She's never leveled out since she was diagnosed in January. I'm so stressed out.Could be. Probably from seeing blues and a possible green... Can't be sure she hit green.
Keep testing for ketones. Hopefully she'll level out soon.
I do know the feeling. Chuck bounced for almost a year. He still bounces but not so high.She's never leveled out since she was diagnosed in January. I'm so stressed out.
As long as it's low carb I'd say go for it. I know I do, and many people here use timers so kitty can't just gobble up everything that's left out for them.What if I just leave out food for her to eat during the day?
Oh man. That's tough. I think it's best to skip. I know she's had Ketones so if you must give her insulin give her a very small dose. 0.25 units... Get a before bed test if you give her any tonight.I'm not sure if I should give her a half dose or no dose tonight. I got home late anyway and I have to leave for work tomorrow at 7 am.
I skipped her shot.Did she eat less this morning?
Maybe between a fat 1 unit and skinny 1.5 (1.25 units) would be better for her under 200 preshots. Her bounces are somewhat predictable which is a good tool. She might bounce overnight. There's no way to tell how low she actually went but seeing a green might be enough to trigger her bounce.
Good luck with the new vet!negative for ketones. seeing the new vet tomorrow.
omg, she's bouncing like a rubber ball! Do you think I should go back to a fat 1 unit? Or is this bouncing normal when there is a dosage change?Good luck with the new vet!
Good news on the Ketones.
Might be worth getting a mid cycle tonight to see how low the 1.5 unit gets her on a blue preshot.
I think the 84 ps this morning shows that 1.5 was a bit too much for a 170 ps.omg, she's bouncing like a rubber ball! Do you think I should go back to a fat 1 unit? Or is this bouncing normal when there is a dosage change?
I will wait until I hear the results of the fructose test on Monday and ask the vet. I think your plan sounds reasonable for now. I just stared a new vial of Prozinc, so I'll continue that for awhile. I need to find out where to get Lantus cheap. It looks like it may be that Canadian pharmacy.I think the 84 ps this morning shows that 1.5 was a bit too much for a 170 ps.
They can bounce from dose changes but I think she is bouncing from getting lower numbers. Her preshot numbers are somewhat predictable.
She will probably bounce from the green. Did you give her insulin this morning?
Would you be willing to give 1.5 on 200+ ps and 1.25 (or fat 1) on the blue preshots?
This might help but if not it's easy to change back to same dose.
I am a big fan of Lantus. You might want to start on a weekend so you can test enough to know she's in safe numbers.
Hypo with lantus can last hours requiring HC snacks every half hour to bring them up to safe numbers. If you look at Chuck's SS you'll see the sudden and unexpected lime green and very low green numbers a few nights ago. So testing would be necessary to keep her safe. Maybe not as much as I test but mid cycles for sure.
You could post in the lantus forum and see what they think.
Yes, I think Mark's is the cheapest. You can find some in the supply closet here too.I will wait until I hear the results of the fructose test on Monday and ask the vet. I think your plan sounds reasonable for now. I just stared a new vial of Prozinc, so I'll continue that for awhile. I need to find out where to get Lantus cheap. It looks like it may be that Canadian pharmacy.
I think I've been pretty consistant with the times. If you look at my spreadsheet, I put the times in the comments next to the numbers. What is the consequence of shooting 30 minutes late with Lantus? I think I asked the vet and she said it's not so important. I am going to take Steph's advice and shoot 1.25 u in the morning and 1.5 u in the pm and see if that evens her out.You wondered about Lantus in the past and I recall responding and telling you that it's less forgiving timing-wise. It's best to stick to as close to a 12/12 shooting schedule as possible. Also, it's dosed based on the nadir value, not the pre shots so you definitely need mid cycle tests to assess a dose. It's different from ProZinc in those key ways. Steph can help you with that but you will have to operate with more constraints.
With the depot insulins, a change in dose timing can have an effect on the depot. Shooting early more than 15 minutes or so can act like a small dose increase because the depot is fuller still. Shooting more than 15 minutes late can act like a small dose decrease because the depot has drained a bit more by that time.I think I've been pretty consistant with the times. If you look at my spreadsheet, I put the times in the comments next to the numbers. What is the consequence of shooting 30 minutes late with Lantus? I think I asked the vet and she said it's not so important. I am going to take Steph's advice and shoot 1.25 u in the morning and 1.5 u in the pm and see if that evens her out.
Hi Steph. I heard from the vet. She said that Chloe was fair and I should continue Prozinc at 1.5 units.Just checking in... Looks like she's being somewhat consistent with preshots.
Hopefully the PMPS will get a bit lower soon.
I would use caution on the preshots under 200. Make sure she's not going too low by getting before bed tests or mid cycle tests on those cycles.Hi Steph. I heard from the vet. She said that Chloe was fair and I should continue Prozinc at 1.5 units.
Yes, my vet said "I would use caution on the preshots under 200. Make sure she's not going too low by getting before bed tests or mid cycle tests on those cycles.
I think if the red preshots return it might show she's bouncing.
I was going to suggest a "skinny" 1.5 but wasn't sure it was a good idea without data to back it up.
Good to hear your vet seems to be keeping in touch. Always nice when they're willing to work with you.
I like both names! I've decided I'm not going to adopt another cat once mine are gone. I'll foster but I'm going to try not to claim any as my own.I adopted a kitten from the pound! He looks a lot like Chico (orange tabby). I'll pick him up on Monday after his operation. I think I'll name him Milo. Cheddar is cute, too. What do you think? I hope he'll be a good playmate for Chico.![]()
I think Chloe hid the Relion meter. She was messing about on the nightstand during the night. So I used the Everpaw and got 401. I'm going back to 1.5 this morning because she's so high. The vet didn't have anything to do with it. The other night, there was a premature ejaculation and a drop landed on the back of my hand. So I gave her 1.25 to compensate for the lost drop.I like both names! I've decided I'm not going to adopt another cat once mine are gone. I'll foster but I'm going to try not to claim any as my own.
I see you went down to 1.25 units. Vet recommended? I think it looks good for her. Maybe a before bed test since it's a blue preshot?
I tried to keep him isolated in a room by himself, but that didn't last long before he started crying. My other cats, especially Chico, are just staring at him. He hisses if they get too close. Already, he's acting like he owns the place. I tested Chloe and put out food and Cheddar went over there and dug in; Chloe and Chico stayed back. Fun days ahead...Awww he's so cute! Have you introduced him to the others yet?
Cheddar is sick. Yesterday he was sneezing every couple minute, and when I got home today, there was a lot of discharge from his eyes. Chloe is not lethargic. She's walking around looking for food, I think. I'm more worried about Cheddar.I agree. Don't wait til tomorrow. It could be too late if she's the one puking. Not eating is a big red flag.
Edited to add: definitely get a ketone test tonight after the no shot this morning. Something is going on. Her PS numbers are getting higher. She's not yowling for breakfast.
Thanks! I guess I'm not the only one this happens to. I don't know where Chloe is. I think she found a new hiding spot since I got Cheddar. I wanted to get some mid-cycles today. Her behavior has gotten weird. She's chewing on boxes again (hasn't done that for a long time) and she chased Fuzma back into Fuzma's room. Chico, however, is getting along great with Cheddar as I had hoped. I wanted to give Chloe a break from Chico, but I guess she misses his attention.If you're on a PC: Hold Ctrl + Alt at the same time, then press the left or right arrow directional key.