ErinElizabeth
Member Since 2013
So we've been doing this for only a couple month and then I was away for a week... Tight regulation was ups and downs, and so much helpful information and helpful people on the message board willing to talk to me and calm me down.
Chinookie did great the week we were gone. Our lovely cat lady neighbor came and gave shots twice and a day but felt uncomfortable with testing.... So we let it go, and of course I worried. But I think the constant tracking and testing and posting was just totally stressing me out!!
To my surprise I came home to a kitty who is playful and alert and eating a normal amount of food! I've started testing again of course, but not as often and not really recording it as closely as before. At his lowest a couple days ago, the meter read 39 and he was meeting me at the door and engaging and following me around.... I thought 39 was too low, so I watched him and he ate and just seemed a heck of a lot more normal kitty than he had been when his tests were 200-300.
Now this week his amps and pmps are reading around 175-200, and he's dropping to between 50-80.
He was only at 97 this morning, so I waited till he ate a bit more and shaved off a little of the 1.25 dose, and he's done great.
So is 39 too low? I think I'm getting a handle on my gut readings as far as if I should hold off or lower a dose or feed more, but I was ready with the hypo kit at 39 and he seemed just fine to me....
Chinookie did great the week we were gone. Our lovely cat lady neighbor came and gave shots twice and a day but felt uncomfortable with testing.... So we let it go, and of course I worried. But I think the constant tracking and testing and posting was just totally stressing me out!!
To my surprise I came home to a kitty who is playful and alert and eating a normal amount of food! I've started testing again of course, but not as often and not really recording it as closely as before. At his lowest a couple days ago, the meter read 39 and he was meeting me at the door and engaging and following me around.... I thought 39 was too low, so I watched him and he ate and just seemed a heck of a lot more normal kitty than he had been when his tests were 200-300.
Now this week his amps and pmps are reading around 175-200, and he's dropping to between 50-80.
He was only at 97 this morning, so I waited till he ate a bit more and shaved off a little of the 1.25 dose, and he's done great.
So is 39 too low? I think I'm getting a handle on my gut readings as far as if I should hold off or lower a dose or feed more, but I was ready with the hypo kit at 39 and he seemed just fine to me....