Roberta and Chloe
Member Since 2020
I sent my vet Chloe's BG readings for October and she said that I should keep her at .25. I almost gave her .5 this morning before I read her email. I hope she'll go down into the blues today.
Fantastic! I didn’t realize you had officially chosen that option, even though you were doing a lot of things that paralleled SLGS. This will make planning and dosing decisions so much clearer.Thank you, JL. I thought I was doing the SLGS method since the beginning of October? Anyway, I will stick to the .25.
It's hard enough getting a .25, how on earth could I measure a .1?dose less than 0.25u
Oh, it’s very possible, and not uncommon around here. It takes a bit of finesse and practice, but I’m sure others would be happy to give you tips if you’re willing to consider it.It's hard enough getting a .25, how on earth could I measure a .1?
Chloe was eating her breakfast, so I assumed it was rising. Does it ever drop after eating? I do stall and let her eat before giving her insulin.As for today’s AMPS of 95, do you know if Chloe’s BG was rising or dropping at the time?
Thank you. I've already read this. If you look at the picture, which is enlarged, the .1 and the .25 doses look exactly the same to me. I'll have to find my magnifying glass.Pictures of how to draw small doses is in this Sticky Note Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing
Some people move to digital calipers to help with smaller dose. Depending on the type of syringes you use, there may be variability in where the zero line is placed. For a while, Neko's dose on the BD's was under the zero line. There was at least 1/3 of a unit there on some of them.
Yes. Those pictures must be enlarged x10 at least. I guess there is still insulin in the tip before you get to the first mark at 0.Did you follow the link to the Fine Dose Pictorial Guide
The idea behind the stall is to get another BG test before feeding or shooting — that way you can see which way the BG is heading without any other influences.Chloe was eating her breakfast, so I assumed it was rising. Does it ever drop after eating? I do stall and let her eat before giving her insulin.
I didn't receive your message until now. I thought I was kicked out of the site. (I still have PTSD from getting kicked off FB). Anyway, I finally figured it out somehow. Chloe's behavior is normal. She was very hungry this morning even though her BG was high.The idea behind the stall is to get another BG test before feeding or shooting — that way you can see which way the BG is heading without any other influences.
Yep, BG can continue to drop even after feeding, so in the situation above it’s a good idea to get another test or two in to prove (rather than assume), what is happening. This is especially true when you’re shootings a lower than normal number.
I see you shot a full 0.25u into a BG of 124 tonight. I’m not clear whether that was a rising number, so I strongly suggest you get a +1 or +2 to see what is happening. Next steps after that depend on where her BG is at at that time.
In you do get more than one test in within the same hour, it’s helpful if you put all of the values in your spreadsheet (you can “stack” them in the same cell).
Looks like Chloe has a pretty good day.![]()
The 80 was at 6 am and I gave her the .25 at 7:30 am. In between, she ate breakfast, but I will test again at +1.@Roberta and Chloe hope all is well with you and Chloe.
I noticed you shot the full 0.25u dose with an AMPS of 80 today. I’m not clear of this is a rising or dropping number, so please get a +1 or +2 test to see where this cycle is headed, and please keep testing if the numbers continue to drop.
Chloe has had multiple instances where she dropped below 90 in the past 10 days, so on the SLGS method you’ve chosen, she has earned a dose reduction. I realize it sounds nearly impossible to go lower than 0.25u but many of us have done it, and I assure you, it’s not only possible, it can be very beneficial to the cat. I encourage you to read more about using calipers and other tricks here:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
Please keep a close watch on those numbers today. Even if she doesn’t keep dropping, it will be very valuable to capture the data about how this cycle goes.
She's in the 200's all day. Do you really think I should lower her dose? I would prefer to see more blues first.how this cycle goes
