Chipper? Old self?

manors18

Member Since 2012
I have a sweet but occasionally grumpy Maine Coon mix kitty diagnosed with diabetes about two weeks ago. BG levels were between 450 - 650 when diagnosed.

1U twice a day of Prozinc for a week barely made a dent after a week, so vet told me to bump it to 2U twice a day. Last night was his first 2U dose. He was 368 before this morning's 2U dose.

It's about time to feed and then dose him again, so I tested him - 123! I'm thrilled...but he's never looked worse. He seems depressed. Almost in pain. He's sort of half dry heaving sometimes. Is this normal for him since he's been high for so long? Does "normal" make him feel like crap at first?

I should mention he is also on 2x daily ear drop antibiotics for a simultaneous fungal infection in both ears. That med was started yesterday evening.
 
Oh wow. It would be so good if you could start a spreadsheet for us to see what's happening. But to answer your question, yes, cats can feel really badly when they first get into normal numbers when they are used to being in very high (abnormal) glucose numbers.
 
I should mention he is also on 2x daily ear drop antibiotics for a simultaneous fungal infection in both ears. That med was started yesterday evening.
How is everything going? Do you know if the ear drops have a steroid component in them? If they do, that can drive up his blood glucose.
 
I never considered the ear drops might also be messing with his BG. I'll check the label.

This is really stressful. He's on a twice daily dosage. The readings and dosing were:

5/3 9a - no BG test, as he was consistently above 400 for three days. Gave him 2U

5/3 9p - 388 BG, but found out it was after he had eaten his dinner, partner had already fed him. So we gave 1.5U

5/4 6a - 140 BG, no food out overnight so fasting.

Now I'm not sure what to do. I know the things I've read say anything below 150, safer to wait and test again later. But I have to go to work.

I'm just absolutely terrified of him having a hypoglycemic event while I'm at work. But I can't imagine having his BG Rollercoaster up and down if I skip doses whenever he is below 150 is good for him either.
 
Back
Top