Tina and Gracie (GA)
Active Member
^^ what Kris said.
Good job on getting the number dialed in on your SS.
Good job on getting the number dialed in on your SS.
I’m not saying she’s as experienced as the people here by any means.? She seemed open & pleased to the info that this board has given me.I mean . . . I guess this makes sense in a way. There are great-knowledgeable doctors/specialists and there are some not so great, lack the knowledge.
Anyway, I'm glad you found a vet who is on board with you!
He's not very happy with me. I've been testing every hour for for the first half of the cycle the last few nights. We added another insulin to our game plan to try to bring his numbers down without having to increase his lantus dose. So he's hiding under the chair.doin' swell. how's chuck?
Thank you so much for your advice. Chloe is eating again. I'll have to call in at work to say I'll be late. I won't leave until she is above 100. When do you think I can give her a reduced dose, maybe .5?I see that 46 on your SS, Roberta. This dive might have been brewing since the 2.5 u dose on your AMPS yesterday of 113. I strongly encourage you to get a before bed test every night. She might have signalled her intention to drop then. The night before she dropped to low dark green when you gave 2.5 u on a PMPS of 149.
Just saw your negative ketones test - hurray! Skipping insulin after a DKA isn't ideal but I don't know what else you can do on a work day. She's far too low to give her shot.
Post DKA she needs enough insulin to keep ketones at bay. That means you might have to feed her higher carb food to support that higher dose. I don't know the carb level of the 9 Lives she eats but you might need to switch it up for now until she's well past the DKA crisis.
How long do you have before you have to leave for work? You could give 0.5 u just so she has some insulin in her. My guess is she'll bounce after this lime green so that tiny dose should be OK. If you give it, test her before you leave to see what's happening.Thank you so much for your advice. Chloe is eating again. I'll have to call in at work to say I'll be late. I won't leave until she is above 100. When do you think I can give her a reduced dose, maybe .5?
Good point, Steph.Based on 1/26, 1/27, and 2/9 AM cycles I think 0.5 units would be ok and I agree with testing before leaving the house after the dose.
If you test again before the insulin and she's over 150, I think 1 unit would be ok too.
She is at 58 and I've put some honey in her mouth at 6:30 and again just now. Her BC is not moving much. Do you think it's safe to go to work or should I wait another hour?How long do you have before you have to leave for work? You could give 0.5 u just so she has some insulin in her. My guess is she'll bounce after this lime green so that tiny dose should be OK. If you give it, test her before you leave to see what's happening.
If you don't have any higher carb food at home I suggest you get some. You can mix gravy style food (high) with low carb pate to create a medium carb food so you only need low carb and high carb in your pantry to give you lots of options.
She's not budging much. You can't surmise the %carbs from that analysis on the label unfortunately. You just have to assume that because it's a gravy style food it's high carb (usually starch in the gravy).She is at 58 and I've put some honey in her mouth at 6:30 and again just now. Her BC is not moving much. Do you think it's safe to go to work or should I wait another hour?
If you decide to stay home, try the 0.5 u dose. Test 2 hours after and keep high carb food out of the picture if you can.I just emailed work that I will be late, but after reading the new email from my principal, I don't feel like going in at all. I emailed back that I would be late, but that also, I was feeling harrassed. Maybe I won't go in at all today. He was supposed to do my observation yesterday and didn't and I'm sure he's going to claim that it was scheduled for today. Prick.
I just emailed work that I will be late, but after reading the new email from my principal, I don't feel like going in at all. I emailed back that I would be late, but that also, I was feeling harrassed. Maybe I won't go in at all today. He was supposed to do my observation yesterday and didn't and I'm sure he's going to claim that it was scheduled for today. Prick.
Side note: Do you have in writing (email or text) that the principal was supposed to do your observation yesterday? If so--I'd try not to worry. Did he just no show up yesterday? I'm sure that is frustrating-especially if you planned for it.
Wishing you and Chloe a good day.
I just tested her at +4 and she's at 121. I'm going to give her .5 now and go to work. Somehow I screwed up my SS and the colors don't show. I'll ask tech to fix it.If you decided to give 0.5 u you can enter it in one of the BG cells on your SS at the appropriate time. We need to see it.
You can manually colour it by using the little paint can icon in the SS tool bar. Please put in the dose in the appropriate time cell.I just tested her at +4 and she's at 121. I'm going to give her .5 now and go to work. Somehow I screwed up my SS and the colors don't show. I'll ask tech to fix it.
every time? I don't think so. I'm in the middle of a bunch of stuff and getting very frazzled. I put the time in the comments section, but that's not working either. It's 10:25 my time and I'm going to give her 1 unit. after I test one more time.You can manually colour it by using the little paint can icon in the SS tool bar. Please put in the dose in the appropriate time cell.
I'm not an expert, but did d you just tell us you're going to give your kitty a second dose of insulin in less than eight hours?every time? I don't think so. I'm in the middle of a bunch of stuff and getting very frazzled. I put the time in the comments section, but that's not working either. It's 10:25 my time and I'm going to give her 1 unit. after I test one more time.
She's at 248 at 10:25 am and I just gave her 2.5 units. Now I can breath again.
No, when I saw she was over 200 in the morning, I gave her the full dose (2.5u). Problem is, I didn't know when to give her the PM dose. She's been eating for quite a while on and off, so I gave her the 2.5 at 7:45 pm, which is only about 9 hours after her AM dose. It may have been a bit of a fur shot because I was so hesitant. I'll test her again in a couple hours.I'm not an expert, but did d you just tell us you're going to give your kitty a second dose of insulin in less than eight hours?
That's not safe to do.