Chloe 10

Status
Not open for further replies.

srk4cats

Very Active Member
I just took a nadir reading. Almost all the readings between the AM shot and the PM shot are yellow. What does that mean? It can't be that bad if there are no pinks and blacks, right?
 
No pink, red, or black is a good day.
She had a late nadir today since her PMPS was blue.
I think the even 1 unit will help level her out and give you two shootable preshot numbers. It might take a day or two to show.
 
Roberta, was that 107 at +12, or was it a little early? That's pretty low considering NS last night and a reduced dose today.
 
Wow, I was NOT expecting that.
Any changes in how much or when she ate today?
No changes in feeding. Maybe my cleaning around the house unnerved her. She hasn't seen that for quite awhile.
What were you expecting?
 
No changes in feeding. Maybe my cleaning around the house unnerved her. She hasn't seen that for quite awhile.
What were you expecting?
I was expecting a 200+. I thought a 1 unit dose would give her a shootable number tonight. You could try 0.75 units to get two shootable numbers.
Or a skinny 1 unit. But seeing the big difference in preshots with the even 1 unit, it makes me think even less than a skinny 1 would work.
Anyone else have any opinions?
 
I

It was only 10 minutes late. Please don't rain on my parade.

LOL....no rain intended!!! :) Like Steph, I was just expecting something in the 200's and was surprised at how low it was. I agree that lowering to 0.75 for a couple of cycles would probably be best. You really want two shootable numbers. Getting those PM blues is an indication that the AM dose is still too high.
 
I tried both ears and couldn't get any blood. I'm very nervous about the landscaper and floorers coming today. After 3 tries, I just fed her. I'll lock her in my bedroom and take tests all day. I will give her .75 this morning.
 
See if you can get her to drink some extra water. Sounds like she's a bit dehydrated again. Hope you all have a good day today despite the workers!
 
See if you can get her to drink some extra water. Sounds like she's a bit dehydrated again. Hope you all have a good day today despite the workers!
All my cats are freaked out. The flooring man is using a very loud machine and there are bad odors and dust. Chloe is under the bed hiding. Chico is behind the washing machine I think. Fuzma's staying in her room which is on the other side of the house. Landscapers are on the side chopping down cacti. It's all making me crazy and I hate to think what Chloe's going through! There is water right next to the bed, but I doubt she'll come out to drink it. All the furniture is crowded into the room. My cats aren't used to having people around, especially people making loud noises. I'm going to hang out in the bedroom with Chloe now.
 
Ugh, I'm so sorry! What a day you are all having! How much longer will they be there today? Hang in there! :bighug:
 
If you convince her to come out from under the bed, mixing a little sauce from the lc food with some water might entice her to drink it.
 
If you convince her to come out from under the bed, mixing a little sauce from the lc food with some water might entice her to drink it.
Landscaping is done and halfway done with the floors. He should be done by 5:00. She doesn't like when I make her food too watery. I won't be able to get any mid-cycles today, but I'll do her PM shot at the usual time (6:30 pm). Gosh, my house needed some work after 14 years! I bought a new toilet, too.
 
I have been toilet shopping and was surprised by how much they are! But you can't really go without it :joyful: so I can see how they get away with charging so much! :rolleyes:
Must of them at my local Lowe's are ADA standards and I have a tiny half bathroom downstairs that needs a micro toilet! "Special order"... No thanks. I'll wait til it breaks!
 
I have been toilet shopping and was surprised by how much they are! But you can't really go without it :joyful: so I can see how they get away with charging so much! :rolleyes:
Must of them at my local Lowe's are ADA standards and I have a tiny half bathroom downstairs that needs a micro toilet! "Special order"... No thanks. I'll wait til it breaks!
I bought mine at Lowe's for $88 + tax. It's a round seat, which is better for small spaces. It got pretty good reviews, too, and is a 1.38 gpf.
Or you could try a bidet. You don't have to buy TP anymore.
 
5 pm and it's finished! Now I just have to put everything back. Chico was the first to check it out and he says he likes it. I'd better spray some Feliway in Chloe's direction. I take her test in 1.5 hours.
I've been searching where to buy u-40 syringes. Do you know a cheap place to buy them? I've only got 15 left.
Oh, and btw, the toilet fits my small space very well It's called Project Source.
 
That's a nice, shootable PMPS. A +3 or +4 would be great tonight. I know you had a crazy hectic day there.
I'll check in tomorrow morning to see your AMPS. Hopefully it will be low 200s. I think your headed in the right direction. .75 handled her 400s preshot. So paws crossed it will work with the 200s too.
Thanks for the tip on the toilet brand!
 
Hi Yong
So I didn't know the U-40 syringes came with half unit markings. So there is no need to use the U-100 and convert if these are available? Or is there an advantage to the U-100? Maybe the U-100 have smaller increments? Just curious so that when I need to re-order if I should switch.
U100 syringes allow for 0.2 increments. I used them when Chuck was on prozinc.
 
U100 syringes allow for 0.2 increments. I used them when Chuck was on prozinc.
Ok so there is a difference and for now Beenie needs to increase in small increments until we "break through" :)
I'm increasing every 3 cycles, .2 units for now.
Thanks!!
 
I kept the u40s and u100 syringes in different rooms to prevent accidental switch of syringes.
 
Get some mid cycle tests today.
I would do a curve if possible.
She keeps throwing blues after a reduced dose so it could be a sign that she needs less or that it's a good dose. A curve will tell.
 
That's a nice, shootable PMPS. A +3 or +4 would be great tonight. I know you had a crazy hectic day there.
I'll check in tomorrow morning to see your AMPS. Hopefully it will be low 200s. I think your headed in the right direction. .75 handled her 400s preshot. So paws crossed it will work with the 200s too.
Thanks for the tip on the toilet brand!
Hi Steph. I'm loving my new toilet and can't wait to see what my water bill will be. Anyway, Chloe was so close to 200 this morning that I went ahead and gave her a reduced dose of .5 u. She went up a little into the yellows on her +5. I'm almost out of u-40 syringes and am wondering if there are ones that have more marks but are easier to see. The ones I'm using now go up to 20 units which is equivalent to 1/2 cc. Are there any that are 1/4 cc and only go up to 10 units?
 
Hi Steph. I'm loving my new toilet and can't wait to see what my water bill will be. Anyway, Chloe was so close to 200 this morning that I went ahead and gave her a reduced dose of .5 u. She went up a little into the yellows on her +5. I'm almost out of u-40 syringes and am wondering if there are ones that have more marks but are easier to see. The ones I'm using now go up to 20 units which is equivalent to 1/2 cc. Are there any that are 1/4 cc and only go up to 10 units?
These are what I used before switching to u100 syringes. They're 3/10 cc.
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product...3E0EDBC82779&gclid=CNXbtdmGh9UCFQqRaQodL6wOBA
 
My phone wasn't working all day and my cousin tried to call. Then, in the evening, I couldn't connect with the internet. I'm very frustrated. I'm at McDonald's using their wifi. I got the address of Century Link and I'll be going there tomorrow to disconnect everything and be rid of them and their stupid contracts. Then I'll shop around for a smartphone instead. So don't worry if you don't hear from me for a couple days.
Have a great weekend, or at least better than mine.
 
My phone wasn't working all day and my cousin tried to call. Then, in the evening, I couldn't connect with the internet. I'm very frustrated. I'm at McDonald's using their wifi. I got the address of Century Link and I'll be going there tomorrow to disconnect everything and be rid of them and their stupid contracts. Then I'll shop around for a smartphone instead. So don't worry if you don't hear from me for a couple days.
Have a great weekend, or at least better than mine.
Please still get some mid cycle tests in and I suggest holding the dose for a few days. As long as she's over 200. If you shoot above 190-200 I would try .5 again. I believe .75 units will be too much for under 200 and could cause a unusually low preshot, a preshot under 200, or a bounce causing high preshot. (She's been doing great with the lower doses and not much bouncing)
I know the 1/2 cc syringes are tough to measure small doses. Getting some 3/10 cc u100 or u40 syringes will help with the small dose she needs.
I'm thinking a 0.6 unit dose might be a good compromise between .5 and .75 units and is easily measured on the u100 syringes using the conversion chart. Keep in mind that if you decide to switch to u100 you need to keep them in different areas to prevent accidental switch up of syringes. You should also run a curve or mini curve too see how the dose is working compared to the "eyeballed" dose on the bigger u40s.
 
Please still get some mid cycle tests in and I suggest holding the dose for a few days. As long as she's over 200. If you shoot above 190-200 I would try .5 again. I believe .75 units will be too much for under 200 and could cause a unusually low preshot, a preshot under 200, or a bounce causing high preshot. (She's been doing great with the lower doses and not much bouncing)
I know the 1/2 cc syringes are tough to measure small doses. Getting some 3/10 cc u100 or u40 syringes will help with the small dose she needs.
I'm thinking a 0.6 unit dose might be a good compromise between .5 and .75 units and is easily measured on the u100 syringes using the conversion chart. Keep in mind that if you decide to switch to u100 you need to keep them in different areas to prevent accidental switch up of syringes. You should also run a curve or mini curve too see how the dose is working compared to the "eyeballed" dose on the bigger u40s.
I ordered some 3/10 cc syringes from ADW last night and this morning the order had shipped. I wish somebody had mentioned this before when I was asking what's the difference between a fat 1 and a 1.25. I still have some u-100 needles should I run out before the u-40's get here, but I was told not to use them. I will carry on with the .75 dose for now and try to get some mid-cycle readings. I've noticed that when I'm stressed out, she gets stressed out and it's difficult to get blood from her ear. This morning it took me 3 tries. She squirmed and cried. What gauge lancets are the least painful?
 
Hi Roberta,
I do see that Steph brought up using u100s on your Chloe9 thread and you said you had decided to stop using them. She also mentioned them here:
U100 syringes allow for 0.2 increments. I used them when Chuck was on prozinc.

Since you said you didn't want to use them previously and specifically asked about buying u40s, we didn't mention them again but just answered your question.
 
I also assumed you had the 3/10 cc u40 syringes. Normally, that is what's given for cats because they are typically on a dose of 3 units or less.
There are many pictures and explanations on the forum discussing and showing the difference between a fat (my fat unit is with the plunger just "below" the unit line marker. Skinny is the opposite) .25 is half way between the unit and half unit marks. If there's no half unit mark I would decide where half is and go between that and the unit line marker.
If you need further explanation of our answers here, you have to ask. I had no idea you didn't know this already.
I just recently started to really try to help you out and get Chloe on the right track for better numbers and help you figure out a way to keep her there. I do this because I care...
As for the poking and getting no blood--
Are you giving her extra water in her food? Even 1 tablespoon per meal will help. Chuck eats the chunks first then drinks the water. He bleeds better now that he's well hydrated and his ears have learned to bleed.
Keep at it and take a breather between pokes if you need it. Dinner and shot can wait 5 minutes.
 
Hi Roberta,
I do see that Steph brought up using u100s on your Chloe9 thread and you said you had decided to stop using them. She also mentioned them here:


Since you said you didn't want to use them previously and specifically asked about buying u40s, we didn't mention them again but just answered your question.
It was more about the size of the intervals. u-40 1/2cc (0.5) goes up to 40 so the intervals are very tiny which makes it hard to do .25 increments. u-40 3/10 (0.3) only goes up to 20 units (sometimes called low dose) so it's easier to measure smaller increments. I think the vet told me not to use u-100. The first supplies I bought from the vet was 1/2 cc with the container. The 2nd vet also showed me a 1/2 cc. So I didn't know there was any other kind.
 
I think the vet told me not to use u-100.
Many vets will say that because they worry that the client will make a mistake doing the necessary conversion. I understand their concern because the owner has to be very careful, right down to keeping the U40s stored well away to avoid accidentally filling the wrong syringe. The U100s give lots of very useful dosing fractions if the owner can use the conversion chart properly and keep the U40s separate.
 
vet told me not to use u-100.
My new vet said the same thing until I showed her the conversion chart. She looked it over and was okay with it after that.
I think some vets think we will just be less than thorough when treating and try to give the "easy way" instructions to cut down on the stress and overwhelming parts of testing FD. Once they realize you mean business and aren't cutting corners-- some of them come around.
 
Something is very wrong. Chloe seemed to have trouble moving. She didn't come into the kitchen yowling for breakfast and even when I placed the food next to her on the bed, she didn't touch it. She tested at 284, but I won't give her insulin unless she eats something. Or should I?
 
If Chloe is having trouble moving, it might be a good idea to have her see the vet. What happens if you pick her up and set her on her feet?
 
If Chloe is having trouble moving, it might be a good idea to have her see the vet. What happens if you pick her up and set her on her feet?
I picked her up and put her on the floor. She stood for a moment then jumped back on the bed and lay down.
 
Have you tested for ketones lately? Did she eat last night? If she won't move, I think I'd bring her in for a vet visit.
 
Something is very wrong. Chloe seemed to have trouble moving. She didn't come into the kitchen yowling for breakfast and even when I placed the food next to her on the bed, she didn't touch it. She tested at 284, but I won't give her insulin unless she eats something. Or should I?
I agree with the others that she should see a vet.
I see you gave her .5 units. Did she finally eat? If not please get tests to make sure she doesn't go too low. I think a ketone test is a good idea too. But they can do that at the vet if she still isn't moving or eating.
 
I agree with the others that she should see a vet.
I see you gave her .5 units. Did she finally eat? If not please get tests to make sure she doesn't go too low. I think a ketone test is a good idea too. But they can do that at the vet if she still isn't moving or eating.
She ate a bunch of treats and then started drinking water. It occurred to me that she may be dehydrated since I've been having trouble getting blood from her ears the past few days. Still not interested in the canned food. I have to go to Walmart to pick up lancets. I only have one left. I'm keeping her isolated from Chico and Fuzma.
 
If she won't eat today, she needs to see a vet ASAP.
When I went to Walmart to get lancets, I also got a can of FF. I tried to get a reading, but she got two E-13's. She seemed hungry and eagerly ate the FF. Maybe she's sick of 9-Lives. It's a cheap food. I ordered FF last week, but it hasn't come yet.
 
When I went to Walmart to get lancets, I also got a can of FF. I tried to get a reading, but she got two E-13's. She seemed hungry and eagerly ate the FF. Maybe she's sick of 9-Lives. It's a cheap food. I ordered FF last week, but it hasn't come yet.
I looked up my order. It was through Amazon but the seller was somebody named Dwayne. $9 for 30 cans. I should have known it was too good to be true. Turns out it's a scam out of China and it might even be a hacker. All the comments said they never received their orders and couldn't contact the seller. I tried to cancel the order, so we'll see what happens. It says it's in transit, but the seller keeps pushing back the delivery date. I'm going to stick with Chewy from now on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top