This is odd. I took a reading at +11 and she hadn't changed much. At dinner time, she wasn't yowling for food, so I didn't give her any and didn't give her a shot. Now, 3 hours later, she's at 134. Any idea what's going on?Yes to what Kris said. It's great that you got a test today, but we need more than one day to know what's happening. Post after you get a test tonight and do a curve tomorrow and we'll be able to have a better sense of what's going on.
She's still not eating and lethargic. She attacked Fuzma last night because she was in her spot on the bed, and peed all over the bed. I had just changed the sheets that day. Then, after I calmed her and put her on the other side of the bed, she vomited, but it was clear. She's not feeling well today.That doesn't make sense to me. Why didn't you give her a shot?
No dose last night and a reduced dose this AM. Also, the ProZinc onset might not happen until closer to +3.at 9:45 am, her BG hasn't changed a bit.
They can go from zero to high ketones very quickly, in hours. She's had two NSs recently and you don't have enough data either from daytime or evenings to really know how the 1.5 u dose has been working. Did you do an immediate retest on 09 Feb when she had that 51 in the AM? We always recommend a retest when an out of the ordinary number pops up. It might have been a dud test and you might have been able to dose.What could change her ketones so quickly?
It might be part of the perfect storm. Ketones build when they aren't eating enough, haven't received enough insulin, are dehydrated and there's another stressor of some sort, usually infection or inflammation. A cat fight is a stressor too.Could it have been the fight she had with Fuzma last night?
You absolutely need to start syringe feeding now. You also have to haunt her in the litter box to get at least one urine ketone test today.And she still hasn't eaten.
Go to any pharmacy and buy a plastic syringe in the 20-30mL range, no needle just plunger/barrel assembly. Mix a little low carb wet food with enough water that when it's well blended it'll be able to be sucked into the syringe. Feed small amounts of that at a time to Chloe. Go online and Google videos of how to syringe feed a cat. There are lots out there.What is syringe feeding. Is it putting food in her mouth?
Thank you. I had a few of those from when Chango and Cheddar were sick. I used it to get some watery food down her throat. Her BG is down finally.Go to any pharmacy and buy a plastic syringe in the 20-30mL range, no needle just plunger/barrel assembly. Mix a little low carb wet food with enough water than when it's well blended it'll be able to be sucked into the syringe. Feed small amounts of that at a time to Chloe. Go online and Google videos of how to syringe feed a cat. There are lots out there.
She's been under the bed the last few hours. I got her out and she drank a lot of water and took of BG reading of 225. I'm going to force feed her now. She's very weak.I want to add that the curve they are suggesting and extra tests are very important.
If you give her a dose that is too much, she will go down low enough to cause a bounce. Those high numbers from the bounce are just as bad as high numbers from food. They can last longer too. So, you need to find out how the dose is working to see if you need to feed her more food or adjust the dose to keep her in a good range. Feeding more food is probably the best idea because she NEEDS the insulin to keep ketones at bay.
For now, syringe feeding her is a must and giving her the insulin.
I hope she's not going into DKA but the quicker it's caught, Chloe's chances are better.
Yes, I'm going now.If I was you, I'd be in the car on the way to the vet now.
Chloe is back in the hospital with another DKA. This time, they're going to do an abdominal ultrasound. Every time she goes to hospital, it costs me a month's wages. I will make an appointment with my regular vet for next week to find out if I should switch insulins.
The vet said that the abdominal scan showed pancreatitis, but Chloe started eating right afterwards. The vet also said that this time she will make a decision about which insulin to use and how much. I've been staying on a routine for the most part. Should I give her the shot within a certain time from when she starts eating? She eats for a long time. Is there medication to help get rid of pancreatitus?I'm sorry to hear Chloe is having another episode of DKA. I know you don't want to keep going on this merry-go-round and neither does she.
I would try really hard to get a solid routine down (giving insulin & food & testing for ketones) for the sake of Chloe, your sanity & bank account.
I don't want to keep repeating what these ladies said. Hoping Miss Chloe is feeing better today though.
This is in addition to her DKA state, correct? The pancreatitis could be the inflammatory event that, along with not enough insulin, not eating , etc. brought about the DKA. Your vet should be able to explain all that to you.the abdominal scan showed pancreatitis,
With ProZinc or Lantus (if you go to that) she only needs to eat a little in order to get the shot. So let her eat a tablespoon or so, give her dose and then let her take as long as she wants to eat the rest.Should I give her the shot within a certain time from when she starts eating? She eats for a long time.
Your vet should advise. Treatment is aimed at symptoms and can include pain meds, antinausea meds, appetite stimulant and sometimes subQ fluids. Ask a ton of questions of your vet and make notes. I seems you'll be dealing with two issues, the pancreatitis and the DKA - related but separate.Is there medication to help get rid of pancreatitus?
It'll have to be kept religiously and all the time along with more monitoring than you're accustomed to doing.I've been staying on a routine for the most part.
This is in addition to her DKA state, correct? The pancreatitis could be the inflammatory event that, along with not enough insulin, not eating , etc. brought about the DKA. Your vet should be able to explain all that to you.
With ProZinc or Lantus (if you go to that) she only needs to eat a little in order to get the shot. So let her eat a tablespoon or so, give her dose and then let her take as long as she wants to eat the rest.
Your vet should advise. Treatment is aimed at symptoms and can include pain meds, antinausea meds, appetite stimulant and sometimes subQ fluids. Ask a ton of questions of your vet and make notes. I seems you'll be dealing with two issues, the pancreatitis and the DKA - related but separate.
Yes! I agree 100%Abbott Precision Xtra meter is a meter that tests for Ketones & BG. Supplies are probably expensive like the AT, but maybe something to consider if you can't test her urine.
good ideaPS: I suggest setting a reminder or an alarm on your phone. You can set several.
I just came back from visiting her. She was back to her perky, purry self. The doctor wasn't there, but the tech mentioned something about potassium. What's that about?How is Chloe right now? Is she still at the vet, or did they release her?
I just came back from visiting her. She was back to her perky, purry self. The doctor wasn't there, but the tech mentioned something about potassium. What's that about?

I'm thinking of keeping Chloe locked in my bedroom for awhile with food and water, at least when I'm not home. When I keep an empty litter box in there, she pees in it and it's easy to get a ketone test. Ketones seem to pop up very quickly. I had gotten a ketone test less than a week before she got sick and it was negative.I really think a meter that tests for Ketones is necessary for Chloe. It can save you so much money and keep Chloe from getting so sick.
I've actually been thinking about getting one for Chuck. He's become a pro at digging up the plastic wrap I put in his box to get a sample. He's a snob.![]()
I really think a meter that tests for Ketones is necessary for Chloe. It can save you so much money and keep Chloe from getting so sick.
I've actually been thinking about getting one for Chuck. He's become a pro at digging up the plastic wrap I put in his box to get a sample. He's a snob.![]()
Here is a link to one of them: $28 for the meterHow much does a ketone meter cost?