any consideration is given to serious, potentially damaging lows. If I understand the latest instructions for Roberta, she would likely be shooting 0.75u tonight, I cannot support that; however, for Roberta and Chloe I am happy to continue to help if and when they need it, that is if they continue to want my help.
My vet also gets concerned about the lows and takes them into consideration when she gives me dosing advice. She really is an excellent vet and gets great reviews. I will give the .25 dose a try, but if her next amps is above 300, I will go to .5. Chloe is eating again.
 
My vet also gets concerned about the lows and takes them into consideration when she gives me dosing advice. She really is an excellent vet and gets great reviews. I will give the .25 dose a try, but if her next amps is above 300, I will go to .5.
Ok hon, I'm good. I'll try and help you and Chloe in any other way I can, and will leave the dosing to you and your vet from now on :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top